We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Wherever
Level Contributor
209 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good Location and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Location: the hotel is within walking distance of the Tourist Information Centre (buy Bergen Card and change money); Shops; Restaurants; supermarket; and all city centre museums and galleries. It is also close to public transport and one of the airport buses stops – literally – right outside it.

Staff: without exception very friendly and helpful.

Bedroom: a reasonable size with – effectively – twin beds. There was a small desk; a small mini-bar (not suitable for putting your own purchases in). There was a table fan in the cupboard for use in the summer.

There were two armchairs – including an excellent recliner – plus an iron and ironing board and tea/coffee maker. The TV had Eurosport; BBC World; etc.

However, there were some demerits:

• Limited Clothes Storage Space: staying for five nights it would have been nice to have had some shelves on which to place my clothes;

• Main Floor: Laminated floorboards which, however carefully you tread, creak like a Hammer Horror film – I just hope that the people underneath cannot hear it; and

• Internet: free and fast but with masses of pop-ups which proved very troublesome to get rid of.


Bathroom: a good size with a large shower unit and a heated floor.

Hotel Restaurant: great meals – large and meaty - but why is it closed Friday and Saturday nights?? Why does it shut at 7pm?

Breakfast: there was a good selection of items for breakfast – including assorted fish.

Bergen: finally a few words on Bergen itself. For somewhere that gets 90”+ of rain a year you think that they would have an effective drainage system but there are puddles everywhere – including beside the pavement for careless drivers to splash the unwary. At cross roads there is often only three crossing places. If you want to cross the 4th one you have to cross roads three times – such waiting about in the pouring rain is not pleasant. File the opening times of museums etc. given in the guide book under fiction – as they will not be open when they say they are. For Scandinavia, we were both surprised at the amount of litter and graffiti.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    207
    125
    33
    21
See reviews for
69
207
49
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in The Best Western Hordaheimen in late October 2013 and again 18 to 20 November. Friendly and welcoming staff, very good hot and buffet breakfast, minutes to the centre and also Bryygen. The hotel is excellent value for money and most importantly The Flybussen / airport coach stops directly outside the door ( cost round trip airport to hotel is 140krn).
Will continue to only book with The Best Western Hotel Hordaheimen!!!

Room Tip: Flybussen airport to front door of hotel in 45 minutes at 140.00 krn return
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Room 306 is a new favorite. Only a short walk from the absolute centre off town is this nice and cozy hotel. It still has a flavour off farmers hotell with nice and solid breakfast and home made dinner. The Rooms are (306) are newly renovated perfect for a couple on a weekendtour. The rate very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Arne4580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We booked this hotel through British Airways as a flight plus hotel.
The hotel was the best of any that we have experienced whilst enjoying short breaks in European cities.
The hotel has six floors, and a restaurant that opens Monday to Thursday.
On arrival (via the excellent FlybussBergen) we were greeted in English.
The reception staff were helpful and pleased to see us. We were offered and accepted an upgrade to a superior room at an additional 200 nok per night. (about £20)
There is a lift to all floors and stairs. Our room on the 4th floor was clean and modern with laminate floor throughout with a themed colour scheme.
The Bathroom was sparkling and bright with a good sized thermostatically controlled shower. The room had a mini bar, tea and coffee maker also a room safe.
We has booked a double room but the beds were two singles together, though this seems to be the norm in Norway. The only slight annoyance was the lack of shelves for clothes so we had to live out of our cases. The wardrobe is okay for hanging clothes but no shelves are provided.
The room centrally heated with individual thermostat that did regulate the heat properly making it comfortable at all times despite the large double glazed windows that gave a good view of the street below. A large TV is provided and although no English channels some films have sub titles. The hotel does not have air conditioning though this is not a problem in November.
Room service is provided by a local Pizza restaurant. We did order one evening and it took 45 minutes to arrive. Food was hot and delicious.
The restaurant was popular with many locals eating there. The food was excellent and although my wife is Gluten Free (GF) that was not a problem. Hotel patrons get a 10% discount.
Breakfast was amazing, Scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacon, smoked salmon and a huge range of cold meats and cheeses. Something for everyone and lots of it GF bread and crackers provided as a standard alongside ordinary bread..
The easiest way to travel to Bergen from the Airport is to book online on FlybussBergen. The new red, white and blue coaches with luggage racks provide a regular service between the airport and Bergen centre. The coaches drive round the hotels and announce each one in turn. Our driver loaded our cases, then dropped us immediately outside the door of the hotel. The same happened on the way home. You can also pay on the day.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are usually on the upper floors so are quieter as they are above street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panorama_elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

First time I am submitted a review. Have use this site for years so it's time to "give back".

My wife and I travel overseas often. We rarely stay with Best Western chain, Marriott is our minimum standard. That been said, we were very impressed with this hotel. Since Norway is expensive and we only stay for 2 days in Bergen, I decided to take a chance with this Best Western. An important criteria for us with hotel is it has to be very clean and this Hotel exceeded our expectation. Room is small by U.S. standard but very functional and clean. Positives: Staff are friendly, good location, breakfast is decent enough, and airport bus stop at this hotel. The only thing to be aware is the shower stall is somewhat small. For larger person, it will be a bit squeeze.

Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The hotel's situation is excellent within easy walking distance of the harbour..
The room was of a reasonable size but the bathroom was small.Everything was scrupulously clean and warm as winter was coming.
The breakfast was excellent and we ate a good deal as Bergen is a VERY expensive place.
All the hotel staff were kind and attentive.
We would recommend this hotel.
We booked through Olotel and got a very good deal with no problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed in a family room with partner and kids. The room was reasonable. You had to contact reception for tea items which I only found out reading the room information booklet in bed after spending 23 Nok each on a cup of tea from a cafe outside. Would have expected reception to provide such information at check in.
Overall, the price paid was expensive but then so is everything else in Norway.
Breakfast was Norwegian themed; nice but with limited hot options.
If on a tight budget, then feel free to consider staying here as an option. It is a 3 minute walk from the harbour and 7 minutes from floibanen station. Well located for touring the city centre.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeWAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#14 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen
Address: C. Sundts gate 18, Bergen 5004, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotell Hordaheimen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BW Hotell Hordaheimen is a tradtional Norwegian hotel from 1918. Today the hotel is a modern business hotel With 88 rooms, Conference rooms and a cosy restaurant With Authentic Norwegian country Cooking on the menu. If you travel a lot and are looking for a place to relax in a cosy atmosphere, Hordaheimen is the place for you. A home away! The hotel is located in the city centre of Bergen, Close to attractions, restaurants and shopping. Hope to see you on Your NeXT visit to Bergen! Kind Regards Ann Rita Hovden Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotell Hordaheimen Hotel Bergen
Best Western Hotel Bergen
Best Western Bergen
Bergen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing