We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B meets Serviced Appt” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bergen Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bergen Apartments
Ranked #6 of 22 Bergen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“B&B meets Serviced Appt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The other reviewers have summarised this little place accurately. It is indeed a quirky comfy B&B right in the heart of the small town of Bergen - so easy access to everything. But as an old place, it isn't well insulated and you will hear your fellow guests padding to the bathroom in the middle of the night. What perhaps makes this a little different is that you can come and go as you please and use the place as a base during your stay. Added to this is the charming friendly young couple that run the place (but aren't obtrusive) who can't do enough for you.
Highly recommended - but don't come with chain hotel expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms at back can be quieter as there is a paintball place opposite (which closes at 11pm).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Empathology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
42
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here for 2nights in July. Th b&b has 3 rooms a double on the first floor and a double and twin on the second floor. We had the double room on the second floor. The Room was very clean ,a lovely comfy bed, free WiFi and a reasonable size. The bathrooms are shared. This is an old house with odd shaped rooms and twisty staircases etc but this adds to its charm.The b&b is about 10mins walk from the train station . The lovely couple cannot do enough for you. They carried are bags up and down stairs and stored them until we left. There are drinks machines in the kitchen so you could get a drink of tea or orange anytime. The kitchen was available to use and a guest fridge is provided this meant we were able to cook a meal and keep drinks cold. The breakfast was very nice with a nice choice. We travelled for a week staying at 4 other hotels and I would definitely recommend this place. If you have problems with your mobility and stairs this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was traveling with a friend and arrived late in the afternoon. The location is perfect - on an adorable side street off the main pedestrian road, about 2 blocks from the fish market area on the harbor. We went out for dinner and a drink and came back to homemade waffles and jam that the owner had made as a late night snack. The breakfast was great for such a small b&b (3 total rooms). We were only there for two nights but I would definitely go back to spend some more time in Bergen and stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent two nights in the B&B. There are only two rooms. The owners , a very nice young couple, carried our bags up the narrow stairway. Our room was the smaller of the two. It had sloped ceilings, so if you are over 5'7" you'll bump your head.... so be sure to take the larger room. Our breakfast was wonderful and we went to the local market around the corner to get food for lunch which can be stored in the guest fridge.
We were going on a two day fjord tour and they stored our luggage so we only had to carry hand-baggage. Then, they even delivered our bags to another B&B where we stayed after the fjords.Talk about "full-service!"
The directions they give to find the B&B are very accurate. We walked the 15 minutes from the train station. It's only 5 minutes to the main docks - tourist areas. We recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duffymchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I spent only one night, but it was a pleasure. I arrived at Bergen railroad station 23:15, and the owner actually picked me up at the station and drove me to the door. The rooms are simple, but nice and clean. The bed was amazing. There was free high-speed Internet connection and TV with Norwegian and international channels. The staff was also flexible with storing my luggage the day after. The owner, Kristian was nice and polite. I would recommend this location to everyone that is searching for an affordable place to stay in Bergen.


Aleksander Hansen

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AleksanderHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Although it was a climb to the 3rd floor room, the friendly and accommodating host transported luggage up and down the stairs. Very clean and comfortable. Smell of homemade waffles greeted the morning. Host was helpful regarding local attractions and transportation.Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Not handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Wonderful little B&B. The owners went out of their way to welcome us, and make our trip to Bergen enjoyable. Provided some great insight into the Bergen area and some tips on local restaurants. Each day starts with expertly-cooked waffles by Kristian, as well as cold meats and bread.
The rooms were well laid out and cosy.
2 bathrooms shared between 3 bedrooms, but were clean, spacious and this was never an inconvenience.
Unlimited coffee and juice were a bonus, and the kitchen was clean and well maintained.
Location was fantastic, very close to the pier and the fish market.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomF878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#11 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergen Apartments

Property: Bergen Apartments
Address: Hennebysmauet 9, Bergen 5005, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bergen Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bergen Apartments is perfect if you are looking for an affordable accomadation in Bergen. Bergen Apartments do not have a 24 hour front desk service but it has a self check in system which is easy to use. There are many great attractions nearby, including Hanseatic Museum, St Mary's Church, Grieg Hall and Mt. Floyen. Also close by are Bryggen Waterfront and Fishmarket. Bergen Apartments offers complimentary wireless Internet access.Parking facilities are nearby.Instructions and directions will be sent on e-mail prior to your arrival. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing