We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bergen oasis in handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 4 May 2014

An ideal hotel for its class situated close to the centre of Bergen with Bryggen etc within easy reach. Rooms are well appointed with plenty of room to manoeuvre. In our experience over 4 nights the hotel was very quiet at night although busy.

Breakfast exceeded our expectations with very varied fare on offer.

A good value option for Bergen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi and thank you for your review.
Great to hear that you liked the location of the hotel, it is in heart of Bergen with easy access to all the city has to offer. The breakfast buffet is popular, and we do get a lot of positive feedback.
Welcome back on your nexy visit.
Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Friendly staff welcome you to this nice hotel.
The rooms are small but well designed, nice and clean, with a good bathroom.
Breakfast was generous and varied.
Easy very short walk to the main harbour and fish market.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you liked the hotel and the breakfast. We do also have bigger room you can try on your next visit to Bergen!
Welcome back to us on another occasion!

Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I enjoyed my 2 nights in this hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make guests welcome. The room I had was on the 4th floor and was small but well appointed other than a broken television. The breakfast was very good indeed and well presented. I have to say that the location of the hotel is fine and within reasonable short walk from the tourist information office and shops. The hotel is located in a nice residential area and has views towards the water. I recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for getting back to us!
Nice to hear to enjoyed your stay with us, but we are sorry about the television, and will fix it right away.
Welcome back on the next visit in Bergen!

Kind Regards
Ann Rita Hovden
Sales and Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel provided everything we needed. Room was satisfactory, average size and beds comfortable. Seemed to have been renovated quite recently and everything was fresh and well presented. Breakfasts were excellent. Location was a 15 min walk from the ferry terminal and railway station but close to the centre of town and only a few minutes away from the tourist office and main tourist sites.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review of our property.
Glad to hear you found the hotel comfortable and liked the location in the heart of Bergen.
Hope to see you again on your next trip to Bergen.

Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights back in March.
Is located near the harbour and the fish market and about 200 meters walk from where the SAS Airport bus stops / picks up.
Our room was a fairly large size and was nicely furnished.
Enjoyed the underfloor heating in the bathroom. Shame the heating in the actual bedroom didnt really work as its always seemed cold. But didnt bother us too much.
Breakfast was great. Lots to choose from and the usual hot./cold options.
We had dinner in the hotel on our first night. Which consisted of local a local dish and the buffet option meant that you could go up more than once.
Would like to stay here again if ever in Bergen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your review, your meaning matters to us.
Good to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, and would like to book again if ever in Bergen.
We have worked a lot with improving the breakfast buffet, so we are glad to hear you liked it.
Wish you a nice Easter.
Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to a Hurtigruten Northern Lights cruise (which, by the way was excellent and highly recommended!). We chose this hotel because of its location - the airport bus literally stops outside the reception door and it is a very short walk to the fish market and the Bryggen. Plus, we were able to book through Olotels for £95 B and B, which is really very cheap for Bergen.

The hotel did not disappoint. Reception was very efficient and we were quickly checked into our room - not huge but adequate. Very clean with comfortable bed and small shower room. We were given a map of the city and told where to wander to see the best sites of Bergen - Bergen by night was beautiful - and also advised where NOT to eat - very helpful.

We slept well despite having a room that overlooked the street as really there was very little traffic, and then came down to a reasonable breakfast - some hot items and the usual mixture of cold meats and fish with a good selection of bread and some pastries, good coffee. Then we left our cases in the hotel left-luggage area before spending the day exploring Bergen. We then caught a taxi - arranged by the hotel reception - to the ferry terminal 133NOK, much cheaper than booking the Hurtigruten coach transfer.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, even saying that we could leave our cases in their left-luggage area when we returned from our cruise before we caught our evening flight home!

All-in-all a hotel to recommend - yes, it's not luxurious and perhaps a little dated, but it has everything you need and at a reasonable price. I think you'd be hard pressed to find a better option for a short-stay in bergen.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi and thank you for the review!
I am glad you found BW Hotell Hordaheimen as a good choice for your stay in Bergen!
Good to hear that you found the staff at the Front Desk helpful, it is important to us.
We aim to be like a second home for travellers, a hotel with a relaxed atmosphere.
Welcome back on your next visit!

Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed there for one night, and was very content. The room was nice and spatious for the 4 of us(2 adults, 2 children), the bathroom functional og the bed was comfy. Breakfast was not out of the ordinary, but not bad either. The location of the hotel is good, just a short stroll from Torgallmenningen. Could have wished for the evening buffet to be available in weekends, but unfortunaly it is served only from Mondays through Thursdays. Good value for Money, would be happy to stay there again. Good service, and they were quick to answer the enquiry I sent them on e-mail.

Room Tip: Had a Family room (200), spatious and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlopsyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014
Google Translation

Takk for tilbakemeldinga!
Kjekt å høyre at de hadde eit triveleg opphald her hos oss.
Velkomen att ved eit anna høve.

Med venleg helsing
Ann Rita Hovden
Sals og marknadsdirektør

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
751 reviews
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 49 in Bergen
1,327 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 49 in Bergen
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#27 of 49 in Bergen
66 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 49 in Bergen
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen

Address: C. Sundts gate 18, Bergen 5004, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £88 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BW Hotell Hordaheimen is a tradtional Norwegian hotel from 1918. Today the hotel is a modern business hotel With 88 rooms, Conference rooms and a cosy restaurant With Authentic Norwegian country Cooking on the menu. If you travel a lot and are looking for a place to relax in a cosy atmosphere, Hordaheimen is the place for you. A home away! The hotel is located in the city centre of Bergen, Close to attractions, restaurants and shopping. Hope to see you on Your NeXT visit to Bergen! Kind Regards Ann Rita Hovden Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotell Hordaheimen Hotel Bergen
Best Western Hotel Bergen
Best Western Bergen
Bergen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing