We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very central!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very central hotel near everything! Rooms are ok standard, great size room but the room had a bad smell, old smoke or something. My room had a view out over the receptions glasroof. Good breakfast with plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you liked it hear. All rooms are non-smoking, so we will take a look at your room and make sure the bad smell is taken care of - thanks for telling us!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    287
    242
    115
    58
See reviews for
165
282
56
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed at the Scandic Neptun in Bergen in September for three nights. I had arrived before check-in and the hotel staff allowed me to leave my bags in a room so I could start my adventure in Bergen. When I returned after check-in time, I was able to check in. The room was fine, average but quiet and I could sleep well. The room's features were average but far from extraordinary or luxurious. I thought the best part of my stay was the hotel's fantastic breakfast: hard & soft boiled eggs, fried eggs, a plethora of meats and cheeses, breads and cereal. You could even fry your own little pancakes. I also really liked the hotel's location in Bergen, as it is a very short walk to the waterfront and all it's activities. I would certainly stay here again when I find myself in Bergen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upinminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are so happy to hear that you like it here, thanks for telling us on Tripadvisor! If you ever visit Bergen again, please stay at Scandic Neptun - we hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel was an ideal location and the bus from airport dropped us at the front door. Staff were quite stressed when we arrived. Not sure why. The room was very small and dark. The lift didn't work most of the time. However breakfast was very good.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your hotelroom, but nice to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the breakfast buffet.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen

Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for two rainy nights in Sept. Our room was a good size and clean. The location is only steps from the harbour and old Bergen with the fish market. Lots to see and the shopping is very handy..
The breakfast was to die for .There also is a great bistro and a fine dining restaurant. We ate in the bistro and my rump roast was done perfectly My wife had the red fish and loved it.
For the money a good place to stay.
Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.
Free wifi and desktop use.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are thrilled to hear that you liked it here! Thank you so much for all your nice comments, I´ll make sure all my colleagues get a copy:)

If you ever come back to Bergen, please come and stay with us again.

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were only passing through Bergen so the hotel was fine for one night although if you were staying longer then I'd consider staying saying somewhere nicer. The hotel is under renovation and whilst the rooms pictured have been renovated the room we got wasn't... and I get the impression that a lot aren't so be prepared for dated decor. Having said that, the room made up for its decor with its generous size and view of the harbour. The bathroom was pretty tired with mould in the grout and in serious need of an update. The other surprising problem was the noise, we were there on a Saturday night so the noisiest in the week and even though there doesn't appear to be any bars near by it was very loud in our room and the windows felt like they were open.

The renovation more generally in the hotel personally misses on the style front... Other Scandics I've stayed at I've been impressed by the styling but they didn't get the Neptun right.

The reception girls were friendly but couldn't help us with recommendations on where to go for dinner etc.

The location is brilliant for exploring Bergen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on Sept.12. The location is great- walking distance to most attractions. We were able to make use of the luggage room on both days ( arrived early, left late) . Our room was lovely, large and with a very modern bathroom. TE kettle in the room was most appreciated rather than trying to heat water for tea in a coffee pot. The breakfast was the best of the three hotels we stayed at in Norway, lots of freshly cooked items being replenished regularly. Convenient for catching airport bus. I had a cold so rather than walking our for dinner we ate in the hotel and had a very nice meal. TE waitress was most friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are thrilled to hear that you liked it here. Thank you so much for all your nice comments - we really appreciate it!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

As soon as we checked into this hotel the staff on the reception desk were exceptionally rude. The first room we were given had one single bed in! There wasn't even an apology from the receptionist! The next room had 2 single beds as apparently the hotel only has 3 or 4 rooms which have double beds! The worst part however was the cleanliness of the room. There was a toe nail on the carpet and long dark hairs everywhere. There was also no soap in the dispenser in the bathroom. The beds were also so uncomfortable. I would however recommend this hotel for location but that was the only good thing. I have extensively travelled the world and have never stayed anywhere so poor for the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay at Scandic Neptun. Rude service from the staff and bad cleanliness is not acceptable, and I can assure you that your review will be forwarded to the manager.

Thank you for recommending our good location.

We hope you have a nice fall!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#28 of 47 in Bergen
628 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#17 of 47 in Bergen
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
526 reviews
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#26 of 47 in Bergen
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Property: Scandic Neptun
Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing