We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average is the word.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This Best Western is nothing special. Which is too bad because it is located in a nice location. Perhaps that is why it is on the pricey side but not delivering in value. All of central Bergen is very concentrated so walking from most hotels will not be a problem. This Best Western however is located on the quieter south-west side of the main square and so it is very quiet at night.

It looked like the hotel had a recent face-lift in an older building. The quality of the work however was not professionally done. For example there were lose cable (for tv?) run along the corner and edge of the floor, some part hidden in cable channels. The room we had was tiny. And we are not even big people. So I don't know how Norwegian built people would feel sleeping in these tiny rooms. We ate the dinner buffet there and it was just okay. The salad was fresh but the lamb shanks were dry and not good at all. Breakfast was limited and nothing memorable compared to other hotels we stayed at on this Scandinavian trip. The heated bathroom floor was a nice touch and the staff were friendly. We were able to leave our luggage in the luggage room to do a day trip before leaving Bergen. Overall though we thought it was pricey side for what we got.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. It is sad to read that you weren`t satisfied with the rooms.
As you mentioned the whole hotel is totally refurbished, and as the building is in jugendstyle, the shape and sizes of the rooms are very different, I wish you told us that you found the room small when you stayed with us, then we have tried to give you another alternative.
Regarding breakfast, we do get a lot of good feedback on the buffet, and it is an upgraded breakfast compared to a lot of the other Norwgian chain hotels.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +4755335107

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

A family-run Best Western hotel, located within walking distance of the main sites in Bergen. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, going out of their way to provide a good service. The hotel may lack some of the facilities of its larger sister Best Western hotels, but still manages to deliver. Whilst the bathroom was compact, the bedroom's overall size was larger than expected. There was a reasonable selection of hot and cold food at breakfast, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. I would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patmiker2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you Mike for getting back to us.
Nice to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and found the staff helpful.
We do have the best beds available on the Norwegian market, so it is nice to hear they were comfortable. Welcome back to Bergen and BW Hotell Hordaheimen on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is located near the fish market and the tourist information office. It is also close to transportation. The staff is very accommodating and polite. The room is quite small, better suited to a single than a double. The shower is better suited to a hamster. Breakfast is traditional European but with somewhat fewer choices. They offer a smorgasbord for dinner that is a special deal of 155 kroners (about $30). It only offers one meat. The night we ate there it was unseasoned fish. Beds are comfortable and the place is quiet, so it met our needs with absolutely no frills, except breakfast. What the heck, breakfast is standard in Europe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi and thank you for your review!
As the hotel building is a jugend building, we do have rooms of any shape and size.
You probably stayed in one of the smallest. Good thing that the beds were comfortable and the staff helpful, that is important to us.
Welcome back on another occasion, we will provide a bigger room on your next visit.
I wish you a nice and warm summer!

Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at numerous Best Westerns when away on business, we are less than impressed by this one.
We expected the following from a Best Western in Bergen and it has so far failed to deliver:
1. A shelf in our superior room to store our clothes on, a necessity for any traveller.
2. A working safe on arrival in our superior room. We had to get this fixed by reception upon arrival. It should have been checked, not acceptable on an upgraded room.
3. My partner not being tripped up on his way down to breakfast by a vacuum cleaner wire which was left by a careless cleaner in the hall. A health and safety hazard - unacceptable.
4. Impolite staff - a lady waiting on our table at breakfast on 27th May at 9am, was impolite when I asked twice for some fresh bacon.

So far I am extremely dissatisfied with my stay, this has taken the edge off our stay in Bergen.

I hope the hotel takes our feedback on board and attempts to improve my now tarnished view of Best Western.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steveo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi and thank you for getting back to us.
We would like to hear from our guests, even if the feedback is not as good as we hoped.
I have checked with the staff, and the front desk officer informed me about the issues with the safe. Problems do accure, and the safe should have been checked upon arrival. The problem was however fixed 5 minutes after rapported. When it comes to the breakfast, we do get a lot of good feedback on our buffet. It is a busy season now, so I am sorry to hear that you had to ask for bacon twice, our restaurant manager brought you your egg and bacon as soon as it was ready.
We try very hard to please our guests, so I am sorry you were dissapointed. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Norway.

Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is located well, about 200 to 300 meters from main attractions such as the fish market and the main square. The room we had was a bit quirky, with a small foyer by the door and strange switching to control the lights, but that's what you often get from Best Western's older properties. The room was a reasonable size, clean, but lacked some of the nice extras that competitors offer for a similar price, e.g. in-room safe and fridge (a safe is available if you pay for a more up-market room in this hotel). The main problem was the small room in which breakfast was served. The two mornings we ate there it was difficult to get a table and the hotel should really address this in some way - perhaps extend the hours that breakfast is available. The breakfast was good, however. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Overall pretty good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi and thank you for getting back to us.
We are glad you found the staff helpful, eventhough the room did not meet your expectations 100%. As the hotel is an old Jugend building all the rooms are different in style and size. The standard rooms do not have safes and minibars, the superior rooms do. The size of the superior rooms are also a little bigger, in most cases. All 88 rooms are totaly refurbished, so the quality should be good either you choose a standard or a superior room.
The breakfast room gets crowded especially in the weekends, we serve breakfast from 08.00 - 11.00 in the weekend, and we have a note in the elevator saying if you like to get up early, we recommend you to have breakfast early in the weekends. Most guests come for breakast from 10.30 Saturdays and Sundays. Hope you enjoyed Bergen, and glad to hear you found us pretty good after all :-)

Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked this hotel through British Airways holidays and had a room on the 5th floor which appeared to be a 'superior' room. It was a good size, it even had room for two very trendy armchairs with footstools! The room looked like it had been recently refurbished, it was nicely decorated, had everything we needed and more. Nice bathroom, very clean, with a large shower. The only question is should the whole bathroom flood when you have a shower? We weren't sure sure if this was a quirky Nordic design or just a design fault - we didn't like to ask in case it was a stupid question! It wasn't too much of a problem and when the underfloor heating was on it dried up quickly enough.
The breakfasts were good, lots of choice, we were really enjoyed the freshly fried eggs with the strip of bacon on top. If I was being picky I would say although there is a lot of choice replenishing stuff was slow, often popular choices ran out and were not replaced - especially after about 8.45am. It wasn't really a problem though as there was plenty of other choices.
I would definitely recommend this hotel - it ticks all the boxes for a city break, plus it is in a great location within easy reach of central Bergen. The excellent Flybussen service from the airport drops you off within a 5 minute walk and it is easy to find.

Room Tip: If you can afford a superior room go for it as I think they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McPidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi and thank you for your review.
It is warming to hear that you like our superior rooms, all our 88 rooms are totally refurbished the last two years. The superior rooms provide extra comfort, they are bigger and have the famous Norwegian Stressless chairs to relax in.
Good to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well.
Welcome back on another occasion.

Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is very well located at the center of Bergen. The staff is very pleasant, and the wifi works fine. However, the rooms are too small, almost "minimal": the bed, the bathroom, the wardrobe (without any drawer, only one shelf), etc, are quite small. On the other hand, everything was clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfredo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden7, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi and thank you for getting back to us!
We do have a lot of different rooms and categories at the hotel, so try an upgraded room next time. Good to hear that the staff was helpful, that is important to us.
We take pride in keeping the rooms and the common areas clean, so nice to hear that you noticed that as well.
Welcome back to a bigger room on your next trip to Bergen.

Kind Regards

Ann Rita Hovden
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
752 reviews
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 49 in Bergen
1,343 reviews
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#27 of 49 in Bergen
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Magic Hotel Korskirken
Magic Hotel Korskirken
#28 of 49 in Bergen
32 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Basic Hotel Bergen
#31 of 49 in Bergen
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen

Address: C. Sundts gate 18, Bergen 5004, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £78 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BW Hotell Hordaheimen is a tradtional Norwegian hotel from 1918. Today the hotel is a modern business hotel With 88 rooms, Conference rooms and a cosy restaurant With Authentic Norwegian country Cooking on the menu. If you travel a lot and are looking for a place to relax in a cosy atmosphere, Hordaheimen is the place for you. A home away! The hotel is located in the city centre of Bergen, Close to attractions, restaurants and shopping. Hope to see you on Your NeXT visit to Bergen! Kind Regards Ann Rita Hovden Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotell Hordaheimen Hotel Bergen
Best Western Hotel Bergen
Best Western Bergen
Bergen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing