We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Characterful property with a charming host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AnneHelene's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AnneHelene's B&B
Ranked #8 of 22 Bergen B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Characterful property with a charming host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night in April and was more than happy. Anne Helene's service before my arrival was faultless and she provided me with a great map that was invaluable. The house is in a great area, full of characterful wood properties and only 10 mins walk from the domestic ferry terminal and Torget area. There's no denying the room is small and if there are 2 of you with lots of luggage it could be a logistical challenge. But there are plenty of things to make up for this. A great selection of hot drinks provided, TV, super bathroom amenities and breakfast that will keep you going all day! Breakfast is a complete must, I have never seen such a spread and such variety - don't miss it. This is a chance to stay in a very eclectic, arty, traditional house with bags of character and experience true Norway. If you feel comforted by the familiarity of bland chain hotels then this won't be the place for you if you want something different this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
25
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Cloud, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for two nights (first and last days in Norway) at Anne Helene's B&B. The house is perfectly located very close to the town centre and the touristic area. The room is a bit small but well equipped, with a small tea/coffee service aside breakfast, a computer is even available, so perfect for a couple on a short visit. The atmosphere is extremely colorful (you somewhat feel like in a fairy tale!) and the host very welcoming. Breakfast is served in the equally colorful living room, the food list being quite exhaustive. As for price, it seems appropriate to Norway's standards (so a bit expensive for French standards but not overly so).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine_and_Romain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
263 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

You're staying in a room on the ground floor of a local house in a real neighborhood (not in the tourist area) But just 10 minutes by foot to the heart of town. The room is private and feels separate from the house with its own entrance. You have everything you need, wifi, laptop, coffee/tea, bathroom amenities, etc

The key thing to note is the room is very very small. Really, it just fits the double bed (yes, it is a sofa bed) and nothing else. You keep your luggage outside the bathroom by the door to the outside. The bathroom is spacious with shower and tub. So, for us, it was a good deal for one night. I don't think we'd be able to stay longer as you really can't unpack at all.

We read that breakfast is great but we're not huge breakfast eaters so picking up a pastry and coffee at Godt Brod bakery was fine for us and better-priced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwijndrecht, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in the B&B of Anne Helene for a week, we chose it on basis of the very positive reviews which she got already on Tripadvisor, and another reason was the price, which is réally very good in comparison of the for us really ridiculously expensive accomodations in Bergen! It was a pleasure for us to stay there, the room is not big, but you’ve place enough to store everything, and you get things which you even don’t get in this very expensive hotels: there’s wifi, Anne Helene provides a laptop to use, and the whole downstairs is for you, it’s like an own tiny little house. A very nice spacious bathroom in which you can choose between a shower and a bath, and everything is very artistically decorated in colours which just make you happy!
Privacy you get a lot, Anne Helene makes you feel at home, and she knows to keep a good balance between privacy and keeping also a good contact with her guests, without touching the privacy. A small chat in the morning, and in the evening when we got home (that’s how it felt). When we went on a daytour and had to start too early in the morning to have breakfast, we even got from her a bag with a sweet post-it on it to wish us a nice trip, containing a luxury huge breakfast made with a lot of love, as we got from her every morning: boiled eggs, several types of breads, a lot of healthy great presented fruits, cherry tomatoes, smoked salmon, melon with parmaham, juices, yoghurts, marmelades, several types of cheese, cornflakes, very healthy things, and very expensive things in between, this breakfast was really amazing! It’s really a must to take breakfast when you stay there!
And then the pearl of that B&B: Anne Helene herself! She’s a very sweet personality, always ready to help, very interested in her guests, full of stories and also great advises of nice places to see, which you otherwise would never discover!
For us there’s no better place to go in Bergen then to Anne Helene, a B&B which by the way lies in the old part of the town, which is full of old houses painted in nice colours, and pituresque streets! It’s only 10 minutes walk max to the city centre, it’s very centrally located. Very charmy accomodation on a very charmy place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corinne19802013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stayed with Anne-Helene for 3 nights in Bergen. We had booked this B&B based on other positive reviews on Trip Advisor but were, unfortunately, very disappointed with our stay. The room itself is tiny and very cramped with furniture - there's no space for bags or suitcases and no wardrobe for your clothes - it was more claustrophobic than cosy. There's no privacy either as you cannot lock the door. The "bed" is essentially just a fold out sofa bed which was certainly not as comfortable as we would have liked. The room itself was dusty and damp. As nice, welcoming and friendly as Anne-Helene is, we were so disappointed with our stay that we would not recommend this place to anyone (unless you like the idea of staying in someone's musty spare room). Also be aware that, whilst the neighbourhood the house is in is gorgeous (lots of old houses and cobbled streets), it is a long way from the train station and cruise ship terminal, up some steep hills. If you're arriving either by train or ship, be prepared to catch a taxi or do some serious hiking up hills, dragging your suitcase behind you (as we didi!). Basically there are better options in Bergen for around the same price.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Anne was a lovely host very helpful with everything. The house is located in a great picturesque neighborhood not far from the city center. The room is not big but it's very cozy and comfortable, lovely bathroom and very clean. We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missVr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Like Jane M, we were really delighted to have stayed at Anne Helene's B&B rather than a typical hotel. Cozy, comfortable and very well located. Situated in the most beautiful and authentic part of Bergen, very quiet (good nights) and easy to walk to the centre (10 minutes). We missed the breakfast because we thought it was too expensive for us, but Norway appeared to be expensive everywhere and all we read about the superb breakfast in the guestbook makes us jealous, so take it with Anne Helene! The room is really tiny but well equipped and the bathroom is spacious with shower ánd bath. You don't have to bring coffee, tea, shampoo, bath gel: everything provided. Anne is a very bright and colourful person and her house breathes warmth and global citizenship. We felt at ease, at home and welcome. If you like something special, characteristic: go for it!

Room Tip: Quiet and cozy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#14 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AnneHelene's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnneHelene's B&B

Property: AnneHelene's B&B
Address: Nedre Strangehagen 8, Bergen 5011, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annehelene's B&B offers a small, but nice room adjoining private entrance and bathroom in a new part of an old wooden house at Nordnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your AnneHelene's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing