We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very decent Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pascal Mat & Vin

Pascal Mat & Vin
Ranked #151 of 370 Restaurants in Bergen
Price range: US$12 - US$49
Cuisines: European, Norwegian, International, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pay a visit to our popular restaurant, Pascal Mat & Vin, for a great lunch or dinner experience at Scandic Neptun hotel in Bergen.Pascal Mat & Vin is an informal and continentally-inspired bistro at street level. Here you'll have a good view of Bergen's street life while enjoying our exquisite lunch menu during the day or our exciting à la carte menu in the evening
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very decent Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My girlfriend and I had a lunch here when arriving in Bergen, and we both enjoyed the light (but adequate in size) and inexpensive Cezar´s salad. Recommendable. But 50 kroner for a 0.33 Coca cola was, even for Norwegian prices, a turnoff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank globelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Pascal Mat & Vin, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear that enjoyd our Ceasers Salad - it is quite nice:) Unfortunately I must agree that paying NOK 50,- for a 0.33 Coca Cola is rather much, I´ll pass your comments on to the F&B Manager..

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Pascal Mat & Vin

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    37
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Limited menu, but great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Scandic Neptun for a week and a half or so, & we ended up eating here twice. The menu is a bit thin, but what they do have all seems to be excellent. Between our two visits, my family members and I had a variety of food, including: monkfish, pork, salmon, mussels, rump steak,& veal. The meals were a bit spendy (but what isn't in Norway), but the portions and quality were fantastic. We all cleared our plates or came close to it, and we all left happy and full. Also, the service was pretty good & the staff was happy to accommodate our party of 7 even when the restaurant was pretty busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alli811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Pascal Mat & Vin, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your review!
So lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visits to Pascal! Thank you for using Tripadvisor to let us know - we really appreciate it!

Wish you a great summer and welcome back to Pascal Mat & Vin!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“Good food, very limited choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We've just had a dinner at Pascal, nicely located and cosy place. Colonialen was closed, Spisekroken was looking nice, but tables are too close - seems like no privacy at all.
The choice is very limited:
3 dishes of "sea" category - pollock (was out), cod fish and salmon (in yougurt sauce with raisins ),
3 dishes of "land" category,
2 soups - mussel soup and asparagus soup (was also out),
4-5 deserts.

We've taken mussel soup (~165Kr), cod (~285Kr) and creme brulee (~155Kr). Soup was too salty for us, the rest was very good.

The service was very nice.
The view is good if you sit next to windows (you can see part of the port).

Verdict: a good restaurant, although with very limited choice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Pascal Mat & Vin, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a nice visit to Pascal and hope to see you back again.

Best regards

Scandic Neptun & Pascal
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimingham
Level Contributor
190 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD SERVED WITH CHARM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

For Norway, excellent value £150 for three courses for two with wine. I had Fish Casserole which was really good

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank YvonneNBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Pascal Mat & Vin, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Pascal Mat & Vin - and thanks for your nice comments on the fish casserole. Nice to hear that is was served with charme:)

Welcome back to Pascal Mat & Vin!


Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogne Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fish soup with a twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Order the fish plate. It is really an overloaded fish soup based on the local soup recipe

Do not waste your time on meat dishes

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Per_FNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Pascal Mat & Vin, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyd your visit to our restaurant Pascal Mat & Vin! Tomorrow we are opening a brand new restaurant, right next to the new reception - maybe you can try Restaurant Entré next time you visit us.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun and Neptun Restauranter!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun
Birte Iversen

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pascal Mat & Vin also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Pascal Mat & Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing