We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple friendly quality in a lovely setting”
Review of Klosterhagen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Klosterhagen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

In a lovely old area halfway between the port and the centre. Good for walking, quiet environmenT but with some good cafés and eateries close by, and 5 - 10 minutes walk to the brygge. Staff helpful and friendly, delightful home produce breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank scoretulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksander U, Leder  at Klosterhagen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi!
Thank you for the feeback! Hope to see you again at Klosterhagen Hotell.
Best Regards Aleksander Ulseth- Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Nicely renovated, old townhouse in Nordnes/Klosteret area in Bergen. Five minuts from the citycenter. Quiet area. Stayed one night based on rewievs here. Booked a "superior" single, but got a quite large double. Nice room, delicate colors and large bathroom. Nice staff, always smiling and helpful. Tea in room, fridge. But the best bit is the breakfast: really, really nice: all homemade stuff. Greens, yoghurts with seeds and nuts etc, jams, two diff freshly made juices, eggs, Illy coffemaker etc. I was truly surprised how high quality and delicate presented. Thumbs up for this hotel, really nice!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cesoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksander U, Manager at Klosterhagen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi!
Thanks for your feedback! :-)
Welcome back to us next time your are in Bergen!
Aleksander - Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the Klosterhagen this weekend for one night on a flying city break.

The room was compact with only a little room down the side of the beds and we were a bit hot during the night but that was our fault for going to sleep with the heater on full, compounded by the gorgeous but uncontrollable heated bathroom floor.

Husband slept a little badly because of the heat, but I made like a log - bed was very comfortable and individual quilts soft and fluffy.

Next morning's shower was excellent, with the option of a rainfall shower-head or traditional. Bathroom was, again, very compact, with the shower in the corner with a movable screen instead of a separate shower cubicle, but this was absolutely fine and the gorgeous heated floor dried it out so no unnecessary puddles.

Last and most certainly not least - breakfast. Very simple buffet style continental breakfast of bread, meats, fish cheese, cereal and fruit.

Simple doesn't fully justify this, though Reindeer two ways (pate and wafer thin slices of reindeer meat,) a couple of other pates, several cheeses, 3-4 different types of fresh fluffy breads, several types of cured fish, not to mention boiled eggs and a delicious egg salad, plus a whole separate counter of cereals, dried and fresh fruits and nuts plus two types of yoghurt.

Drinks were a lovely filter coffee, or espresso if you fancy a bigger kick, also freshly squeezed orange juice. This was a lovely surprise for such a good value hotel.

All in all a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 208 faces the main road, but no traffic noises when we visited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FifiJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksander U, Manager at Klosterhagen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks for your fantastic feedback!
Welcome back to us next time you are in Bergen!!
Aleksander - Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The boyfriend and I had a great couple of nights here whilst exploring Bergen. The room was a good size, clean, well finished and the staff were friendly and helpful but non intrusive. Wouldn't think about checking anywhere else out if returned to Bergen again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank who-was-here-Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksander U, Daglig leder at Klosterhagen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Hi!
Thanks for your great feedback!
Welcome back to us next time you are visiting Bergen.
Happy Christmas from Klosterhagen Hotell.
Aleksander Ulseth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We chose the Klosterhagen because of the reviews and it was the perfect pre-cruise for our Hurtigruten departure the next day. The one somewhat disadvantage of this hotel is that there is NO LIFT!
Apparently I had missed that detail in my research, however, since I've learned to pack for the overnight's in the smaller suitcase, we were able to leave the larger suitcase in the luggage room - especially since our room was on the third floor and the spiral staircase was somewhat interesting to negotiate as it was.
The staff was delightful and VERY helpful throughout our stay, however when we asked for something quick and easy for dinner, she recommended a little place just a couple of doors down that appeared to be a full on 'dinner' restaurant. We continued walking and found a GREAT little Kebab place around the corner, Shawarma, that was FABULOUS - we got our kebabs and waddled back to the hotel. I thought it odd that when we returned, she had never even heard of the place!
Our room (301) was on the upper floor, so it had a slanted ceiling with windows that were in the roof - the room was a tad stuffy, so we opened the window just a crack, which was just enough, even though it was rather brisk (Oct. 26th). The floor in the bathroom was heated (YEA!) although we did think it odd that there was no shower curtain, even though there was a curtain rod. We got a GREAT night's sleep after two days of traveling (but of course a Tylenol PM and ear plugs helped too).
Breakfast was homemade everything - WARM breads (YUM), yoghurts, jams, even orange juice was fresh squeezed! I wish I could say that the coffee was homemade too, but apparently everyone has gone to those coffee machines, which DO make a good cup of coffee - it's just not the same as having a fresh cup of coffee though.... alas.
The hotel is VERY conveniently located and just a quick walk to the Fish market and old parts of Bergen. The property had apparently been refurbished into a hotel just a couple of years ago from having been something else, but it was VERY nice and except for the no lift thing, I would recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SLOduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksander U, Daglig leder at Klosterhagen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hi!
Thanks for your feedback!
Our hotel is in a building that is over 100 year old, so we cannot build an elevator. But our staff is more than help some to catty the bags to the rooms :-)
I’m glad you like the kebab :-) There are many restaurants near the hotel, but we usually recommends the ones we like.
We are very proud og the breakfast, so thank you !
Welcome back!
Regards Aleksander Ulseth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a good hotel which is very well situated close to the centre of town but far enough out to be quiet and peaceful. My attic room was very pleasant and well-thought out but if you get the exceptionally torrential rain I had during my visit then the sound of it could disturb you, drumming on the roof and velux windows, even in the deepest sleep. Breakfast is very Norwegian with lots of home-made bread, cold cuts, cheese, fish etc. but after four days I would have killed for something hot like a full English.

During my stay Reception had decided on the rather unusual approach of only charging your room key-card by the day (for security reasons apparently) but not telling you that was the case. So I had a few wasted trips upstairs trying to get into my room before we sorted that!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony_goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksander U, Leder  at Klosterhagen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Hi!
Thanks for your feedback!
The day stayed with us there were a lot of rain, so therefore it was some noise.. but next time ask the front desk, and we gladly change you to 2nd floor :-)
Klosterhagen Hotel’s goal is to offer our guests a tasty breakfast based on home-made, local food.
Historically, Munkeliv monastery was supplied with foods from more than 300 farms around the district. We wish to continue this tradition by focusing on local and national belonging as much as possible, and at the same time tell the story behind the food we serve. We bake our own bread, boil our own jam and press our own juice to give our guests the best possible start to their day.
:-)
Welcome back to us!
Aleksander Ulseth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Spent one night at Klosterhagen Hotel in Bergen and could not be more happy about the stay.

The location is great. Close to the Nordnes park and a short walk from down-town. A few houses over there is a charming cafe/coffee shop.
The interior is in a minimalistic style and very calming. Loved the grey color on the walls and matching artwork.
Staff at the reception was very serviceminded and kind.

My room was perfect. Everything I need in a hotel-room: a comfortable bed, a modern bathroom with a good shower, a kettle and a tv! The hotel also provides wireless in the rooms.

Breakfast was great, with a good selection of ecological products and/or regional products. Loved the cream cheese and the fresh juice. A good way to start the day.

Will stay at this hotel again next time I visit Bergen and would highly reccomend it to others as well.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 302, a very nice room for a solo traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDTStavanger_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksander U, Leder  at Klosterhagen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hi!
Thanks for this great feedback!
Welcome back to us :-)
Aleksander Ulseth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
705 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Hotel Park Bergen
#3 of 49 in Bergen
570 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klosterhagen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klosterhagen Hotel

Address: Strangehagen 2, Bergen 5011, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £100 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in historical surroundings at Klosteret ("the Monastery"), centrally and quietly at Nordnes in the centre of Bergen. We can offer 15 comfortable rooms with separate bathroom, wireless Internet, as well as a tasty breakfast based on food traditions, all included in favorable room prices. Our modern course and conference premises have a capacity of 25 people for meetings and lunches. We can offer various course packages, and are more than happy to adapt to our guests' needs and wishes. We wish to be your hosts in Bergen. Klosterhagen Hotel strives to exceed our guests' expectations by offering a high degree of comfort and good service in pleasant and functional surroundings at an excellent location. Klosterhagen Hotel is run by ALF AS as a work training project ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Klosterhagen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing