We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming location in a charming city.”
Review of Bergen Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bergen Apartments
Ranked #6 of 19 Bergen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

After a 10 minute walk from the train station we found the very steep laneway the bed and breakfast is on. Comfortable room. Shared bathroom was very tidy. Self serve breakfast. The kitchen was available to use throughout the day. Great idea as eating out is expensive.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dcjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Pros:
Central location, about a 5 minute walk to the wharf.
Comfortable albeit tight and small rooms.
Good value for money, in an expensive country.
Cons:
This place isn't your typical bed and breakfast, not by UK standards at least. We stayed 2 nights here and although no specific problems, I wanted to highlight that this place is a hostel more so than a bed and breakfast. We met the owner once during the stay, friendly guy not your usual -bed and breakfast interested in your stay -owner.
We didn't mind this so much but might concern you?

Although we stayed at the end of April, there was limited breakfast available, some juices, coffee and muesli - expected a little more, but oh well.
PS: Be ready to climb a spiral and tight staircase to your room!

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the first floor and much bigger in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qartik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My friend and I stayed in the self-catered apartment for the weekend, which was great. We made breakfast in each morning using the appliances available and dinner when we decided not to eat out and try and keep costs down. It was a very quiet area, and a comfy bed, with a good shower, which is always an uncertainty when staying in a hotel! Would definitely recommend and go back if I stayed in Bergen again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The cost in Norway is quite expensive, especially in this beautiful seaside city Bergen. So we chose this B&B based on its quite good reviews and mid range price. (More than we paid for a decent hotel in Oslo which also provides amazing breakfast.) It was a bit weird that we never met the owner during our stay. Everything seemed quite remote but under the control. The whole experience was quite unusual, with shared bathroom, absent owner, video camera, code for the front door etc. Also because it was in the low season, no breakfast was served. Only some cereals, milk and juice. Not complaining since it was all stated in the welcome e-mail. However, it still left us a bit disappointed comparing with the B&B we stayed in the UK. It’s all a bit distant and too cool to dwell.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverland0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived a little early. Fortunately the Owner? Was on site and said we could have our room straight away , offered to help us carry our luggage from the car and advice were we could park for free.
Our room was accessed via a very narrow spiral staircase . This B&B in my view is not suitable for people who may have difficulty going up stairs. Fortunately I am fit as a fiddle and had no such problems.
The room was very clean, excellently decorated with brilliant TV . No road noise on our visit . The bed was very comfortable . We had to share the Loo with the people upstairs so had to put on trousers so as not to upset neighbours .
Very centrally located and we popped in and out of this delightful B&B all day long.
No breakfast was available on our visit as it was low season. This was advised.
For the price we paid it was an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Room1 a was a delight
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GezenBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in apartment 1. It was the perfect base for our holiday. Couldn't ask for a better location - 30 seconds walk to the fish market and main harbour, nice restaurants and all the local tourist attractions. The room had a comfy bed, big TV, small but adequate kitchen, and big bathroom with a hot powerful shower. Having your own kitchen was great as food is very expensive in Bergen and we made our own breakfast and lunch everyday which saved us a bundle. It was also nice to come home to a cup of tea!

I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. It's quite a compact apartment so make sure you are close (ie, a couple or best friends) as you don't have much personal space, but it was lovely and cosy!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Charming little house with 3 rooms. House has lots of character with rickety spiral staircases. Rooms including bathroom and kitchen all spotless and tastefully furnished. Little to fault. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank gavin7094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Basic Hotel Bergen
#31 of 49 in Bergen
414 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#3 of 49 in Bergen
571 reviews
Marken Gjestehus
#1 of 32 in Bergen
380 reviews
Vågen
To Sostre Guesthouse
To Sostre Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Bergen
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergen Apartments

Address: Hennebysmauet 9, Bergen 5005, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Price Range: £454 - £908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bergen Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bergen Apartments is perfect if you are looking for an affordable accomadation in Bergen. Bergen Apartments do not have a 24 hour front desk service but it has a self check in system which is easy to use. There are many great attractions nearby, including Hanseatic Museum, St Mary's Church, Grieg Hall and Mt. Floyen. Also close by are Bryggen Waterfront and Fishmarket. Bergen Apartments offers complimentary wireless Internet access.Parking facilities are nearby.Instructions and directions will be sent on e-mail prior to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Bergen Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing