We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel but stay closer to Bryygen”
Review of Scandic Byparken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Byparken
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is in a good location that, thankfully, is a couple blocks off the central streets of Bergen where more of the hotels are. Those streets are extremely loud at night, so it's nice to be slightly out of the fray, but we could still here music and muffled talking until after 3am - and we had an inside facing room. The room was absolutely tiny - really just a bed - but Bergen is so beautiful that you won't be spending much time in the room anyway. Next time I'd stay at one of the hotels in Bryggen by the water - it's only a 5 minute walk from central Bergen and is much quieter at night and beautiful

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

I took a 'superior' room which suposedly is larger and in a better part of the hotel than a standard room. I like Rica hotels as they normally have character and are good value, unfortunately the Rica Bergen breaks the mould. The room was small and charmless, which I can forgive; but directly above a rock club playing live music until 2.30am which I can't.
On the plus side, if you can avoid the club and tolerate a ship's cabin experience the breakfast is absolutely superb.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor and rooms facing Christies gate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidELondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed in a single room for three nights as part of a larger holiday touring northern Europe.

My main priority was proximity to the town centre, which you certainly get. You are a two minute stroll away from the main square and only about 4 or 5 from the harbour and the Bryggen.

The rooms are quite small and I can imagine with more than one person it would be important that you get on well with your companion. That said, the bathroom is proportionately fantastic (at least two thirds of the size of the rest of my room) and very lovely. My bed was possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

View-wise, you've got a 50/50 chance of getting a room with a great view of the mountain (the front) or not such a great view (the back) so you'll have to take your chances on that.

The breakfast is very good, lots of choice, beautifully presented. The organisation is a bit of a kerfuffle but if you're an early riser this shouldn't be a problem.

Wifi access is very good and very easy.

My personal view is that this is not the hotel for you if you want your accommodation to be part of your holiday experience. It provides perfectly reasonable, serviceable, clean, comfortable and pleasant rooms at competitive prices (for Bergen) in a great location. It is not somewhere to actually spend time.

Room Tip: The front side gets a better view, but a lot of traffic noise from the street. The back, as you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candygirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We were lucky with the room: the corner one with a big window offering a superb view of the mountain with the funicular. Breakfast is plentiful, bathrooms are very clean, wifi is free and works well. It's well located for railway station, airport bus and just a stroll into the beautiful centre and harbor of Bergen. Odd TV with little not in Norwegian and a menu that takes ages to work through before you get to a TV channel but that's a minor gripe. This hotel's not cheap but nowhere in Bergen is going to be. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner facing the park - you'll hear traffic but there'll be a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timabdelhadytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Despite the excellent breakfest and dinner buffets the 2 person rooms are so smal that you cannot turn around in your room without constantly shuffeling with the furniture and your luggage.. The bed was placed in one corner ot the room and you could only reach your sleeping place by climbing over your partner. Outside view was a blind wall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with space for your luggage and for 2 people and not on the 5 to 9 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Definitely has a feel of a budget hotel: small rooms, limited furnishing (short on towel and luggage racks for example), window view of construction inside a courtyard, crowded buffet breakfast. But everything was clean and in good working order. Front desk staff was very helpful. Good location; easy walk to main train and bus terminal, and to Bergen tourist sites.

One completely unnecessary problem: The curtains were completely inadequate to block out the light of Norwegian summer nights. Most hotels where we stayed in Norway had completely opaque black-out curtains that did a good job of creating a dark room for sleep. Some (like this one) do not. So we spent 20 minutes stuffing the window sills with luggage and coats to get some darkness so our kids could sleep. There is really no reason for a Scandinavian hotel to not have black-out curtains; they are required when the sky does not get dark for more than a few hours.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed in Bergen for 2 nights and found this hotel suited our needs. It was centrally located (a 2 minute walk from the airport bus stop in the town centre). The room was on the small side but had all the we required. There wasn't any air con but having an inside facing room meant that we could have the window open and we weren't disturbed by any noise throughout the night.

The real upside, apart from the very friendly staff, was the amazing spread that greeted us in the morning. I would defy anyone to leave the hotel hungry! Fresh fruit, fish, cold meats and cheeses, bread, pastries, smoothies, a full cooked breakfast, freshly prepared omelette... The list is endless. You could fill your boots and not need to eat until dinner time (no bad thing at Norwegian prices)!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 50 in Bergen
1,392 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 50 in Bergen
963 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 50 in Bergen
69 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 50 in Bergen
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Byparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Byparken

Address: Christiesgate 5-7, Bergen 5808, Norway (Formerly Rica Travel Hotel Bergen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Byparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Byparken (formerly Rica Hotel Bergen) is centrally located in the heart of charming Bergen, near to the bus station, railway station and city sights. Our hotel restaurant serves a generous breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner on request. We also have a nice lobby bar which is a great place to relax and have a freshly brewed cup of coffee. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 80 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Byparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Bergen
Bergen Rica Travel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing