We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - best b&b in Bergen”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AnneHelene's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AnneHelene's B&B
Ranked #8 of 22 Bergen B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent - best b&b in Bergen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

This is the best possible place to stay in Bergen.
There is one room at ground floor with its private bathroom.
The owner, Anne, is extremely kind and she does every effort to make you feel comfortable during your stay.
There is a computer for guests to connect to the internet in the guest room.
if you feel cold there is an excellent underfloor heating.
I would advise to choose to have breakfast there (NOK 100 per day) because it's very good and very abundant.

Room Tip: There is one room, you can't get it wrong; but it's very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thruth_warden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
25
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Just needed a one night stay, without breakfast, and wanted to try Anne Helene`s B&B, after having read so many positive reviews. Here is another! The neighbourhood is simply adorable, with the old neat, nicely kept houses, typical for the city, with narrow streets of paved stones.
Although the B&B is close to everything, it`s incredibly quiet. You don`t hear a traffic sound for instance. The room and the bathroom are very well equiped to the least detail, everything functioning very well. And like many others have written before, the colours, the details are so beautiful and artistic.
This is a place I warmly can recommend. Next time I shall also try the breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inger565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

excellent breakfast, with a very nice presentation, and wonderful location in the heart of historical centre!the room is small but comfortable, and the bathroom too. there is also a mac in the room, free to use. we've appreciated the colours of the building, inside and outside. it's very nearby the attracctions of Bergen.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We were only able to stay at Anne Helene's for one night, unfortunately, as she was booked the other two nights were were planning on staying in Bergen. We also passed on the breakfast, because we were on a budget, but if I have a chance to visit again, I would definitely order it since it seemed to be a big hit in the guestbook! We walked from the car rental place on Nysgardsgaten, south of the train station, which was quite a hike with our heavy bags. Did a similar walk to the train station the next day! Took 20 minutes, but was definitely doable. The B&B is maybe 10-15 minutes walk to the touristy area of the harbor, but close to the aquarium and some nice parks. The location is very adorable, with little cobbled streets and alleys, wooden houses, nice flowers. I just loved walking the streets around the B&B. And the place itself is SO CUTE.

Our accommodation was great. The bedroom was small but big enough for us... we kept most of our bags in the hallway and would just get out what we needed when we needed it. There was a tv, and Anne also provided a mac computer with free internet (or you could just use the internet on your own computer). Coffee or tea was available. The bathroom next door had a washing machine, shower, and bathtub, and was clean and decorated so well. I loved the colors throughout the rooms we saw. All of the art and design, the painted trims, the pillows, everything was so perfectly suited together. If I ever own an old house someday, I would love to take some tips from Anne!

I would definitely stay here again, if the room is available. I'm sorry we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

If you are fed up with standardized hotel rooms, and are looking for a place where the owner's artistic flair are part and parcel of the experience, this is ideal for you! Set within the maze of charming cobbled streets of Nordnes, near the artist location of Verftet, you are within a five-ten minutes walk to all the major attractions. There is only one room for let as a single or double, with your own bathroom, and with the option of a lovely breakfast. The interior decorating I found fascinating as every detail (many of those!) reflected the character of the charismatic owner. Full of soul, clean and comfortable I only wished I could stay longer, and had brought my wife for a weekend in Bergen. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasarnesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I recommend Anne Guest House, full of pastel colors and gentle sounding music. Anne is a very interesting person, she is writing screenplays. She is talking about himself and Norway very interesting. Anne prepared for us a wonderful breakfast, delicious and beautifully presented. We are under the spell of this beautiful and friendly women.
Greetings to you dear Anne and we recommend to all stay in your home under an angel. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atteloiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Bergen just made it onto the "must go back to" list and AnneHelene's B&B is one of the reasons. The room is very small, it's true. (You probably couldn't swing a dead cat in there. Why people wish to swing dead cats is beyond me.) It was also big enough for us. We had the best sleep of our trip there on a new, very comfortable mattress. Coffee, tea and chocolates are a very nice touch. (There's also a new TV, although why anyone would watch TV when visiting Bergen is also beyond me.) The bathroom is perfect, shower and bathtub have plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Relaxing on the deck should not be missed. AnneHelene's B&B is a funky little place, warm and inviting. But the bonus was Anne Helene herself, an easygoing, generous hostess with a fascinating background. Meeting her added an unexpected sparkle to our stay.

Room Tip: Although it was a relatively short distance from the Flybussen stop, it was worth the money to hire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S2MacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AnneHelene's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnneHelene's B&B

Property: AnneHelene's B&B
Address: Nedre Strangehagen 8, Bergen 5011, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annehelene's B&B offers a small, but nice room adjoining private entrance and bathroom in a new part of an old wooden house at Nordnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your AnneHelene's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing