We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not have asked for better treatment”
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
west midlands
2 reviews
“could not have asked for better treatment”
Reviewed 26 March 2010

having been stranded in Bergen due to my wife's hospitalisation after breaking her ankle in a fall I could not have asked for better assistance from the hotel. In particular I would like to single out the reception staff and thank them for their help. We are now back home in UK but hope to make another visit to Bergen in the future. Thank you John Upton

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsCandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    296
    249
    118
    62
See reviews for
171
293
56
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville,TN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Hurtigruten booked us in this hotel as part of our package. Hotel is centrally located--easy 10 minute walk to train station, 5 minute walk to fish market, etc. Staff was incredibly helpful--they called to clarify times on our vouchers, gave great directions, etc. Room was spacious by European standards. Free wireless internet in rooms. Breakfast was an incredibly attractive buffet with much variety. Breakfast room has walls of windows overlooking harbor, city, etc, with gorgeous views, especially in the blizzard that happened while we were there. There is a wonderful lobby next to registration with fresh coffee, tea. I can't praise this place enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymsrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonJames2050
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Good night of sleep, great breakfast. Big bathroom. Really central .Minor detail Nets need an iron and curtains did not fit.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJames2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed at Neptune because hadn't booked anything beforehand. For some reason Bergen was packed when we got there and this was the only thing we got. The location seemed nice, and was, but the room smelled smoke (and my clothes for days afterwards) even it was supposed to be non-smoking. And they didn't change it even we asked. Also the breakfast was plain and not very well put together, definitely not what we expected to receive for that price. The lobby seemed elegant in that tacky sort of way, with marble looking desks and huge bouquet of flowers on it, but corridors were tired and stained, and the room decor dark and heavy. They should half their prices.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I stayed at Neptun on a business trip - spent 2 nights there. Also collegaues of mine stayed there.

The service was very bad - I asked for quiet room, and got one just above some procesor. They changed it for me - but still not happy. Old room, smell of smoke - even when it was a non-smoking room - and a noisy street just outside.

Many of my collegaues also had bad experience with this hotel. One got back in the evening - and found that someone was sleeping in her bed. The staf had changed her room without giving her a warning in advance. Many similare stoires.

DO NOT STAY ON THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globerotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Neptun (15/16 August). The standard of the room we were allocated was extremely poor - especially as we had paid the tour operator extra for a better class of hotel. The room smelt musty and the bathroom truly stank, the carpet was stained, the curtain was coming down one end, the bathroom ceiling was stained in several places due to old leaks, the loo flush was broken, a bathroom fixture attached with chip board, the wiring in places was external and did not look safe, the beds were awful - a frayed cover was over the base and even the addition of a newer mattress cover did not detract from the old poor quality of what was almost camp bed standard. I was so upset I took pictures and sent them to the tour operator. Other than the standard of the room the reception staff were abrupt but the communual areas reasonable. The food in the restuarant was acceptable. The hotel is located just a street back from the harbour and an easy walk to the main attractions and the station.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceruleanbloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We enjoyed our 4 nights at the Neptun and were especially glad to have a quiet room off the noisy main drag (after a very unpleasant main-drag hotel experience in Oslo). The hotel is beautifully decorated with all kinds of very interesting artwork. Our room was pleasant, quiet and cool, but the lights were dim throughout the bedroom and bath, and the furniture was a little (actually a lot) on the shabby side, although clean. Beds were perfectly comfortable though. The staff were invariably friendly, pleasant and helpful. We did not use the hotel restaurant but enjoyed the bar which is a lovely library style room. Breakfasts were fine and the selection quite extensive. The Neptun is overpriced, but then everything in Norway gave us sticker shock!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#29 of 46 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 46 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#26 of 46 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Property: Scandic Neptun
Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Scandic Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing