We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel with old town charm”
Review of Klosterhagen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Klosterhagen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Klosterhagen Hotell is located five minutes walk from the town and harbour in the beatiful old white timber houses of Nordnes. The small hotel was tastefully modernised with contemporary decoration and furnishings.

The excellent breakfast of local produce was of a very high standard, but there was no hot food.

The room was adequate size with a smart new shower room. All was spotlessly clean.

A good place to stay if you want a small friendly hotel in a quiet locataion, but near restaurants and the buzz of the Bryggen harbour area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunelChannelIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is a delightful small hotel quite centrally located in Bergen. Rooms are small but well designed and nicely appointed. Staff are very accommodating and breakfasts are excellent with home made breads and jams. I highly recommend this hotel. Bergen itself is a beautiful and charming city though rain is quite plentiful. Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Bergen hotels were heavily booked for our recent weekend stay when we came across this small boutique hotel that still had a few rooms available. The hotel is located off the beaten path on a hill near the aquarium but still only a very short walk to Bergen's core shopping district and the Bryggen. As the hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, parking was restricted, but the helpful hotel staff pointed out that the parking signs had been removed in the street in front of the hotel because of construction, so we could park for free. Had it not been for this fortunate incidence, parking would have been available in two parking garages nearby (Klostergarasjen and City Park, with the former being a bit cheaper). Note also that free street parking is available on several streets in the business district downhill after 5 pm, until 8 am the next morning.

Our room was in the attic, with two skylight windows. The room was very small, with one queen-size bed (placed along two walls), a desk and chair, a small wardrobe, and a tiny bathroom. However, we never had a claustrophobic feeling, as everything felt well-arranged and the room's color scheme was soothing. What was a bit more annoying was the small bathroom sink and the fact that the shower was not separated somehow (for example with a glass divider) from the rest of the tiny bathroom, requiring us to be very careful not to wet the entire bathroom when taking a shower.

Like others, we felt that the breakfast was very unusual--in a very positive way. The various breads we tried were all very yummy, with some of them still being warm. Also the choice of pates, sausages, and jams was impressive. In sum, we would be happy to return to the Klosterhagen hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Excellent hotel and location a few minutes walk from the centre of Bergen. Small but comfortable room on the second floor, friendly staff, fabulous breakfast, everything was perfect. Fantastic mountain walk - take No 2 bus to Ulriken cable car, cable car to the top, walk to Floyen following the cairns, approx 12 kms, not difficult, take lunch and check the weather forecast, down Floyen on the funicular or walk. Take care with return trip on airport bus. Flybussenbergen picks up at Comfort Hotel Holberg (and other hotels) a short walk from hotel, Flybussen picks up at the Fishmarket, they are different bus services.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maureen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Everything was simply excellent. The people, the breakfast, the rooms, everything. The only hotel so far that I am actually missing. To be frank, for the homemade breakfast alone they deserve full praise, but everything else was also amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Klosterhagen Hotell. We had a nice and confortable bedroom on the second floor (under the roof), with a nice view on the town center and moutains est of Bergen.
I loved the floor heating in the bathroom and everything was provided to make some tea in the bedroom.
We had a wonderfull breakfast in the morning with all sorts of home mades things to eat, paté, fish, raspberry jam, fresh orange juice and different sorts of tea.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Realise I'm just repeating what everyone else is saying but Klosterhagen really does deserve the plaudits it's receiving. The staff - immaculately dressed - were polite, courteous and helpful, at all hours of the day. Was there to give a lecture and so used the conferencing facilities too, which were very impressive. The bedroom was modern, bright and clean, the bed large and comfortable, the breakfast one of the best I've had anywhere, at any price. Klosterhagen doesn't aim at luxury - and doesn't feel luxurious - but its standards are kept very high across every facet of the operation. An exceptional small hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 50 in Bergen
754 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 50 in Bergen
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#3 of 50 in Bergen
573 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 50 in Bergen
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klosterhagen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klosterhagen Hotel

Address: Strangehagen 2, Bergen 5011, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £94 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in historical surroundings at Klosteret ("the Monastery"), centrally and quietly at Nordnes in the centre of Bergen. We can offer 15 comfortable rooms with separate bathroom, wireless Internet, as well as a tasty breakfast based on food traditions, all included in favorable room prices. Our modern course and conference premises have a capacity of 25 people for meetings and lunches. We can offer various course packages, and are more than happy to adapt to our guests' needs and wishes. We wish to be your hosts in Bergen. Klosterhagen Hotel strives to exceed our guests' expectations by offering a high degree of comfort and good service in pleasant and functional surroundings at an excellent location. Klosterhagen Hotel is run by ALF AS as a work training project ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Klosterhagen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing