We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is located within 5 minutes walking from Information Center and Fish Market, but a little off the main drag. Our room with a double bed was small, but the bathroom was of adequate size and very nice. Breakfast by American standard is excellent, but by Scandinavian norm is just good. Check-in and check-out was fast and efficient. Staff is very helpful and attentive. Free and fast WiFi in the rooms. There is also a computer and printer in the lobby. Flybuss to Bergen airport stops just in front of the hotel, which is very convenient.
The hotel is undergoing a face-lift at the moment, so it is covered in scaffolds and plastic sheets from outside. Overall, an OK stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I had need to stay for a few days in Bergen on two occasions separated by just three days. We first booked the Best Western for the first visit and later picked a higher star-rated hotel discovered at a lower price for the second stay. The second hotel (Scandic Neptun - see separate review) was much better.

On a positive note, the staff at the Best Western were generally friendly, but the lobby which includes the breakfast area is very cramped and over-full during our visit. The room provided to us was at the far end of the floor 2 corridor, up a small flight of stairs requiring bags to be lifted over these. The room was extremely small. Furnishings were minimal -- a narrow built-in wardrobe, small bedside tables, a slim desk and one upright chair. We had to deposit our bags at the foot of the small double bed and step over them to access the attached shower room. This was equally small, with tight fitting shower cubicle and handbasin. The shower proved to have major temperature fluctuations.

There was no refreshment facility in the room, but the breakfast area did provide complimentary coffee and tea at all times, and this was well maintained.

During our stay, the situation was not helped by renovations that required plastic-draped scaffolding around the exterior, so that the view from our window was only of this plastic sheeting, or the occasional workman walking along! They started work quite early, so we were awakened to an assortment of drilling, hammering etc.

I did note that many of the rooms in the hotel appeared to be significantly larger and better furnished than the one allocated to us. However, the hotel was clearly full and we were not offered any alternative to this very inferior room.

We rented a car for a couple of days. One redeeming feature is that there are some free roadside parking bays outside - but only from 5pm to 8am, when the cars need to be removed. Closest multi-storey car park is around a 10 minute walk away.

The hotel is quite close to the harbour and other central areas, but other hotels are closer still and from personal experience, much better can be found without paying more -- actually less. I have only stayed in two, but the Scandic Neptun is far superior to this Best Western.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, avoid rooms 207 / 208 and possibly similar rooms on other floors that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve_48098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel was surrounded by scaffolds, and hard to identify. The room was too small for three adults, but the very friendly staff managed to upgrade us to a bigger room at no charge. Nevertheless, the facility is too old, and requires updating. The pull out sofa was old, it did not provide a flat surface, and creaked. So did some locations of the floor. Breakfast was reasonable, but the selection was quite limited when compared to similarly-priced hotels. The dining room was too crowded, and the tables were too close to each other. We came for breakfast at 9 am, and the hot food items were getting cold. So, go early. Again, the staff were very helpful, and did the best to make us feel good.

Room Tip: I suppose that you have to be lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelber155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a single room for just one night. The room and the bed were both very small, but clean and sufficient. The breakfast buffet was very decent with lots to choose from, at times however just slightly packed.
It's only a short walk to attractions and shopping. On weekends you can street park in front of the hotel. All in all a hotel I would return to.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

In October 2012 I booked 3 double rooms for 3night stay to attend family wedding in June. 2013. After rooms were all paid for in May 2013 through Trivago/Olotels I emailed the hotel asking that our rooms would be beside each other. No reply was forthcoming so I sent an email 2 days later. Still no reply so decided to phone directly.
The hotel had only ONE room reserved for us -------and only 10 days to wedding. I had the booking form which had stated 3 double rooms for 3 nights.
Panic, .........they said they would phone back. True to their word they emailed to say there were 3 rooms for our group and in 2 emails they reassured me they would beside each other.
One was at front of building room 500, another down side of building room 509 and the other at the back in the pokiest wee room possible room 520 and bathroom smelly.
On arrival at 7.30pm after a long day travelling there was neither availability of food or drink in. the hotel so had to trek out again to find something.
I asked at reception to see if we could have rooms beside each other as promised. I was told all rooms in between were all SINGLE rooms????? Didn't think it was profitable for hotels to have so many single rooms?
Monday morning workmen were removing plaster from outer walls of building so the drilling started at 6am and boy did it vibrate round the building.

We didn't get what we were promised,
room 520 should be registered as single not double.

If booking this hotel confirm verbally that they have your booking and bring ear plugs. We wouldn't go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take room 520. check your reservation is correct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leirfmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A nice , not too expencive, hotel near the center of Bergen. Clean room , great beds , ok breakfast. it takes about 10min to walk to Torgalmenningen , the same to Bryggen , and to the akvariet. Aks for a room at the backside of the hotel , because of some noise from traffic.
I will return to this hotel next time I visit Bergen.

Room Tip: High and on the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jens T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Hordaheimen is located a little bit "off the map" in the centre of the city, but still only a 5 - 8 minute walk away from most attractions in central Bergen. The standard is simple and cannot compete with most other hotels, but this is reflected in the price. My room was small, but clean and quiet. There was plenty of hot water in shower. The norm in Norway is that breakfast is included in the price and this was also the case here. Again; the breakfast was simple, but good and with enough choices. If you're after a place to sleep and a simple breakfast without paying through the nose; this is a good place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kropell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
744 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#27 of 49 in Bergen
57 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 49 in Bergen
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen

Address: C. Sundtsgate 18, Bergen 5004, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £87 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BW Hotell Hordaheimen is a tradtional Norwegian hotel from 1918. Today the hotel is a modern business hotel With 88 rooms, Conference rooms and a cosy restaurant With Authentic Norwegian country Cooking on the menu. If you travel a lot and are looking for a place to relax in a cosy atmosphere, Hordaheimen is the place for you. A home away! The hotel is located in the city centre of Bergen, Close to attractions, restaurants and shopping. Hope to see you on Your NeXT visit to Bergen! Kind Regards Ann Rita Hovden Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotell Hordaheimen Hotel Bergen
Best Western Hotel Bergen
Best Western Bergen
Bergen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing