We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy boutique hotel in Bergen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klosterhagen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Klosterhagen Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cozy boutique hotel in Bergen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

As others have noted, if you expect large rooms/bathrooms as you might find in North America, this is probably not the hotel for you. My double room was not too small (plenty of room to open up 2 suitcases) and was beautifully decorated in a modern, Scandinavian style. The tea/coffee included in the room with a French press was an added perk. The organic breakfast is fantastic - homemade bread (they give you the recipe!) and jams as well as fresh OJ and lots of cheese and fruit was a great way to start the day. The location is nicely situated just above the main buzz of the harbour which made it feel a little more residential, but still a quick walk to all the action. I also really appreciated the fact that the hotel employs and provides training to individuals getting back on their feet in the workforce. Everyone I dealt with was friendly and professional. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others looking for a cozy and socially/environmentally conscious hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor (3) will have slanted roofs, but in return you get a few sky lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigiandangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    120
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
55
127
45
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The hotel rooms are quite small, but very cozy, comfortable and the interior design is very elegant. The people in the reception are very welcoming and helpful. Th hotel is situated right next to the touristic city center which is very convenient for walking around. The only drawback was the steep prices, but you're in Norway so don't expect otherwise!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank th_agorastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Our family of 3 booked the family room and had relatively high expectations of the room. We were disappointed. The bathroom was great... with a bath tub and ample space. However, the low ceiling (inclining kind) in the bedroom was not to our liking.... Half the time, our heads were knocking into the ceiling... and we are not tall folks.
The staircase was the ultimate! (No lifts) To get to our room, we had to climb a winding staircase up to the 3rd floor. We were lucky that the nice hotel staff helped to bring the bags to the room. Otherwise, for us to carry the 2 luggages up, would have been an impossible feat.
Breakfast was a selection of organic and home-cooked food (cold cuts mainly). My husband loved it but the lack of warm food did not appeal to me.

Room Tip: There are no lifts in this hotel. If you do not think you can lug the luggage up, choose a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgpoonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Prior reviewers have pretty much nailed this lovely hotel. About 300 meters from where the Hurtigruten docks, exceptional breakfast, super friendly and knowledgeable staff, close to the center of downtown Bergen (a 10 minute walk), and reasonably priced. We booked a room for three so the two of us had a bit of extra room. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank beannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here for one night before embarking on a Hurtigruten coastal express trip up to Kirkenes. Room was a little cosy, but perfect for one night (and v.little unpacking). Great location for both exploring Bergen, and also for making it on foot (with wheeled cases) to the Port. The staff were welcoming and helpful, speaking excellent English. Yes, you have to be able to climb stairs, but the view is lovely!

The breakfast was absolutely stunning - delicious home-made organic breads and a wonderful selection of fish, meat, cheese and fruit. The yogurt was the best I have ever had!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curlytoptwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

I really want to love this hotel, as on first impressions it was great. Exactly as seen in the photos here and on their website - really modern, spotlessly clean and decorated in a way that made the place feel really relaxing. Our room was in the eaves on the third floor and although small had everything that we needed - including a large and extremely comfortable bed.

In fact all was perfect until 1am when our neighbours returned from a presumably wild
night out in Bergen. To be fair to the hotel I think we were unlucky to have particularly noisy neighbours - which was unfortunately not solved by an exasperated knock at their door - but the situation must have been made worse by lack of insulation between our rooms as we could hear everything they did and said! (Which also made for an awkward breakfast)

Breakfast was the definite highlight of our stay as all the fresh produce was absolutely delicious, but it was harder to fully enjoy after a broken nights sleep. On the basis of my experience I would probably not return here as a good nights sleep is too important to me when in holiday. Sorry!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naomi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Klosterhagen Hotel for two nights in Bergen. We really loved it in many respects. One caveat, before I enumerate them, is that there is no lift, so if someone has difficulties with stairs, it would be a problem.

I notice some reviews comment on the small size of the single rooms, but I can tell you the double room we stayed in was fine; not especially spacious but comfortable. As a fan of smaller boutique hotels, this one fit the bill. We were in room 301, which has the slanted ceiling and skylights that lend character to higher rooms in building where each room is probably unique. Everything was flawlessly clean, the bathroom was very modern, but don't expect 5* amenities. In fact, we discovered that the little soaps and shampoos we expect in the States are not the norm in Norway.

The breakfast was fabulous. Everything that could possibly be made in-house, was: the bread, the jams, the fresh juice; you name it. There was a great espresso machine similar to Nespresso, where you choose a capsule and do it yourself. Do not miss the breakfast!

The staff was wonderful. We were continuing on with a Hurtigruten cruise up the coast, but it didn't start boarding until evening. Because our room wasn't sold, they let us keep it as a day room for a very modest extra charge, which was lovely.

I would definitely return to the Klosterhagen if I go back to Bergen, which I wouldn't mind doing. It's such a charming, beautiful city.

Room Tip: If you like character, 301 was very nice as I mentioned in the review: skylights and slanted ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggerflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klosterhagen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klosterhagen Hotel

Property: Klosterhagen Hotel
Address: Strangehagen 2, Bergen 5011, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in historical surroundings at Klosteret ("the Monastery"), centrally and quietly at Nordnes in the centre of Bergen. We can offer 15 comfortable rooms with separate bathroom, wireless Internet, as well as a tasty breakfast based on food traditions, all included in favorable room prices. Our modern course and conference premises have a capacity of 25 people for meetings and lunches. We can offer various course packages, and are more than happy to adapt to our guests' needs and wishes. We wish to be your hosts in Bergen. Klosterhagen Hotel strives to exceed our guests' expectations by offering a high degree of comfort and good service in pleasant and functional surroundings at an excellent location. Klosterhagen Hotel is run by ALF AS as a work training project ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Klosterhagen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing