We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
43
28
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
28
7
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Kristian and kristina bought this place 3 years ago and did such a good job of renovating it. You can see the labor of love around the place

the b&b has 3 rooms and 2 shared bathrooms and I would recommend getting the biggest and slightly more expensive room because...
1. its located on the 2nd floor so you do not need to take the steep staircase leading to the 2nd and 3rd rooms.
2. its right beside the bathrooms so you do not need to worry about stumbling down the staircase just to get to the toilets.
3. walking around the 2nd floor area is less noisy. I stayed in the 2nd room and I can hear voices from the 3rd room.
4. the 3rd floor walls are dirty looking from all the scratches that must've been from their guest's luggages (yes its that narrow)

breakfast consisted of cheese, salami, two kinds of salad and boiled eggs. We had pancakes/ waffles on the second day but maybe they can add some warm dishes like scrambled eggs next time.

Overall, the place has character. the owners are friendly but not intrusive. its in a great location being in one of the laneways that bergen is famous for. A few mins walk and you are right by the harbour and fish market.

Room Tip: choose the biggest and most expensive room. its worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papemelroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The other reviewers have summarised this little place accurately. It is indeed a quirky comfy B&B right in the heart of the small town of Bergen - so easy access to everything. But as an old place, it isn't well insulated and you will hear your fellow guests padding to the bathroom in the middle of the night. What perhaps makes this a little different is that you can come and go as you please and use the place as a base during your stay. Added to this is the charming friendly young couple that run the place (but aren't obtrusive) who can't do enough for you.
Highly recommended - but don't come with chain hotel expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms at back can be quieter as there is a paintball place opposite (which closes at 11pm).
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empathology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here for 2nights in July. Th b&b has 3 rooms a double on the first floor and a double and twin on the second floor. We had the double room on the second floor. The Room was very clean ,a lovely comfy bed, free WiFi and a reasonable size. The bathrooms are shared. This is an old house with odd shaped rooms and twisty staircases etc but this adds to its charm.The b&b is about 10mins walk from the train station . The lovely couple cannot do enough for you. They carried are bags up and down stairs and stored them until we left. There are drinks machines in the kitchen so you could get a drink of tea or orange anytime. The kitchen was available to use and a guest fridge is provided this meant we were able to cook a meal and keep drinks cold. The breakfast was very nice with a nice choice. We travelled for a week staying at 4 other hotels and I would definitely recommend this place. If you have problems with your mobility and stairs this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was traveling with a friend and arrived late in the afternoon. The location is perfect - on an adorable side street off the main pedestrian road, about 2 blocks from the fish market area on the harbor. We went out for dinner and a drink and came back to homemade waffles and jam that the owner had made as a late night snack. The breakfast was great for such a small b&b (3 total rooms). We were only there for two nights but I would definitely go back to spend some more time in Bergen and stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent two nights in the B&B. There are only two rooms. The owners , a very nice young couple, carried our bags up the narrow stairway. Our room was the smaller of the two. It had sloped ceilings, so if you are over 5'7" you'll bump your head.... so be sure to take the larger room. Our breakfast was wonderful and we went to the local market around the corner to get food for lunch which can be stored in the guest fridge.
We were going on a two day fjord tour and they stored our luggage so we only had to carry hand-baggage. Then, they even delivered our bags to another B&B where we stayed after the fjords.Talk about "full-service!"
The directions they give to find the B&B are very accurate. We walked the 15 minutes from the train station. It's only 5 minutes to the main docks - tourist areas. We recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duffymchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews