We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient hotel in downtown Bergen”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel in downtown Bergen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Hotel is very conveniently located in the center of Bergen, with a bus stop to the airport right in front of the entrance.
Close to the hotel you can find a nice pedestrian street with many shops, the fish market and many restaurants, you do not need to take any public transport as everything is within walking distance.
The room was very big, a bit dated, and had some inconvenient steps between the actual bedroom and the toilet.
One day we came back to the room at 3pm and the room had not been cleaned yet, then we hanged the "do not disturb" sign by the door and when we went out again we found a bag with fresh towels. Nice touch but you would expect the room to be cleaned by 3 pm.
Breakfast was plentiful with a nice variety of breads and chesses, among other items.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBZVLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location, and it is absolutely very convenient with the airport bus stopping right outside the hotel.

Midsummer is a very busy season in Bergen and if many guests leave the hotel late we run a bit behind cleaning all the room before new guests arrive. But, I do agree that 3pm is late for getting your room cleaned, good thing our housekeeping staff supplied you with fresh towels.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday - hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    289
    244
    115
    59
See reviews for
167
285
56
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have really enjoyed our 3 nights in Scandic Neptun. The location is very nice, you can walk everywhere in several minutes. The room was big and comfortable (we got a special deal on superior double room), though with quite a strange layout, some dated pieces of bath equipment and decorations, and the window view into the inner yard was not particularly exciting. As mentioned in the other reviews, the breakfasts are the strongest part! They were delicious and plentiful. And don't miss their lunchbox offer if you are heading for a long day trip - you won't get such a variety of tasty options for such a price in any shop/cafe around. The service was very nice and friendly, and the overall stay was very nice - a good start of a trip around the fjords. For such a price, the room might have been less dated, that's the only reason for giving 4 rather than 5.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review!
We’re really glad you liked it here and that you enjoyed the breakfast. I agree that the lunchbox offer is a good deal, eating all meals out in Norway can be pretty expensive.. It´s also nice to hear that our staff took good care of you and your family.

Hope you had a wonderful trip exploring the fjords!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun.

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed one night at the Scandic Neptun with a friend and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

I had booked a mid-tier room (Superior) and was pleasantly surprised at both the size of the room and the modern decor. The bathroom was extremely large and clean, and the room itself featured two beds, a large flat screen TV, sofa and small table, as well as a work desk. Peeking into one of the standard rooms, it was clear they had renovated the room recently as the furniture, amenities, and overall decor was much more modern than the other rooms. Given the small price difference, I'd definitely recommend upgrading to one of these rooms if you plan to spend any time relaxing in it.

Location-wise, the hotel was perfect. It was a short 5 minute walk to the center of the market or town square (although for the most part, this could be said of any hotel in downtown Bergen) and the airport shuttle bus dropped off nearby. The lobby was pleasant and the staff friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was one of the best on my trips within the nordics.

Overall I'd definitely recommend this hotel, especially since at the time I booked, it was extremely competitively priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your review!
It is so very nice to read reviews like this - thank you so much! Obviously we are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay in Bergen. We hope to see you back one day!

Hope you´re having a great summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just a block or two away from the harbour and the shopping streets, this hotel has a good setting. The room we got was big and beautiful. Breakfast was a mess the first morning with too many people trying to grab food at the same time, but the staff worked hard and the next morning everything was organised in a better way. Breakfast was otherwise good .

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backyard. There is no harbour view anyway and you will get a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdTrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our central location and the hotel room. July is a busy month and sometimes it gets a bit crowded at breakfast when everyone shows up at pretty much the same time. I´m glad to hear that the staff managed to reorganise the next day, so you could enjoy our nice breakfast.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Arrived at 18.30 and they still had not got our room ready. We were going to a concert and expected the room to be ready with regards to normal check in time which was 15.00. Ok room but small. Breakfast was not good. Little to choose from and poor refilling of food. Would choose another hotel...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas1986k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. With regards to the late check-in, please accept our apologies; something seems to have gone wrong. Check-in time is normally at 15.00 PM and I can totally understand your disappointment. Hopefully you enjoyed the concert and the rest of your stay in Bergen.

Hope you have a nice summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Orinda
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I arrived in Bergen to start a 10 day trip in Norway. It was an easy connection from the airport by bus. Upon arrival at the hotel, it seemed empty so I was checked in immediately. I had pre-paid for 1 night so I was not asked for any documentation or credit card. The room was small, OK by Norway standards (1 towel and soap in a dispenser on the wall, no lotion, shampoo, etc.). The next morning I went downstairs for breakfast (which was included) and there seemed to be more people than I expected. The breakfast was excellent, lots to choose from. I stowed my luggage for a few hours in a closet while I explored Bergen....again no tag, just put the bags in a closet. A nice welcome to Norway....very little crime. Expect everything to be very expensive....this was $200.00 per night.

Room Tip: We had a nice view of the city, the one's facing the courtyard were dismal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LD-Orinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review!
We’re really glad you liked it here and that you found our breakfast excellent. We are a member of Scandic hotel chain and due to the strong environmentel focus of the chain we are not allowed to keep many small amenities in rooms/bathrooms.

Good to hear that we gave you a nice welcome to Norway - hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen

Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This hotel is nice for a quick stopover in Bergen. When we arrived, we were given a tiny, closet room overlooking a car park. We immediately asked to change it and the front desk graciously helped. Our subsequent room was lovely, albeit still a bit small, with a little sitting area and a partial view of the harbor. My mother and I were visiting Norway on the Norway in a Nutshell tour, so the hotels were chosen by our travel agent. The location is not bad, just a short walk from the airport bus dropoff point (about 10 mins) up a small hill. The beds were comfortable (two twins) and the room was well equipped with coffee/tea and enough space for the two of us to manage. It was a quick overnight with breakfast in the morning (very nice buffet!), before we headed off by train for the rest of our tour. I would stay at Scandic Neptun again if I visited Bergen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in corner so you can see harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatinDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are happy to hear that you and your mother liked it here. For your information, if you ever come back, there is an additional airport bus company stopping right outside the hotel.

Hope you had a great Norway in a nutshell tour.

Have a nice summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#28 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#25 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Property: Scandic Neptun
Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing