We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Flybussenbergen bus stops outside the hotel every15 minutes, to and from the airport. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. The rooms are cosy and clean with an adequate bathroom with basin, toilet and shower. Loads of hot water too.
This is very close to the hub of things at the marina and within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions.
Excellent breakfast to start the day.
Good price and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GKC227124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +4755335160.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. Welcome back to us at BEST WESTERN Hotell Hordaheimen!


Sincerely,

Ann Rita Hovden
Director of Sales and Marketing
BEST WESTERN Hotell Hordaheimen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My Partner and I stayed here in early January for the weekend. We found this place via booking.com and saw that it was very well priced. The location is perfect, near the fish market opposite the picturesque Byrggen. The hotel staff are very friendly and the hotel was clean and very charming. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had (considering the relatively cheap price for the two nights) the hotel also provided guests with free tea time cakes and evening soup! This was very handy as eating out can be very expensive in Norway.
We would 100% stay here again.
Great little hotel!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CarldotYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +4755335160.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. Welcome back to us at BEST WESTERN Hotell Hordaheimen!


Sincerely,

Ann Rita Hovden
Director of Sales and Marketing
BEST WESTERN Hotell Hordaheimen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It was a bit hard to find the hotel at first, but its location is pretty good. There was a plate of fruit and a bottle of sparkling water waiting for me. Although I reserved a single room, I actually got a double bed. The room was big and very comfortable. The bathroom was especially big. The staff was helpful and courteous. The breakfast was very good, second best (I stayed in 7 hotels) on my Scandinavian trip. Wifi worked well in the room

I truly believe that I got my money worth.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xiongxiong43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +4755335160.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. Welcome back to us at BEST WESTERN Hotell Hordaheimen!


Sincerely,

Ann Rita Hovden
Director of Sales and Marketing
BEST WESTERN Hotell Hordaheimen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Location: the hotel is within walking distance of the Tourist Information Centre (buy Bergen Card and change money); Shops; Restaurants; supermarket; and all city centre museums and galleries. It is also close to public transport and one of the airport buses stops – literally – right outside it.

Staff: without exception very friendly and helpful.

Bedroom: a reasonable size with – effectively – twin beds. There was a small desk; a small mini-bar (not suitable for putting your own purchases in). There was a table fan in the cupboard for use in the summer.

There were two armchairs – including an excellent recliner – plus an iron and ironing board and tea/coffee maker. The TV had Eurosport; BBC World; etc.

However, there were some demerits:

• Limited Clothes Storage Space: staying for five nights it would have been nice to have had some shelves on which to place my clothes;

• Main Floor: Laminated floorboards which, however carefully you tread, creak like a Hammer Horror film – I just hope that the people underneath cannot hear it; and

• Internet: free and fast but with masses of pop-ups which proved very troublesome to get rid of.


Bathroom: a good size with a large shower unit and a heated floor.

Hotel Restaurant: great meals – large and meaty - but why is it closed Friday and Saturday nights?? Why does it shut at 7pm?

Breakfast: there was a good selection of items for breakfast – including assorted fish.

Bergen: finally a few words on Bergen itself. For somewhere that gets 90”+ of rain a year you think that they would have an effective drainage system but there are puddles everywhere – including beside the pavement for careless drivers to splash the unwary. At cross roads there is often only three crossing places. If you want to cross the 4th one you have to cross roads three times – such waiting about in the pouring rain is not pleasant. File the opening times of museums etc. given in the guide book under fiction – as they will not be open when they say they are. For Scandinavia, we were both surprised at the amount of litter and graffiti.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GOM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in The Best Western Hordaheimen in late October 2013 and again 18 to 20 November. Friendly and welcoming staff, very good hot and buffet breakfast, minutes to the centre and also Bryygen. The hotel is excellent value for money and most importantly The Flybussen / airport coach stops directly outside the door ( cost round trip airport to hotel is 140krn).
Will continue to only book with The Best Western Hotel Hordaheimen!!!

Room Tip: Flybussen airport to front door of hotel in 45 minutes at 140.00 krn return
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Room 306 is a new favorite. Only a short walk from the absolute centre off town is this nice and cozy hotel. It still has a flavour off farmers hotell with nice and solid breakfast and home made dinner. The Rooms are (306) are newly renovated perfect for a couple on a weekendtour. The rate very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Arne4580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We booked this hotel through British Airways as a flight plus hotel.
The hotel was the best of any that we have experienced whilst enjoying short breaks in European cities.
The hotel has six floors, and a restaurant that opens Monday to Thursday.
On arrival (via the excellent FlybussBergen) we were greeted in English.
The reception staff were helpful and pleased to see us. We were offered and accepted an upgrade to a superior room at an additional 200 nok per night. (about £20)
There is a lift to all floors and stairs. Our room on the 4th floor was clean and modern with laminate floor throughout with a themed colour scheme.
The Bathroom was sparkling and bright with a good sized thermostatically controlled shower. The room had a mini bar, tea and coffee maker also a room safe.
We has booked a double room but the beds were two singles together, though this seems to be the norm in Norway. The only slight annoyance was the lack of shelves for clothes so we had to live out of our cases. The wardrobe is okay for hanging clothes but no shelves are provided.
The room centrally heated with individual thermostat that did regulate the heat properly making it comfortable at all times despite the large double glazed windows that gave a good view of the street below. A large TV is provided and although no English channels some films have sub titles. The hotel does not have air conditioning though this is not a problem in November.
Room service is provided by a local Pizza restaurant. We did order one evening and it took 45 minutes to arrive. Food was hot and delicious.
The restaurant was popular with many locals eating there. The food was excellent and although my wife is Gluten Free (GF) that was not a problem. Hotel patrons get a 10% discount.
Breakfast was amazing, Scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacon, smoked salmon and a huge range of cold meats and cheeses. Something for everyone and lots of it GF bread and crackers provided as a standard alongside ordinary bread..
The easiest way to travel to Bergen from the Airport is to book online on FlybussBergen. The new red, white and blue coaches with luggage racks provide a regular service between the airport and Bergen centre. The coaches drive round the hotels and announce each one in turn. Our driver loaded our cases, then dropped us immediately outside the door of the hotel. The same happened on the way home. You can also pay on the day.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are usually on the upper floors so are quieter as they are above street noise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank panorama_elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#16 of 49 in Bergen
734 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Strand
#35 of 49 in Bergen
720 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
924 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen

Address: C. Sundtsgate 18, Bergen 5004, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £90 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BW Hotell Hordaheimen is a tradtional Norwegian hotel from 1918. Today the hotel is a modern business hotel With 88 rooms, Conference rooms and a cosy restaurant With Authentic Norwegian country Cooking on the menu. If you travel a lot and are looking for a place to relax in a cosy atmosphere, Hordaheimen is the place for you. A home away! The hotel is located in the city centre of Bergen, Close to attractions, restaurants and shopping. Hope to see you on Your NeXT visit to Bergen! Kind Regards Ann Rita Hovden Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotell Hordaheimen Hotel Bergen
Best Western Hotel Bergen
Best Western Bergen
Bergen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing