We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slept like a baby ! ”
Review of Scandic Byparken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Byparken
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Slept like a baby the whole night . It was an Amazing bed , Amazing breakfast with all you need for the perfekt breakfast and the best location in Bergen . Loved the View to fløien and Ulriken . I recommend it strongly like the Hulk ! Nice service .

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Therese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Really good hotel - especially the breakfast, which was great as Bergen is so so expensive! For NOK 70, you can get a box to take away food from the breakfast buffet for your lunch.
Staff all very friendly. We asked if it was possible to get breakfast to go at 4.30am as we were going to the airport and it was ready and waiting for us at reception.
Rooms not huge but nice and clear with comfy beds and pillows. There's a 'pillow menu' too so you can get another pillow if you prefer. Fridge with mini bar which we used to store our own food/drinks.
Great location - 5 minute walk from the train station and a 2 minute walk from the airport bus stop (25 min to airport, NOK 140 return/NOK 90 single). A lovely big park, pretty much across the road, which we sat in a few times as it was sunny.
It was really hot when we were there so we left the windows open when we went to sleep but got woken up from noise, I guess from people leaving a nightclub. We closed the windows and it was fine so I wouldn't be put off staying here because of this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EdinburghTravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A budget hotel after the style of Premier Inn or Holday Inn Express.

Public space is very basic and there is no restaurant, except they seem to cater specially for tour parties.

We had a "superior" room which was on 7th floor, so had a good view. Room was budget basic but reasonably well equipped.

Breakfast was varied and very good. Unusually guests are encouraged to help themselves and make a packed lunch for the day, an unusual idea, but given prices in Norway something to be welcomed.

There are no room safes although there is a safe, with personal boxes, at reception that can be used. A bit of a pain to keep accessing it, via reception staff though.

The hotel location is very convenient for exploring on foot.

The staff were generally friendly and helpful although there was one complete "jobsworth" (twenties, dark hair, dumpy) who was totally unhelpful on several occasions. Disappontingly staff did not wear name badges.

Room Tip: Go for a 7th floor room which gives you a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank donnyMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

During our vacation in Bergen, we stayed at clarion havnekontoret and Rica. The havnekontoret has much better location & views, but the rica has better (more creative) breakfast. Of course, that doesn't mean the breakfast at havnekontoret was not good (it was!), but that the breakfast at rica was simply exceptional. I recommend both hotels; where you stay depends on your budget & preference.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

In the summer time, hotels in Bergen are quite expensive. We used the internet and we chose Rica hotel Bergen. We were happy. It was a good choice. The standard of the rooms we had were good, the position of the hotel is excellent. Of course the breakfast of any Rica is probably the best you can get in Norway. Don't hesitate if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ske443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My expectations to Rica are always lower than other hotels in Norway, but as bad as this have i never experienced. The breakfast was ok, but I had to eat it in a conference room due to lack of seats in the restaurant.

This is a worn out hotel with unhelpful staff. I asked for a quiet room and got one with a aircondition compressor just outside the window, the reception did not care about this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EinarMarthinsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel. It is very centrally located. I was in a single room on the 6'th floor. The room was nice and clean, bathroom was spacious. I had a good sleep although I think it was a little bit too hot, and I could not find the AC controller on the wall. The bed was a little bit too soft for me. But there was a selection of pillows to choose from, all with different softness which was something nice. Breakfast was really great, lots of different things to choose from, everything fresh and healthy, good selection of fruits and fresh smoothies. I would be going back to this hotel if I was in Bergen again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolakMaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 50 in Bergen
1,392 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 50 in Bergen
963 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 50 in Bergen
70 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 50 in Bergen
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Byparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Byparken

Address: Christiesgate 5-7, Bergen 5808, Norway (Formerly Rica Travel Hotel Bergen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £72 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Byparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Byparken (formerly Rica Hotel Bergen) is centrally located in the heart of charming Bergen, near to the bus station, railway station and city sights. Our hotel restaurant serves a generous breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner on request. We also have a nice lobby bar which is a great place to relax and have a freshly brewed cup of coffee. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 80 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Byparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Bergen
Bergen Rica Travel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing