We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The noise really is terrible”
Review of Basic Hotel Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basic Hotel Bergen
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 13 April 2014

While the price is good at this hotel, if you want a good nights sleep it is best avoided, particularly on Friday night which was when we stayed. The first hint is when you get to your room and find that earplugs are provided. There are nightclubs downstairs in what is essentially the same building, as well as elsewhere along the same street, and when they are operating you really cannot block the noise out, both from the amplified music and the drunken patrons in the street. Our room was on the 5th floor and facing away from the street, so the furthest away from the problem, but it was still a miserable night until after 3am.

The room itself was small but clean, and had quite a roomy bathroom. The bed was comfortable even though we (sisters) had to share a double bed. The windows could be opened for fresh air, though quickly closed again when the noise started.

A room on the 5th floor is probably best for one person only. The rooms are under the pitched roof, so the small floor area is made seem even worse by the low roof line on one side and it's very hard not to to bang your head quite a lot, particularly when two people with luggage are trying to manoeuvre in the small area. Also, try to get a room away from the 5th floor if you have heavy luggage or a problem with stairs - the lift only goes to the 4th floor and you have to drag your luggage from there.

Lastly, be aware that this hotel does not have rooms with twin beds, which is not made clear on some booking sites. Whilst most hotels in Scandinavia have beds which can be split into two singles, this one does not, and the attitude of the manager/owner is "nothing to do with me, talk to the booking agency". This is all very well but it would not hurt him to take steps with the booking agencies to prevent confusion for potential guests. He was very rude and did not do the image of his hotel proud, though as a counterpoint the receptionist was lovely and helpful.

The price at this hotel is good, but if you want to rest on those nights when the nightclubs are in full swing, pay a little more to go to a quieter location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a nice hotel in a good location (near to restaurants and bars) and we got a free upgrade to a bigger room because it was available when we stayed. The room was nice, and clean and the bed comfortable. However, as other people have said it was extremely noisy due to the club and bars on the street, so you can hear loud music and people shouting until about 4am. Ear plugs were provided, but I would rather stay somewhere where you don't need ear plugs to sleep! This place is probably fine to stay in if you are also planning to be out late.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a very good stay at this hotel in March. The reception made arrangements for us to check in late which all went smoothly, our room was very comfortable, clean and very tastefully decorated. The heated floor in the bathroom was very nice! We couldn't see anywhere where the lower price compared to other places in the city had compromised the quality of the hotel - there was a kettle, tv, very comfy double bed, excellent central location, good shower and space for all our bags. The hotel is above a nightclub which seemed to be very popular and it was very noisy outside but inside we weren't bothered by the noise as there were two sets of windows blocking it all out. So happy we chose this hotel, would not hesitate to return if we're ever back in Bergen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHilts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time and have had another good experience. The hotel is centrally located. Rooms are a good size and offer what you need (bed, table, tv, fridge, bathroom, wifi). I cannot relate to the other reviews regarding noise, have had silent nights so no complaints whatsoever. For a basic hotel this is a really nice place, breakfast is not included but there's a good bakery down the street (1 minute walking) that's open from 7 and offers nice breakfasts. Next time I visit Bergen I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My friend and I stayed for two nights in this hotel when we visited Bergen. The hotel is excellently located and well within walking distance to the towns' sights and attractions. Check-in was swift and easy and we were given a room on the 4th floor. As we were not expecting a big room, we were surprised that our room and the bathroom were decently sized. Though there is no daily room cleaning or change of sheets / towels included (extra fee payable if required), we were not bothered as our stay was short. Though our room faced the street, it was quiet during the day but we could hear the music and crowd from the club next door when night fell. For this, the hotel provided a couple of sets of ear plugs which did help to drown out the noise as we tried to sleep. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Basic Hotel for two nights. The hotel is centrally located in Bergen and everything is at a walking distance. We did not use any public transport for going around in Bergen. The front desk staff was nice and helped us with the directions to attractions and restaurants.

However, the street below the hotel is very noisy with two clubs on the ground floor. The hotel gives you ear plugs, but they are not effective. The noise was there till 4:30 in the morning with people shouting/ cheering on the road and we could not sleep well. I would not stay again at the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors could be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewExplorer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this little hotel. Served its purpose well. From the train station we walked to the hotel in 10 minutes. Located beside a beautiful cathedral and you can walk to anything you need. It is a very small room. No breakfast or really much amenities included. Bergen is extremely expensive, so having breakfast included could be huge at another hotel. But we saved money on this hotel and really had minimal complaints.

One flaw is there is a nightclub right next door. A very loud night club. We slept through it as we were exhausted so no worries. But for some people it could be a problem.

Bergen is so beautiful that you will not want to be inside for long anyway!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bozogoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
0.3 mi away
Citybox Bergen
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 49 in Bergen
63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Bergen City
Scandic Bergen City
#34 of 49 in Bergen
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Hotel Marin
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 49 in Bergen
1,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Holberg
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#27 of 49 in Bergen
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basic Hotel Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic Hotel Bergen

Address: Haakonsgaten 27, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £50 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basic Hotel Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basic Hotel Bergen is located in the city center of Bergen. We try to keep our solutions as simple as possible, in order to provide a good alternative when you are looking for smart, affordable accommodation. Basic Hotels are suitable for guests who want a comfortable stay in a casual setting, but have no need for extra hotel luxuries and services. Nevertheless, our hotels boast modern design and perfect functionality. All our rooms come with a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, an electric kettle, TV, refrigerator, hairdryer, a convenient desk and a wardrobe. The rooms have oak parquet flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Basic Hotel Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing