We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the breakfasts alone”
Review of Scandic Byparken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Byparken
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Come for the breakfasts alone”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Before coming to Bergen and staying at the Rica I read the reviews on TripAdvisor and noted that many reviewers commented on the excellent breakfasts. Well, they are all spot on! The breakfasts at the Rica are worth getting up half hour earlier for as the choice is vast and the quality of the breakfasts is excellent. The hotel is modern, clean and not in need of refurbishment like many I have stayed at whilst on business. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is expensive by UK standards but it is in Norway where everything is more expensive. A definite recommendation.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank the4poles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    348
    194
    64
    25
See reviews for
127
259
76
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Our recent stay at the Rica totally exceeded our expectations. From the excellent assistance from the counter staff, the well appointed and comfortable rooms, coffee 24 hours a day, and the amazing breakfasts, there was absolutely nothing lacking at this wonderful hotel. If you can book the Rica, by all means do. You will not be disappointed in anything at this hotel.

Room Tip: lower floors are noisy on weekends if you like to sleep with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The Rica Travel Hotel Bergen is a good mid-range priced hotel that has a fantastic breakfast. The room was a decent size and comfortable. The best part was the breakfast the next morning. So much variety! The little fruit juices were sensational.

If I was in Bergen again I would stay there just for the breakfast.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowdownLookup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This was my first time at this hotel, and definitely not my last. The room was clean and relatively spacious. Breakfast was excellent, as was the service during breakfast.

My room was on the 5th floor on a busy street, but I usually travel with earplugs so I get a good quiet sleep.

Great location in the city, and super close to transit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanaAPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeje, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed here a couple of times on buisiness travel, but never had a great night sleep. The hotel is old and in all the rooms i have stayed in the windows are drafty and no sound isolation. The last time i had a room against the street (5th floor) and could hear some loud conversations on the street with the windows closed.

The breakfast is very good!

Room Tip: Stay away for rooms towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmmmmmmmmm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I arrived to Bergen by train from Oslo early in the morning. I had emailed them in advance and was hoping to be able to check in to my room to take a shower and freshen up before my meetings that day. I was therefore very happy when I got a room and hurried to get ready for a busy day of meetings.

When I opened the door there was a naked man walking into the shower already in the room! I didnt stay to discuss the issue with him, but hurried down to the reception to see if there was another room available. Luckily there was, and I got the room across the hall (awkward).

The service was good, but they did not know that there already was somone in the room they first gave me the keys to.

Except for that incident my stay was a pleasent one, needless to say, I made sure to lock the door from the inside to keep any unwanted guests from checking in.

The breakfast was good, it was a perfect location for me very central in the city. So overall I am very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snublemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is a good choice for both tourists and business travelers. The Breakast is the best in town. I have stayed there various times. Staff in reception and in the breakfast restaurant are welcoming, friendly and service-minded. Beware that some rooms are tiny. They still are nicely decorated and funcional. Rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with streeview are more spascious. (Still more expensive) Rooms facing the backyard ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikissimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Byparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Byparken

Property: Scandic Byparken
Address: Christiesgate 5-7, Bergen 5808, Norway (Formerly Rica Travel Hotel Bergen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Byparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Byparken (formerly Rica Hotel Bergen) is centrally located in the heart of charming Bergen, near to the bus station, railway station and city sights. Our hotel restaurant serves a generous breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner on request. We also have a nice lobby bar which is a great place to relax and have a freshly brewed cup of coffee. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 80 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Byparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Bergen
Bergen Rica Travel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing