We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of rooms a bit of a lottery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Bergen City
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Quality of rooms a bit of a lottery”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I stay here 6-7 times a year on business. Hotel is spread over 3 buildings and the quality of rooms is also spread. Most modern ones seem to be where the main reception is so specify that building. Other side is quite dated but ok. Rooms facing the street (cobbled) can be noisy with traffic)
Last stay I had the aircon from hell blowing on the bed (-1 outside so why aircon was needed?) and this is controlled centrally so you can't turn it off. Switched rooms the next day but damage was done.
Location good for 2 min walk to main tourist area. Breakfast buffet very good and staff very friendly.
Free pass to use the gym (50 meters away) so helps fill in the evenings when travelling alone.
Register with scandic rewards and you get a 50 NOK voucher so spend in the bar/restaurant each night.

Room Tip: Most modern rooms seem to be where the main reception is so specify that building and also facing aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thanks for your review and happy new year!
I do agree that some of our rooms are in need of renovation, luckily this is scheduled and will start in 2013. Step by step, all of our rooms will be refurbished.
We are very glad that you enjoyed our central location and that you thought our breakfast was good. Thanks for tipping regarding Scandic card - its a great way to get free benefits!

We hope to see you again at Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Bergen City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    206
    253
    126
    58
See reviews for
95
201
58
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Preferred hotel for the company but i'll never come back here. Bad beds, noisy windows (you can here the cars driving on the streets, even at the fifth floor), low quality interiour... I don't recommend this hotel at all. And this was a frequent guest room... Do not want to are a normal room...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mario_marlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your review!

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your hotel room. If you decide to visit us again, we recommend asking for one of our rooms faced towards the courtyard when booking, which may be quieter.

We hope to see you again at Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Bergen City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Scandic Bergen City Hotel does the job well: This is centrally located and has the basic facilities necessary for the traveler, but there is nothing special about it. The rooms are comfortable. Prices are, however, high - as everything in Norway these days. Good breakfast buffet. A big problem when I stayed was that they were remodelling the facade, which meant lots of building noise from 8.00 AM.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you all in all found our hotel to be what you expected. Good location and a large selection on the breakfastbuffet incl. ecological food are important criterias for our guest when they choose Scandic, and we are happy to hear that you found our hotel to be both central and decent.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Bergen City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I was here due to work and didn't book it myself. I checked in immediately upon arrival early in the morning. I was told my room was across a narrow road, and when I got into the elevator I got a bad feeling about it because of the odd, small and dark elevator. My room was at 6th floor, and the minute I walked in I wanted to turn around. It was dusty, small and dark. A dodgy blanket on the bed. I asked for a new room in the same building as the check in, and got one. The hallway was as dark and dingy as the other, but the room was nice. It was pretty new, big, tiled bathroom and an okay bed. I also had a view, as the room was on the 6th floor. So do ask for a room in the main building!

The food was great. We ate every meal for 2 days there, and the breakfast, lunch and dinner was really good. The service was good as well, allowing peopel to change room without a fuss. Perhaps because they knew about the situation across the road...

The loaction is central, but in the middle of clubs where students go, so it can be noisy and a lot of people. On the good side that means it's close to restaurants, the cinema and clubs and pubs, so there's no problem finding someting to do.

All in all - it was decent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that you had to change your room while staying in our hotel. During 2012 we have done an upgrade on several rooms and corridors and in 2013 hopefully we will be able to do something about the few remaining rooms. We are builing new superior room and junioursuites on the top floor so if you enjoyed the view from the 6th floor next time book the new ones on the 8th floor - opening winter 2013!

We are thrilled to read your happy comments on the food, our staff and our central location!

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Bergen City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I had spent 2 nights this hotel a good food , place walking few minutes to the fish market fløibanen and also back side to the cinema but the worst is the floor mats and ruggs the dust room that really make me sick Me and my froends were snezing all the day . We got a bad allergic , please be aware been there if you have allergic . But the staff and the location was great

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms of the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your review! We are sad to hear that you and your friends got an allergic reaction after staying in one of our rooms. I have forwarded your reply to the housekeeper and they will look into it.

We are happy though that you enjoyd the food and our central location.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Bergen City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larvik, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Close to everything. Cinema nearby. Perfect for walks in Bergen City. Airport shuttle. Nice and helpful staff. Rooms was clean and everything looked renovated. City sized, not too big, but ok. We slept 3, no problem.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nor_Wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyd staying at Scandic Bergen City, and that you found our location perfect for exploring Bergen. Thanks for all your nice comments, we really appreciate it!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Bergen City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It certainly doesn't look too inviting, arriving outside on a rainy Bergen day. You also get a bit confused, since the hotel occupies both sides of the street and both of the sides tell you "Reception".

We left the airport express bus (which stops just outside) and managed to find our way to the reception we thought looked the most inviting, and from that moment on the experience changed.

We were greeted with a smile and a "hello" before we had even reached the counter - very nice. The lady booked us in and gave us necessary information. Some problem with our booking was fixed in an instant, still with a smile and professionalism.


Arriving in my room on the 5. floor I noticed that the room was spacious, with a comfy recliner next to a desk with a TV set and a minibar underneath. From reading other reviews I was expecting small rooms, but on the contrary. My travel mate, who had a room in the 6. floor had almost exactly the same room with the same size.

Modern, spacious rooms with ditto bathrooms. Little traffic noise when you keep the window closed, but mind you, this is a hotel in the city center, so you're bound to hear some traffic.

Our 2-day stay was without problems or incidents of any kind. Since it was a business trip, we had dinner and lunch elsewhere, but the breakfast was very nice, with all you would expect to find, from fruits to cereals and my mandatory eggs & bacon. The even had tomato beans and pancakes to go with it, so I was stuffed until lunch time.

Free pc with internet connection and a printer in the lobby - great.

I have no hesitations recommending this hotel. Excellent service and location, very nice and clean rooms (no hair in the shower/sink), and a great breakfast.


If this review in any way was helpful, I appreciate the feedback so pls hit the Yes button if you think so.

Room Tip: Higher up to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leon_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your review!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us - thank you so much for all your positive comments!

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Bergen City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Neptun
#25 of 47 in Bergen
894 reviews
Scandic Strand
#30 of 47 in Bergen
684 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#17 of 47 in Bergen
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Basic Hotel Bergen
#26 of 47 in Bergen
389 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 47 in Bergen
1,234 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#14 of 47 in Bergen
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bergen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bergen City

Property: Scandic Bergen City
Address: Haakonsgaten 2, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bergen City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Scandic Bergen City hotel and enjoy a central Bergen location. Do business in the conference centre or see a film at the Bergen Cinema next door. Unwind in Restaurant Amalie and City Bar. Bergen museums and attractions are just a few blocks away. Dine in the Restaurant Amalie or spend the evening in the City Bar. Enjoy nearby Bergen attractions from the Aquarium, Mt. Floyen, to the Galleriet Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Scandic Hotels, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Bergen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing