We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice breakfast”
Review of Scandic Byparken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Byparken
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here for one night, but chose to upgrade the room because i wanted opportunity to take a bath. Got a room on the 6. floor - and the room was a good size. Nice and clean. The only problem was the elevator you had to use to get to this room. The elevator was located inside the breakfast/dinner room - And in the morning it took me forever to get to my room.
The staff in the front desk at this hotel is polite and professional. I saw them when they had to deal with complaints - and although it was the customer who had it all wrong, they did their job and made everybody happy. It's not that easy to handel busloads of tourists - the staff here it very well.
Breakfast good!
Some noice from the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Byparken
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Enjoyed a delicious and extensive breakfast at the Rica Hotel in Bergen. Staff was especially helpful with printing out boarding passes, giving advice, answering questions. Room was clean, beds comfortable, good and plenty linenes, great location. Easy access to the waterfront and parks. Good base for exploring the city. Wet weather and cool temperatures are the only drawback to visiting this old Hanseatic city and that is nothing that the hotel has any control over. If we were to visit Bergen again, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetHarperLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I spent a month here on business, and the small rooms can become depressing. It was like living in a rating's cabin on a 1970s built ship.

My room was kept more-or-less clean, and the bed was comfortable.

There are lots of good restaurants round this part of the city, and others only a 20 minute walk away. The hotel restaurant did not seem to be open other than to bus tours stopping one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I had a small room on the 4th floor, barely bigger than the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, but plugging in my computer was awkward. The bathroom was clean and the shower hot, and there were plenty of towels and consumables. The bathroom was cleaned carefully each day. The room was pretty spotless, though the wastebasked was not emptied every day, nor was the bedding changed (I cut my ankle one day and the tiny bloodspot was still on the sheet till I asked for it to be changed 3 days later)

I handed in a lot of laundry that always came back the same day, and usually in perfect condition. They do staple a number to your clothes which can be tricky to remove unless you are prepared. Fortunately all hotels in the Bergen use the same laundry so I was tooled up in advance. The staff said that their uniforms are the same, and they know how annoying it can be.

Breakfast was excellent. Possibly the best in Bergen. A griddle chef was on duty to make omlettes and fried eggs, which he did with consumate skill. There is a substantial choice of meats and fish, and a lot of cheese (although only ever the same 3 varieties!). Good bread and lots of crackers, and a splendid array of teas with proper teapots available. Wondeful.

The superb breakfast is balanced at the other end of the day merely by coffe and cakes in the lobby. Tour groups (and you will see a lot of them) get served an evening meal in the breakfast room, and it seems mainly to be another breakfast. But no matter - there are some really good restaurants in short walking distance.

The staff were very good, quick to deal with queries, very efficient generally and always cheerful. They, not the breakfast, were the high spot of the stay. Most friendly.

The archtecture let the place down somewhat. It has an interesting 1920s exterior, but the only trace of the same former grandeur inside is in the rarely-seen stairwell, which has not been modernised and is quite interesting. The remainder of the interior is done with the cheapest T-section extrusions and drop-in panels you can imagine, more like a typing pool than a hotel corridor. My room had a fitted wardrobe and minibar that would have looked quite good in an episode of the 'The Saint' from the 1970s. There is nothing architecturally stimulating about the public spaces either. It's clean, bright, and entirely unremarkable, unless you duck into the stairwell.

Parking is not provided, but there is a huge multi-story near the railway station only a 10 minute walk away. 10 minutes delightful walk next to the lake in the park.

The location is very central, which leads to street noise problems. Often loud music from nearby concert halls or the park well into the night. Late night revellers can be very loud. I was woken by a gulley pump at 05:00, routinely sucking out the drains. And tour busses have the loudest horns you can imagine. This is presumably because of their passengers, who seem to be raucous despite their years.

I sleep with the window open all year round, but had real problems doing that at the Rica. This is not the hotel's fault, of course, and the double glazing is quite good a keeping noise out.


I'd happily stop there again, but it is not the best hotel in Bergen.

Room Tip: corner rooms seem bigger
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brunnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Convenience is a hallmark of this hotel being close to the train station and less than 25 metres from the airport bus stop. It is close to the Greighalle and a short walk to the absolute centre.

When I was there the hotel was overbooked. This ldid cause some problems for my colleagues who ended up with rooms and BEDS that were child-size. My room was small but adequate with a good view. The fridge did not chill the drinks and there was no bottle opener. Wifi was free and reliable. There is no restaurant or cafe so lunch and dinner have to taken outside.

Breakfast was sublime. All sorts of hot and cold dishes spilt over the place. There was a machine to make fresh squeezed orange juice. Real pancakes were available, not the drop scones that masquerade as pancakes in North America. An egg station was in place. The selection of meats and fish was mind blowing. Stuff yourself with this meal as it will keep you going until dinner.

Room Tip: Choose one on the outside
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The cleanliness of the rooms and the amazing breakfast far exceed some of the major chain hotels at the same price point; couple those things with the location, being only a few blocks from the train station, one block from the airport bus stop and a few blocks from the shopping and waterfront areas of Bergen, and you have a winning combination.

On the downside, the window seals were not good and let in a lot of street noise, the room was small and oddly laid out and the staff was hit and miss. Some were attentive and friendly and others were much more interested in chatting with each other helping the line of waiting customers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here during our family weekend in Bergen, with 2 adults and one child. This was a "bonus trip" as part of Rica's Reward-program, since hotels in Bergen during the summer is on the expensive side.

We were welcomed by two smiling receptionists, and while we got checked in, our 5-year old got to feed the fishes on the front desk along with one of them. We booked a double room with one extra bed, and got a "family room". It was slightly bigger than a normal double, but quite narrow. The view was nothing to talk about, as it was pointing inwards, and we were staring straight into a redecoration project on the next-door building. On the upside we then avoided street-noises completely.

Breakfast at Rica hotels are one of the great advantages with this hotel brand. This particular hotel was voted "Hordalands best hotel breakfast" this year. They serve local food (sausages, meat balls, cold cuts and cheeses), a great variation of bread, and lots of different drinks. You can also get coffee in your own coffee-press, with 3 different bean types to choose from. We had 2 great morning meals here.

The hotel also has its own pillow menu as part of its "Sleep well" philosophy, where you can choose from 5 different pillow types, if you do not like the standard ones (limited availability of each kind). Ask the receptionist for this, that's a great extra service.

It's centrally located, with the "Festplassen" and "Torgalmenningen" just a few minutes away, and quite a few bars and restaurants in the near vicinity.

All in all, this was a great experience, and we would recommend this hotel for both families and couples travelling alone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestC0astTrav3ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,318 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
926 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Byparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Byparken

Address: Christiesgate 5-7, Bergen 5808, Norway (Formerly Rica Travel Hotel Bergen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £88 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Byparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Byparken (formerly Rica Hotel Bergen) is centrally located in the heart of charming Bergen, near to the bus station, railway station and city sights. Our hotel restaurant serves a generous breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner on request. We also have a nice lobby bar which is a great place to relax and have a freshly brewed cup of coffee. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 80 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Byparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Bergen
Bergen Rica Travel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing