We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks but not again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We've stayed in Bergen for 4 nights with my wife and our 3 children.
The room was very small for a family of 5, a double bed and a sofa. Bathroom was very small and i don't think that any rennovation have taken place in this room for the last 10 years.
Nothing to compare with our staying in the Clarion Savoy Hotel in Oslo which was actually cheaper!
Staff though was really friendly and we had free internet access in the ground floor.
We departed very early in the morning and breakfast room was closed but they prepared something for the children in the Cafe in the ground floor.
I believe that cleanliness is a great issue for this Hotel and probably for most of the places in Bergen.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2009

We live in Sweden. Sweden is considered an expensive country. Norway is way worse. Everything is expensive in Norway. Finding a hotel with an "ok price" is hard.

Hordaheimen is a hotel that gives you good value for money. We had a nice corner room with a small balcony with partial view of the harbour. The room was nice, the bathroom a bit small but ok. Comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet (included) had a nice spread. It looks small but there is a little of everything from smoked salmon to fresh fruit. If you want coffee, tea or some ice in the evening just pass the restaurant and fill up for free.

If you plan to visit the Bergen Aquarium, located just a short walk away, ask the reception for a voucher (25% off). We missed this voucher :-(

On Tripadvisor this is a 1 star hotel. That must be wrong. Most other sites and the hotel it self promotes it as a 3 star hotel (and it feels like a god 3 star hotel).

We liked Hordaheimen and would stay there again :-)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent_o_Sigrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

I stayed one night at the only Best Western Hotel in Bergen, the Hordaheimen Hotel. I had originally booked an Economy Class room, paying only 595 NOK (70 Euros). Upon arrival I was however offered an upgrade to a superior room free of charge, as I have a Gold Crown Club International Platinum Elite card.

The hotel have 88 rooms, and 33 of them are new superior rooms opened in 2007. The room was located on the fifth floor, having a good view to Mount Fløyen, and amenities like flat screen TV, two comfortable chairs, queen size bed, coffee and tea facilities, mini-bar and work area. The room was really nice, though I found the creative bathroom-door (just a thin sliding-door) and the mini-bar (hanging on the wall) more fancy than practical.

The breakfast was included in the room rate and was fairly standard.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FlightDeck-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Highly recommended this hotel, newly renovated, flat screen tv, clean and spacious.
However, the location of the fridge is so wierd, so modern is attached to a wall and next to the bed, thus only slim people can pass the slot between the fridge and the bed.

Otherwise it is perfect. Good breakfast, lots of salmons & fruits

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IO_OI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

The Hotel Hordaheimen in Bergen was a very nice hotel. Part of this hotel has been renovated, and I believe the new rooms are called "superior" when booking. We booked a regular room, but received what I would consider a superior room. The room was very comtempory, with flat screen TV, ample size bathroom, and confortable queen sized bed. Bergen is quiet at night, and the hotel is a few hundred yards from the main fish market. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank biz_nasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We were staying 1 week in a cottage on Tysnes and 1 week in Skudeneshavn. We wanted to end the holiday in Bergen on the 17th of May (Nationaldagen). So we had a room at Best Western Hotel Hordaheimen. The receptionist was very kind. We came with car and needed a parking space, the hotel showed us on a map where the parkinghouse was. But we had a car with a box, so the parking house was to small (low). Then she guided us to a (hotel) parking space on the other side of the road :-) Much better!

The room was nice but small, clean and renovated.
The Bathroom was too small, you nearly couldn't sit on the Wc.
New Firealarms and sprinklers is very good, so you can feel save.

The price was also nice.

The one thing I must complain about is the Aircondition which was humming all day and all night. We asked at the reception and she said, its always noisy from 10 a clock in the evening. So we went to sleep, but it stayed so all next day and night. So we called again and said it was the whole day. But nothing changed, same answer. We got not very much sleep this 2 nights.

Its an expericence to be in Bergen at the 17 th of may :-)

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfingsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I stayed at the Best Western Hotel Hordaheimen in Bergen for 5 days in May. I had one of the old rooms on the 4th floor . The room was clean , but small even for european standards. The bed was ok and the bathroom was fairly small.

The positive stuff to write about is the excelent location , very central ( 5 min. walk to the harbour area with all the cafe's , restaurants, bars, etc and the excelent breakfast , served from 7 AM to 10. The staff was friendly and helpful.

I would probably go back , the price ( 795 Nr ) was reasonable for Norway.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GreatDaneDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#25 of 51 in Bergen
82 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#18 of 51 in Bergen
754 reviews
Vågen
Magic Hotel Korskirken
Magic Hotel Korskirken
#26 of 51 in Bergen
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#14 of 51 in Bergen
130 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 51 in Bergen
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen

Address: C. Sundts gate 18, Bergen 5004, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £78 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BW Hotell Hordaheimen is a tradtional Norwegian hotel from 1918. Today the hotel is a modern business hotel With 88 rooms, Conference rooms and a cosy restaurant With Authentic Norwegian country Cooking on the menu. If you travel a lot and are looking for a place to relax in a cosy atmosphere, Hordaheimen is the place for you. A home away! The hotel is located in the city centre of Bergen, Close to attractions, restaurants and shopping. Hope to see you on Your NeXT visit to Bergen! Kind Regards Ann Rita Hovden Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotell Hordaheimen Hotel Bergen
Best Western Hotel Bergen
Best Western Bergen
Bergen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing