We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Basic Hotel Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basic Hotel Bergen
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A fantastic hotel, basic did not come to mind at all while I stayed there, the design was very stylish and modern, aswell as being extremely comfortable. I was anticipating not being able to sleep that well as there were a handful of bars and restaurants around the corner but the only thing I heard during my stay were the seagulls (and there are plenty!)
I stayed in a single room and although it was small, I felt this to be made up by the stylish interiors and the REALLY NICE bathroom that wouldn't have looked out of place in a four star hotel!
The location was superb, a five minute walk to the centre of Bergen and another fifteen minutes sits Bryggen and the Fløibanen. I must also mention how friendly the man behind reception was when I arrived and during my stay, I didn't catch a name, but he was always friendly whenever I bumped into him and recommended what to see and do as well as helping me with directions, thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyBeBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    148
    98
    28
    24
See reviews for
29
172
50
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location in Bergen. Very close to the tourist information center, attractions, food, and train station. The design is modern and very pretty. The entire place is very quiet and comfortable and also clean. I was in awe of just how nice the room was decorated as well as the entire hotel. Late check in is not a problem as long as you tell them before hand. The price was awesome for a stay in Norway and well worth it. The only issue we had was that the shower ( a semi circle design with two glass doors) was not able to open all the way due to the placement of a wall and sink, so you really had to squeeze in. For a small person this is no issue, but if you are a bit bigger (I am 5'9 and 210lbs) it was a little hard to get in and out. Loved the hotel and will most definitely stay again when we go back to the gorgeous city of Bergen.

Room Tip: Single room has a bed that is nice and big for a single person but can still fit two as a couple. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Situated close to the city center. Easy to find everything around. Restaurants, malls, shops, supermarket, convenience store, and several kebab shops. We did not spend any money on city transport as the city center that we explored were easily walkable from the hotel.

We arrived early in the morning and got an SMS notification about our booking that we could check in earlier. It really helped as we need a place to rest after our overnight journey by train. The receptionist is friendly and efficient that we can have an early check in.

The hotel is not big, but stylish inside. It has a good size of lift and good security features right from the front door. We need the our room key card to open the front door, the door to the corridor of the rooms and finally to the bed room.

We have got a good deal for booking a double room with private bathroom. It was the cheapest rate we could find in our search. I think our type of room is the smallest type of double room. The room is stylish, new-looking, and very clean. The bed room we had was small about 2.5x2.5 m2, excluding a spacious bathroom. With a queen size bed, the remaining space was quite small. It will be even more difficult to move around if you have large luggage. What else are provided in the room? A working table and chair, TV with few channels, small fridge, heater, mirror, a short horizontal pole to hang the cloths with hangers (instead of cupboard), kettle and cups. The linen and the towels were clean. The soap and toilet tissue were provided.

We stayed there for 1 night. We have a pleasant stay there. I would recommend this hotel for those who would look for basic accommodation within budget.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daftrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Really cool design. Room was small, but very comfortable with everything you could need.
Fantastic location - very central and not noisy.
Wifi was good.
Really good price - even by Norwegian standards - that is saying something.
I checked in late (23:00) and had been given directions of how to access the hotel and my key - it all worked seamlessly.
I only saw one staff member, briefly, during my 2 night stay - but I had no need to interact with them.
Shampoo etc not provided so bring your own.
Room is not tidied every day - so hang your towel up!
No restaurant / bar - but lots of places nearby. Definitely would recommend. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirtysomething76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This centrally-located hotel is a great bargain find in an otherwise expensive city. The hotel is stylish, clean, and feels as if you paid more than you did. The rooms are quite small, but offer everything that you might need, incl. a comfortable bed and a great shower (daily cleaning is however not included). It was possible to purchase a voucher to get breakfast at a hotel down the street, but we opted to just take coffee and a croissant at one of the many nearby cafes. Since Bergen is a quite small, and walk-friendly town, it is difficult not to be in a good location, but Basic Hotel is in a seemingly attractive part of town, with lots of restaurants, bars, and shops. Overall, a great bargain find that I would surely stay at again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stickan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The hotel is newly renovated and has everything that I need for a hotel stay. Location is excellent! It is a short walk (10mins) to Bryggen, and almost everything else in Bergen (museum/train station). There are also some nice cafes and bread shop and supermarket just opposite the hotel. Room is not the biggest, but clean and bath room decent. Only down side is that it is next a pub and can get noisy at about 2am... Will definitely stay at this hotel again if I visit Bergen again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winktink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very nice boutiqe style, design hotel. Excellent location and good value.
The price was very cheap compare to other options and we where very impressed
with the standard. Daily cleaning is not included, but that was informed by check-in by a
very friendly receptionist and suited us allright. Breakfast is available at a nearby hotel, but we just jused the fridge in the room and bougth coffee ( only NOK 10 ) at the hotel. We hope to come back and will sure recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 46 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 46 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#7 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basic Hotel Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic Hotel Bergen

Property: Basic Hotel Bergen
Address: Haakonsgaten 27, Bergen 5015, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basic Hotel Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basic Hotel Bergen is located in the city center of Bergen. We try to keep our solutions as simple as possible, in order to provide a good alternative when you are looking for smart, affordable accommodation. Basic Hotels are suitable for guests who want a comfortable stay in a casual setting, but have no need for extra hotel luxuries and services. Nevertheless, our hotels boast modern design and perfect functionality. All our rooms come with a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, an electric kettle, TV, refrigerator, hairdryer, a convenient desk and a wardrobe. The rooms have oak parquet flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basic Hotel Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing