We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

As soon as we checked into this hotel the staff on the reception desk were exceptionally rude. The first room we were given had one single bed in! There wasn't even an apology from the receptionist! The next room had 2 single beds as apparently the hotel only has 3 or 4 rooms which have double beds! The worst part however was the cleanliness of the room. There was a toe nail on the carpet and long dark hairs everywhere. There was also no soap in the dispenser in the bathroom. The beds were also so uncomfortable. I would however recommend this hotel for location but that was the only good thing. I have extensively travelled the world and have never stayed anywhere so poor for the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay at Scandic Neptun. Rude service from the staff and bad cleanliness is not acceptable, and I can assure you that your review will be forwarded to the manager.

Thank you for recommending our good location.

We hope you have a nice fall!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    309
    263
    128
    66
See reviews for
187
308
58
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here with my Mother for two nights. The hotel is literally five minutes walk from the harbour, the Fish Market and the main shopping avenue and is one of the scheduled stops for the airport bus. Our twin room was on the fifth floor and overlooked a grassed parking area, character buildings and the harbour. The room wasn't large but being split-level gave an illusion of space. The bathroom was in need of modernisation. Normally I'm not too bothered about dated decor but in this case it was a metal bath (every time I touched it there was a loud clank!) and what seemed to be a plastic toilet! The bathroom was, however, perfectly functional and very clean. The beds were comfortable and there was a hair dryer and plenty of towels and plug sockets.

Breakfast was standard European buffet - cereals, fruit, breads, hot items, meats and cheeses - and fresh salmon! Everything was fresh and regularly replenished, and I could get used to eating salmon for breakfast!

Check-in and out were very speedy and efficient and the Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful with storing our luggage and giving us bus information. We had a lovely stay and I would love to return to Bergen and stay here again - as long as the room has a modernised bathroom!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debdancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are so glad to hear that you and your mother liked it here! We appreciate your nice comments on the hotel in general, the serviec and the breakfast buffet - thank you!

I´ll make sure your comments on the bathroom is forwarded to the General Manager..

Hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun
Birte Iversen

Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our stay proved to be a mixture of bad and good. On arrival at the smart lobby we were given a pleasant welcome but a terrible room: tiny, very worn, with broken window frames/handles with the window fixed in a partly open position. On polite complaint we were met with an ungracious response but given a much larger room in much better condition - compensation for a gruff receptionist. The buffet breakfast was good and the choice wide but service was unfriendly and the layout and modest size of the breakfast area meant queing for drinks and several other things. Reception (a friendlier person this time) was very happy to arrange a taxi for a morning transfer to the train station - but the taxi was 15 minutes late (fortunately we had allowed spare time), albeit this is not necessarily the hotel's fault (but a word of caution would have been appreciated). The hotel is well located: very close to the west quayside and the Fish Market (but east quayside is the more interesting). It's Norway, so the hotel is not inexpensive but one could do worse than the Scandic Neptun.

Room Tip: The rooms seem very variable both in terms of size and condition - worth checking what one is being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twovass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are sad to hear that our service level during your stay were not good enough. Our reception manager will look into the routines and talk to the staff.

Unfortuntately we still have a few rooms waiting for redecoration, hopefully we´ll start working on them pretty soon.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central and good location.

Best regards,

Scandic Neptun
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

lots of choices in Bergen for hotels. we really enjoyed the Scandic Neputun. Fair price. we had a nice sized room. staff was awesome. lovely breakfast. Only downer was the ski lodge hotel smell in our room...but we blamed the constant rain in Bergen. Everything is pretty close. we'd visit again in the future. thumbs up.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are thrilled to hear that you liked it here! You are more than welcome back anytime:)

Have a great fall!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This place seems to have gone a bit more upmarket since we last stayed in 2005 - it now has a massive entrance lobby in the central well. The location is very good, just a few minutes from the harbour side, main shopping streets and a stop for the bus to the airport. Our room was a little less characterful than last time - when we were on the theatre floor and got 'Eliza' - photos of a Norwegian production of Pygmalion or My Fair Lady on the walls. But this one was spacious and pretty quiet despite being above a road. Plenty of breakfast choices and friendly staff. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StansPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review!

Yes, as you noticed we have been through a major upgrade lately; 70 new rooms, new reception- and lobby, breakfastrestaurant and meetingrooms.

We are glad you liked it and hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel has a very central location opposite the famous Bryggen Hanseatic part of town. Breakfast is very good, varied with lots of sea food such as cured herring and salmon. The hot meals include fried eggs and a kind of pancake that can be prepared on the spot. Our room was rather large with a good view. We had two separate beds that were perhaps on the small side but quite ok. A peculiar feature was the lack of minibar, that is the fridge was there but quite empty. I guess Norwegian prices have made it unattractive to customers. The one thing which was a bit of a bother was the poor insulation against noise. The windows in particular seemed to 'leak'. I had forgotten my ear plugs and was woken by night revelers a couple of times (Friday mind you).
One light in the bathroom was out of order and was not changed during our stay (we left it on).

Room Tip: Away from the side street with the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ugurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear that you liked it here. I can understand that you think is a bit rare with an empty fridge in the hotelroom and no minibar... We are waiting for our new Scandic Shop to arrive, unfortunately it is a bit delayd.
The Scandic Shop is a mini store where we offer snacks, practical items and fun diversions. You can buy a cup of tea, fill up your toiletry bag or sort out a little gift for those back home. The coffee in our hotel shops is Fairtrade, and all the food that you can buy is prepared at the hotel.

We have decided to still keep the fridges in the room so our guests can keep things cold if they want and need to.

We are sorry to hear that the street noise bothered you. Next time please call the reception and they will be happy to provide you with free ear-plugs.

Thank you for your nice comments on the hotel in general!

Hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandi Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here twice during the summer, and well satisfied with our stay both times. Located in a quiet area, but it only takes a few minutes to walk to Torgallmenningen and shops, and it is well located in relation to a visit to the aquarium. The rooms are large, with a sitting area in addition to the beds, and plenty of room for two strollers, as well as plenty of room for the kids to play on the floor. Our oldest kid also got a board game when we arrived at the hotel. Ok breakfast and it is well stocked, even at the end of breakfast serving. Nice reception area, with a special section with a changing art exhibition. There is a parking garage next to the hotel, and it is only a few meters walk from the end of the car park to the entrance of the hotel. As a bonus, this hotel was also cheaper than other options in the city centre.
Perfet hotel for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room onto the roof area if you want a really quiet room (but then you get no view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reiseglad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are really glad to hear that you and your family liked it here! Many of our guests choose our hotel due to the central location and for families it is very convenient to stay witin walking distance to most of the nice spots in Bergen. Thank you for your nice comments on the breakfast, reception and the hotelrooms.

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#29 of 47 in Bergen
683 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#3 of 47 in Bergen
609 reviews
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#21 of 47 in Bergen
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 47 in Bergen
1,227 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#14 of 47 in Bergen
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Property: Scandic Neptun
Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing