We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the comments about the noise”
Review of Basic Hotel Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basic Hotel Bergen
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Believe the comments about the noise”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Rooms are small but clean and well maintained. Great location, easy walk from train station and bus stop for the airport. But the noise from the disco... unbelievably bad. On the second floor the vibration was so bad there were waves in a cup of water. The entire room shook. Be prepared.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    148
    103
    30
    25
See reviews for
30
176
53
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel at Christmas time. Great location. 10 minutes walk from the bus stop from/to the airport. 10 minutes walk from the city centre. The local shops at the same street nearby.
Very nice, comfortable, clean and tidy hotel. I asked for the rooms on the top floor because of the comments about the noise from the night club located on the ground floor and it was fine. Quite spacious and comfy rooms. Very nice bathroom. Flat screen TV. Comfy beds. The reception staff very kind and helpful. Compared to the prices in Norway definitely value for money. Please be aware that at Christmas time nearly everything is closed in Norway and there's no restaurant / bar in this hotel. But you can find '7 eleven' shops around open till late and serving simple fast food.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Not really close to the ferry station and train station, but it is still one of the best hotel in Bergen for money.

The room are bright and spacious and which does not reflect to the naming of "Basic". Bathroom very clean.

Walking distance to the shopping street and "Den Nationale scene".

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

While the price is good at this hotel, if you want a good nights sleep it is best avoided, particularly on Friday night which was when we stayed. The first hint is when you get to your room and find that earplugs are provided. There are nightclubs downstairs in what is essentially the same building, as well as elsewhere along the same street, and when they are operating you really cannot block the noise out, both from the amplified music and the drunken patrons in the street. Our room was on the 5th floor and facing away from the street, so the furthest away from the problem, but it was still a miserable night until after 3am.

The room itself was small but clean, and had quite a roomy bathroom. The bed was comfortable even though we (sisters) had to share a double bed. The windows could be opened for fresh air, though quickly closed again when the noise started.

A room on the 5th floor is probably best for one person only. The rooms are under the pitched roof, so the small floor area is made seem even worse by the low roof line on one side and it's very hard not to to bang your head quite a lot, particularly when two people with luggage are trying to manoeuvre in the small area. Also, try to get a room away from the 5th floor if you have heavy luggage or a problem with stairs - the lift only goes to the 4th floor and you have to drag your luggage from there.

Lastly, be aware that this hotel does not have rooms with twin beds, which is not made clear on some booking sites. Whilst most hotels in Scandinavia have beds which can be split into two singles, this one does not, and the attitude of the manager/owner is "nothing to do with me, talk to the booking agency". This is all very well but it would not hurt him to take steps with the booking agencies to prevent confusion for potential guests. He was very rude and did not do the image of his hotel proud, though as a counterpoint the receptionist was lovely and helpful.

The price at this hotel is good, but if you want to rest on those nights when the nightclubs are in full swing, pay a little more to go to a quieter location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a nice hotel in a good location (near to restaurants and bars) and we got a free upgrade to a bigger room because it was available when we stayed. The room was nice, and clean and the bed comfortable. However, as other people have said it was extremely noisy due to the club and bars on the street, so you can hear loud music and people shouting until about 4am. Ear plugs were provided, but I would rather stay somewhere where you don't need ear plugs to sleep! This place is probably fine to stay in if you are also planning to be out late.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a very good stay at this hotel in March. The reception made arrangements for us to check in late which all went smoothly, our room was very comfortable, clean and very tastefully decorated. The heated floor in the bathroom was very nice! We couldn't see anywhere where the lower price compared to other places in the city had compromised the quality of the hotel - there was a kettle, tv, very comfy double bed, excellent central location, good shower and space for all our bags. The hotel is above a nightclub which seemed to be very popular and it was very noisy outside but inside we weren't bothered by the noise as there were two sets of windows blocking it all out. So happy we chose this hotel, would not hesitate to return if we're ever back in Bergen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHilts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time and have had another good experience. The hotel is centrally located. Rooms are a good size and offer what you need (bed, table, tv, fridge, bathroom, wifi). I cannot relate to the other reviews regarding noise, have had silent nights so no complaints whatsoever. For a basic hotel this is a really nice place, breakfast is not included but there's a good bakery down the street (1 minute walking) that's open from 7 and offers nice breakfasts. Next time I visit Bergen I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 46 in Bergen
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citybox Bergen
#26 of 46 in Bergen
308 reviews
Sentrum
Zander K Hotel
Zander K Hotel
#30 of 46 in Bergen
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basic Hotel Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic Hotel Bergen

Property: Basic Hotel Bergen
Address: Haakonsgaten 27, Bergen 5015, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basic Hotel Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basic Hotel Bergen is located in the city center of Bergen. We try to keep our solutions as simple as possible, in order to provide a good alternative when you are looking for smart, affordable accommodation. Basic Hotels are suitable for guests who want a comfortable stay in a casual setting, but have no need for extra hotel luxuries and services. Nevertheless, our hotels boast modern design and perfect functionality. All our rooms come with a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, an electric kettle, TV, refrigerator, hairdryer, a convenient desk and a wardrobe. The rooms have oak parquet flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Basic Hotel Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing