We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New rooms are very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New rooms are very poor”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Put us in there "new rooms" which are hard to find and get to in the hotel. No door on the bathroom and a telephone that did not work. The "view" was into a parking area. Told us it would be fixed when we came back from dinner, nothing was done, then moved us to another room. Location is fine, rooms are not nice for the inflated price !
Lots of happy talk from the staff with not a lot of action to resolve issues. Looks at other options first.

Room Tip: Higher floors on harbor side might give you a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOURteener14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your review!
I am sorry to hear that the phone did not work. We are undergoing renovation and there have been some damages on several doors that must be changed. The view will vary, and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yours. Prices will vary based on season, June is our highest season. Welcome back to Scandic Neptun.
Best regards,
Terje Thorstensen
Scandic Hotels Bergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    287
    242
    115
    58
See reviews for
165
282
56
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed one night on a business trip and was put in one of the newly refurbished rooms on the fifth floor (557). My room was well refurbished but small and there seemed to be an issue with the bathroom door as there was sellotape on it? The room and bathroom were spotless and very modern looking, which is in contrast to the rest of the hotel which looks very tired and dated. My colleague was on the 7th floor and was far from complimentary about his room, quoting that it would struggle to receive a 2 star rating.
The reception staff were friendly and nice and in the morning I saw one of them help a french woman with a problem and the woman was very surprised and delighted to hear the girl speak perfect French and this was on top of the English she had already been speaking.
The breakfast was plentiful and well presented in the large Lucullus reataurant and I have no complaints about it at all.
I would think that if after all the new refurb has finished, the same standard was then used on the existing rooms then this could be a very decent hotel but as it is, it is just adequate and far from the 4 star rating it has.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated. It will be small but to a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnmReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Revenue Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your review!
We will fix the bathroom door, and apologize for the inconvenience. During our refurbishment there will be some difference in quality throughout the hotel. I am glad that you experienced helpful and friendly staff, and that the restaurant and food was up to standard.
Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Terje Thorstensen
Revenue Manager, Scandic Hotels Bergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The room with breakfast for two, cost only 132 Euro for one night, so the price in summer in the center of Bergen was OK. But the room was very dark, facing the back yard where re-construction was going on. Therefore also one og the two windows in the room was covered.

So don't chosse one of the cheapest rooms in this hotel. They have fine rooms, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jonas Helge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Marketing Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food. We actually have two restaurants: Pascal and Lucullus, and during autumn 2012 we will open our 3rd restaurant, Entrè.

We apologize that you were affected by the construction, we do understand that it is inconvenient for our guests. We believe it all will be worthwhile when it’s finished, and we will be able to welcome our guests to a new and revamped reception area covered by a glass roof.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Gitte M. Aasheim
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. The night before we left for our trip north was +- ok. Even though the interieur was outdatet, that was ok, because it was clean and spacious. The two problems were that the curtains did not suffice to make the room anything close to dark. The second bigger problem was the soundproofing, as there was a party going on not far from the hotel. The result of these two factors had the result that we did not sleep very well.
The second stay was even worse. This time they gave us a room in the very recently renovated part of the hotel. The result was.
1) very very new room that still smelled like paint.
2) very modern, but smaller
3) the bathroom door couldn't close completaly, result being that you had no privacy at all when using the toilet as it was placed just next to that door
4) one of the reading lights didn't work (was it already broken or did it never work?)
5) There were way to many small light that disturbed, 1th the tv (could be turned of), 2nd the smoke detector flashing at the ceiling, 3th the dimmer of the bathroom light (feels really unneccesary), 4th even the airco has a light and this one changes colour, so was very very annoying
6) the curtains were better, but couldn't close completaly and the result was that it reflected in the big mirror
As a surplus in the morning at 7h15 they started to drill and hammer. ... as they were still renovating the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Marketing Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for your review! We are sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is still undergoing building works which may, unfortunately, cause some noise. The new room you were assigned to the second time, was opened just a few weeks ago. I will forward you comment to our technical department so that they can check if there is anything in need of repair and if there is something to be done with regards to the lighting.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Gitte M. Aasheim
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
465 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We had two nights in this hotel, within walking distance of the historic Fishmarket and Bryggen. After having read some of the reviews, I was a bit worried about what we might encounter here, but it was part of the tour package and we had no choice.
Everything in Noway is expensive, so that wasn't really a surprise.
We were given an upgraded room, after a bit of misunderstanding while checking in. A Double Room is two Twin-sized beds. A Single Room is one large bed, comparable to an American King, made up on one large bottom mattress, and then as twin beds, with separate down comforters for each person. Comfortable with nice pillows.
There was construction going on, as they are continuing renovations, but as this was a weekend, it was quiet, except for Monday morning, when we were checking out, and the workers were arriving.
Our room was clean, nicely furnished and had hardwood flooring, in good shape. The hallway carpet was worn and water-stained, but dry. The one Elevator to the upper floors is small, but it works quietly. The room was a comfortable size as well, but would not have worked well had one had to have business associates in.
Lighting in the room was adequate, with separate task lighting on a large glass-topped table which served as a desk. I know that the hotel provides in-room Internet connections, because it was advertised, but I didn't find it in our room. The ceiling light was a 12-armed brass chandelier with 5 of the 12 bulbs either burned out or not working.
There was a lovely dressing mirror, large and near the door, to be used for a final check when going out, but it was in a dark area that had no lighting, so it was wasted.
There was a large flat screen TV hanging on the wall, but since the programming was in Norwegian and we were very tired, we didn't have it on.
The room looked out on a side street and was quiet. The drapes were heavy and room darkening, but did not cover the window completely.
The bathroom was tiled, over-sized, and quite nice. Separate glass walled shower stall, and a large whirlpool tub. Watch out for the double step up. It's poorly lit and easy to trip over. The lightening was adequate, but it was of a yellowish cast and not direct enough for application of makeup. Bath linens were plentiful and soft, but there were no face cloths, and only liquid soap, none of which was within reach, should one have wanted to use to the whirlpool. Bring your own bar soap and face cloths, if you wish to have them.
Instead of a heating/cooling unit under the window, this room had it's own thermostat, but air-conditioning was not provided.
Breakfast was at Lucullus Restaurant on the second floor, and it is included. It was a lovely and generous breakfast buffet, with all the Norwegian favorites-- a loaded specialty bread table, and cold table with fish and cheeses, a good variety of fresh fruit and vegetables, hot and cold cereals, apple and orange juices, and hot items--eggs, bacon, and sausage, plus delightful thin Scandinavian pancakes. Unlimited coffee, tea (many varieties) and hot chocolate. A nice dining area looked out on downtown.
Liquid fish oil is even available.
There is also a lounge near the reservation desk with coffee service, television, and a small library. They said they had Internet connections in this room also, but that day it had been shut down and the terminals removed, due to system maintenance.There is also an on-premises locked luggage storage room to leave one's bags after check-out. This came in handy since we had a day tour and needed to return to the hotel afterwards to catch a shuttle.
There is also a French restaurant with an outside entrance. Ask for English menus.
The staff, with one exception,(a girl named Paula) was very nice and helpful. This was appreciated, as I had a circumstance where their help was certainly needed. Everyone speaks understandable English.

Room Tip: It is helpful to understand the room types: Single vs.Double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Marketing Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for your detailed review! We are glad to hear that you liked your room and enjoyed our breakfast. There are currently building works going on at the hotel, and this may cause some noise for our guests. We are glad, however, that you didn’t experience this during your stay. We have forwarded the issues you mentioned to our technical department for repair.

With regards to the soap, as Scandic is a hotel chain that focuses highly on environmental issues, therefore you will find soap dispensers instead of soap bars in most rooms at Scandic. We can recommend our new room type if you wish to have a wider selection of amenities: Superior Extra. These rooms are specially equipped with a kettle with coffee/tea, bathrobes and body and shower products from the Face Stockholm brand. You can read more about it on our webpage.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Gitte M. Aasheim
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My family and I stayed at the hotel during the National Day week-end. Big rooms, outdated, but clean. The staff at the front desk was very nice, but I have to mention Linda in the breakfast restaurant. She was so sweet with my grandchildren. Thank you Linda. The breakfast was very good. Good location not far from Bybanen.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bisibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Marketing Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We currently expanding and refurbishing our hotel and by 2012 we will be able to offer 70 completely new rooms, a new breakfast restaurant on the 1st floor, as well as other features.

We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful! I will personally send your feedback to Linda, we are sure that she will be very happy to hear this!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Gitte M. Aasheim
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We are staying two nights and the renovations are still going on. Fortunately today is a Norwegian holiday, so no construction, but tomorrow may be a different tale. The rooms are nice and big, the bathroom as well, a nice change after our two weeks in European hostels! Prices are very high, but that's Norway for tourists. Maybe tomorrow we will be woken by noise and get up early enough for the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatS_Unique_Char
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Marketing Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your stay with us and found our rooms nice. We hope that the ongoing construction will not cause too much noise for you during your stay. By autumn 2012 all construction will be finished and we will be able to offer 70 new rooms, a new restaurant, new lobby area and increased meeting facilities.

We hope you are enjoying the lovely weather we have in Bergen at the moment!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Gitte M. Aasheim
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#28 of 47 in Bergen
628 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#17 of 47 in Bergen
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
526 reviews
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#26 of 47 in Bergen
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Property: Scandic Neptun
Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing