We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impersonal and not very friendly but with some fun art”
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very conveniently situated, glossy and totally impersonal. We enjoyed the well-chosen collection of modern art throughout the building though.

A very brusque "welcome" from an older woman on reception and no comment from another younger woman on receipt of the key on farewell. Another young member of the reception staff was however friendly and helpful when we had a query.

We think that our room had had its makeover (see other reviews) and we had quite a smart bathroom with a jolly door. Unfortunately it flooded extensively when we used the shower. The room itself was quite cramped with very little storage space but adequate for a 2 night stay.

We joined the lie-abeds for breakfast at 9.30 and it was quite a scrum: serving ceased at 10 am. However, getting some breakfast at 6.15 am before catching the airport bus was a positive!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philippamerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear that were not quite happy with your stay. All our guest should feel welcome and apparently you did not, and that is not good enough so please except our apology.

Summer is top season i Bergen and most of the hotels are fully booked. Many of our guest choose to have a late breakfast so unfortunately it tends to be a bit crowded at the end. We try to recommend our guest to enjoy an early breakfast, so I´m happy you got a positive experience the last day of your stay.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Got the room on the highest floor. Was big and clean, even though seems old, especially the carpet. There's a fan inside the room. Sometimes Bergen is very hot in summer. The hotel is located close to city centre, only 5 minutes walking. There's lot of eateries and supermarket. Wifi works fast and the staffs really friendly. Buffet breakfast was okay, not so many options but really enough to start your day. No regret and will come back again. Try Cafe Opera; cheap and delicious menu. It's a more local cafe and not so far from the hotel. Ask the reception for directions. Bergen is walkable.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andi_Karlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear that you liked it here. We do agree that Cafe Opera is a nice place, thanks to our central location you can walk to almost everything i the city centre, incl. nice cafes and coffeshops:)

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed two nights at Hotel Neptune in August 2014 Located in central Bergen, nice foyer with much art. Got a worn and dusty rooms. A soda cap was left on the windowsill after the previous guest. Hair on the soap dispenser, before I had used the bathroom! Breakfast was simple and did not answer to the description. In addition, there was so overbooked that it was impossible to sit in the dining room. No more hard-boiled eggs, no knives, hard to get food - because there was a queue and people everywhere. The people who worked there, ran and tried his best to fill the food and retrieve new glass etc.. Why were not the resturant and bar opened so people could eat breakfast there? I was shocked at the low standard of the rooms - shabby. Not a hotel I would choose again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with the standard of your hotel room. We are aware of the fact that some of our hotel rooms are in need of renovation. Luckily this is scheduled, and will start later this fall.

Summer in Bergen is top season for all hotels, and almost everyone is fully booked. Pepole on vacation is usually a bit later to breakfast so unfortunately it sometimes gets a bit crowded when almost all of our guest shows up the last hour. We try to advise our guest to come a bit earlier and have nice and quiet breakfast, but we also understand that they prefer to stay a little bit longer in bed:) Our staff do their very best to keep up, and we always keep the loungearea next to the restaurant/dining room open so people can sit there.

We are glad to hear that you liked our reception- and lobby area!

Best regards
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Clean and great spot. The hotel has a great restaurant with delicious food. Rooms are great, clean and spacious. Good value with friendly staff. The hotel is located in the centre in walking distance from all major attractions and restaurants.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank MarcCaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are thrilled to hear that liked it here!

We do hope to see you back some day - in the meantime; have a great summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Otel room was big enough, breakfast was delicious, especially helpfull staff. But the hotel room need to be renivated. The furnutures were so old. But it was a clean room also. And also has a nice price.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aylin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took good care of you. I do agree that some of our rooms need renovation, but luckily this is scheduled to take place this fall.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here for three nights and cant compain, the choice of eateries was great and good food was served, the rooms are a bit dated but still comfortable and clean, service was good , perfect location if your on foot but a nightmare if your driving but this doesnt take any points away from the hotel itself, thanks Scandic for a great trip. Would have had 5 stars if the rooms were updated which im sure is on their to do list in the very near future

Room Tip: All of them are clean and comfortable,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotland's H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review!

This makes us so happy to hear! And yes; I can assure you that renovating our oldest rooms is on the "to do" list - starting this fall:)

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We did not stay at this hotel, and the restaurant apparently has a new name and no listing under restaurants, so I am reviewing under the hotel name. The restaurant is named Entre (of EN TR3?)

Late at night when the restaurants in town were closed or closing, we walked in as this one was getting ready to close, too. Nevertheless, a lovely server, Tatyana, and the chef, Trayon, welcomed us in and assured us that they were happy to feed us! Trayon even helped me personally by adjusting the menu offerings a bit for my vegetarian needs. We sat in an almost empty restaurant, they served us and checked back to make sure everything was fine. The food was fresh and delicious and they never made us feel rushed despite the imposition on them of the late hour. After a long day and being so hungry so late, these two people made us feel relaxed and renewed. We will always remember a fine meal and their kindness. I hope the management of this restaurant and hotel read this review so they know how well Tatyana and Trayon represented them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LFK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are thrilled to hear that you liked our Restaurant Entré! So good to know that Tatyana and Tryon took good care of you. I can assure you that your review has been forwarded to both of them, and their colleagues as well - for inspiration:)

We hope to see you back one day!

Best regards
Restaurant Entré, Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 50 in Bergen
1,392 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 50 in Bergen
942 reviews
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 50 in Bergen
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Bergen City
#34 of 50 in Bergen
817 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Magic Hotel Korskirken
Magic Hotel Korskirken
#28 of 50 in Bergen
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £79 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing