We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not next time”
Review of Basic Hotel Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basic Hotel Bergen
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, but not next time”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Pros: 1. The hotel is very close to the most of places of interest and to the main railway station; 2. Rather big room - there's two windows, a table and enough space to keep your belongings and luggage; but I don't think a wardrobe is a good idea for such a room, I'd prefer having a big clothes hanger; 3. Excellent view out of window - cobbled street, buildings; 4. Interesting design of the common premises. Summary: the hotel is not bad, but I shall be looking for something else for the next time (see the cons part).

Cons: 1. There's a bar nearby, and on the night from Saturday to Sunday I couldn't sleep 'cos of loud music from it. Closing the windows wouldn't help. The staff offers earplugs (one can find them in the room and at reception), but you cannot use them, if you want to hear the alarm-clock in the morning (strange enough, the night from Friday to Saturday was great and quiet, no music at all). 2. The free coffee machine on the second floor was out of order. 3. The key-cards were a pain: two times we had to call the staff and they let us in. Later we were given a third key-card, but it didn't work properly either.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend a room with windows coming to the street, because there's a bar near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    156
    110
    34
    26
See reviews for
32
186
56
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

1. for me, it is quiet after close window.
2. the staff is nice and helpful.
3. the room is in good value of money.
4. with the water boiler.
5. but not always has staff in the reseption even it is around 11am in the morning. i needed left the luggage to store in their hotel. but i can see any staff in there and i wait at least 15mins!!!!! and i was hurry to go to the train station!! but it is a great hotel to stay if you have enough of time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We got a room facing the road on the 4th floor---the last floor to which the elevator goes! Room was clean, but small. There were about 2 hours of noise in the early AM hours, but didn't keep us awake. There was a set of "Ear Plugs" to help with this problem---good sense of humor!! Exterior hotel door was locked and access only by door-bell. No one answered at first and this was disconcerting. The receptionist was not very helpful either. After we got our key, we accessed the hotel with it; the next clerk was nice and helpful. They offered breakfast coupons at nearby hotels and we ate at the Scandic---excellent breakfast buffet. Location was convenient---a reasonable walk to the train station with our 4 pieces of rolling luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor. The elevator doesn't run past the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skitr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I get what Basic Hotel Bergen is trying to do - no fuss no muss accommodation relatively close to Brrygen and other attractions.

Walked from Bergen train station to the hotel, was a good 10-15 minutes walk past the park and over cobblestoned roads. Not the most pleasant for pulling a wheely bag.

Checked into room and immediately spotted a stray long curly black hair on the floor in the middle of the room. Safe to say, I kept my shoes on for the rest of the stay there. Wooden floors just felt grubby and in severe need for a good vacuum and mop.

Nightclub/bar next door which was a noise issue to most TAs, but I simply turned my TV on a loud volume to compensate. Slept through the night fine.

I noted they stated cleaning is not done everyday and you have to pay a supplement if you would like additional cleaning services. But they need more regular cleaning, especially after checkouts!

Wifi worked fine. Flybussenbergen (red) bus to airport has stops walking distance from hotel but on the occasion that I tried to catch one, me and 2 other girls waited 15-20 mins past the scheduled bus arrival time before the girls decided to walk to catch the Flybussen (blue) bus to the airport instead. They were kind enough to let me follow them to the other stop. It was 100NOK vs 90NOK for the red bus. Can't say anything positive about the reliability of the red airport shuttle busses from my experience.

It was an economical stay for one night and especially in a town as expensive as Bryggen, it is a reasonably cost-effective option. Just bring house slippers

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maymay777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The room was clean but small, as was the bathroom. We understood from what the name implied that we would not be staying in a luxury hotel.The position was good.
However we were very annoyed that having booked our room about 5 months earlier, we had been given a room on the 5th floor. After paying for the room as we checked in, we were told that the elevator only goes as far as the 4th floor and we would need to walk up a flight of stairs and carry our cases! My husband is in his 70s and I have a knee injury.
The girl at the desk told us we should have requested a lower room...... but nowhere can I find any written information which advises that this hotel has this problem.
So if considering this hotel and have any sort of disability, make sure you request a room below the 5th floor. In fact, I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all as I think we were treated unfairly and without due care or consideration.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back as there is a night club next door on the street. Ear plugs are even prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Friendly people at the reception desk and good location do not make up for the noise in the night! Never again! Just go to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, location even better and for some more money you can actually rest at night. Basic Hotel Bergen is massively overpriced comparing to conditions it offers!

Room Tip: Just don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

The basic hotel was much better than what we expected
Staff was nice and friendly, the hotel is modern and conveniently located between the train and bus terminal and the charming historical Bryggen
The only problem is that there is a night club just next door. We didnt notice it on sunday, but on the monday it was really noisy,
The staff provides you with ear plugs, they will have to do something about it
Music stopped around 4 AM

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afagundes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Citybox Bergen
#26 of 49 in Bergen
27 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 49 in Bergen
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 49 in Bergen
716 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basic Hotel Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic Hotel Bergen

Property: Basic Hotel Bergen
Address: Haakonsgaten 27, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basic Hotel Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basic Hotel Bergen is located in the city center of Bergen. We try to keep our solutions as simple as possible, in order to provide a good alternative when you are looking for smart, affordable accommodation. Basic Hotels are suitable for guests who want a comfortable stay in a casual setting, but have no need for extra hotel luxuries and services. Nevertheless, our hotels boast modern design and perfect functionality. All our rooms come with a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, an electric kettle, TV, refrigerator, hairdryer, a convenient desk and a wardrobe. The rooms have oak parquet flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basic Hotel Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing