We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not that this is a bad hotel it's...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 3 June 2010

It's not that this is a bad hotel it's just nit a very good one. It is well located and reasonably clean and the beds are quite comfortable but there are a few areas were it lets itself down. The first of these is that the curtains are so thin that they do not block any light, this would be fine in the winterbut in the summer when there are only a few hours of darkness you may find it hard to get to sleep and then wake up early. There is no free wifi which makes the place feel cheap especially as they charge about £5 a day to connect to it. The breakfast is ok but only worth having as it's included. What they claim is cable tv is actually the discovery channel, animal planet and eurosport. Every other channel is the standard free to air. Although I put wouldn't recommend to a friend if you were travelling in winter and wanted a no frills hotel and this was the cheapest then it is clean enough and comfortable enough to stay

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lc2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

Best Western tends to receive skeptical reviews, but this place is a gem. It was the cheapest deal we could find in the city center during the summer and we booked the cheap last minute non-refundable rate on expedia. When we got there they had not received our reservation because they had recently changed reservation systems (so we presume this problem is resolved by now). But they felt so bad for the 10 minute inconvenience during check-in that after one night in the double room we booked they upgraded us to the luxury suite on the top floor! And when we had trouble connecting to the free wi-fi they bent over backwards to help resolve it. Best customer service we've ever had, hands down. The included breakfast was fresh and delicious with a good variety. The location was perfect, especially for an early morning start on a fjord cruise (just two-minute walk from the boarding pier). Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umyaya915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The location is great - you can virtually go to all the attractions on foot. The breakfast was good, except it was always crowded.

Our room was a corner room with a small balcony. The entrance area is so tiny that 2 persons cannot enter at the same time. The bathroom is about 1.5m x 2m - avoid it if you are overweight; you will not able to move in it. The fitting is aged, tiles yellow... In general the rooms need renovating. Some of the cables and pipes are visible.

We paid 180 EUR per night. It was way too expensive for such a quality level.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LingAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed here during our one-day stay at Bergen last week. Price was decent, staff were friendly and helpful, room and hotel were both quiet, clean, and well-maintained. People that complained about the room sizes in prior reviews don't understand that everything in Europe is smaller than in America, where everything is oversized-the twin beds were the same size as a twin bed in America, and the room was average size for a European hotel. Everything promised in the written description upon booking was there! The hotel is located just a five to fifteen minute walk to all main attractions in the city as well. The stay includes a free full breakfast as well which was an added bonus. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paralelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

The hotel is perfertly located 200 meters (5-10 minutes) from the famous fish market and airport shuttlestop.
You will get a good night sleep, but make sure you ask for a room not facing the street in front of the hotel. Traffic can be quite noisy.
Room is quite small, but very comfortable bed. Small bathroom, shower only.
Breakfast 7 am until 10 am every day, but very crowded, and not enough tables for everyone on a Sunday 0930am. (note: hotel was fully booked).

Overall, a good hotel choice in Bergen. Normally better priced, than neighbouring Clarion and Augustin hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmywayescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 3 July 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Location is good - close walking distance to the sights.
We stayed in a number of Best Westerns and they are mostly of good standard, but here
the room was just way too small for the price - we had to keep moving the chair to open the wardrobe, get into bed etc Bags had to be put in the doorway.
Mostly the reception was fairly non-welcoming and disinterested. I was ignored over people who came in after me - maybe because they spoke the language.
Buffet breakfast was good - eat up as food is very expensive.
Bergen is lovely though.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essjay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#24 of 51 in Bergen
82 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 51 in Bergen
754 reviews
Vågen
Magic Hotel Korskirken
Magic Hotel Korskirken
#28 of 51 in Bergen
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#14 of 51 in Bergen
130 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 51 in Bergen
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen

Address: C. Sundts gate 18, Bergen 5004, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotell Hordaheimen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £78 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BW Hotell Hordaheimen is a tradtional Norwegian hotel from 1918. Today the hotel is a modern business hotel With 88 rooms, Conference rooms and a cosy restaurant With Authentic Norwegian country Cooking on the menu. If you travel a lot and are looking for a place to relax in a cosy atmosphere, Hordaheimen is the place for you. A home away! The hotel is located in the city centre of Bergen, Close to attractions, restaurants and shopping. Hope to see you on Your NeXT visit to Bergen! Kind Regards Ann Rita Hovden Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotell Hordaheimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotell Hordaheimen Hotel Bergen
Best Western Hotel Bergen
Best Western Bergen
Bergen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing