We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Bergen City
Nearby Hotels
The Hanseatic Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Terminus(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Hotel No 13
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
103
240
290
149
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
240
290
149
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbergen cityfish markethurtigruten terminalnice roombed was comfortablenice breakfastbus stoplocation is excellentbryggencruiseharbournutshell
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were very pleased with our room at the Scandic Bergen City. The furnishings were very comfortable (though the beds, like all Norwegian beds, were too soft). We appreciated the WI-FI access in our rooms. The locations is quite good - a reasonable walk to the fish market, Bryggen, though less convenient to the station. However, since we were departing from Bergen, the fact that the airport bus stops right at the hotel is a great convenience.
The breakfast was someone disappointing, especially given some of the rave reviews on this site. We found it sparser than some (we don't eat meat or cheese) - there was no smoked salmon, for example, which we had at other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay at Scandic Bergen City. It is very convenient with the airport bus stopping right outside the hotel and in fact they also offer a discounted rate compared to the other bus company.

Hope to see you back - have a great summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were unable to keep our hotel reservation for Friday, June 21 and Saturday, June 22, 2013 due to a medical emergency. We prepaid for the reservation and agreed to a no refund/no cancellation policy at the time of payment. We emailed the booking manager to request a refund or, at least, the opportunity to re-book for 2014 with no penalties. We hoped that in light of the circumstances, they would be willing. However, the booking manager was unwilling to offer anything to help us out. We will not be re-booking with Scandic Bergen City in 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank launderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with our guest service. The cancellation policy is very strict when it comes to prepaid reservations like in your case. I know our booking manager advised you to contact your travel insurance company since they probably can help you out.

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in the Scandic for one night after staying at the Thon Hotel Bergen Brygge a night previous. I would have to say that compared to the Thon, the Scandic was a much better deal. The bedroom and bath as larger and similar to what you would get in a North American hotel. The bed had a reasonably good quality mattress which was more firm that the typical mattresses we found in most of the places we stayed in Norway, Sweden and Denmark (note to travelers - if you like the soft and mushy mattresses found in Ikea then you'll like most of the hotels in Scandinavia - unfortunately we don't like those types of mattresses). The breakfast was quite good (typical Norwegian breakfast but with a good selection of items) and we found the staff, both at the front desk and the restaurant to be quite friendly.

Not sure if we will be back to Bergen but if we were then the Scandic would be something we would certainly look into.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad-Sexington-IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for your review!
This makes us really happy to hear! I´ll forward this to the staff. Hope to see you
again some time!

Have a nice summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I paid extra for a room with an armchair, the room (402) in general was on the small side, the armchair was more of a nuisance as it got in the way.

Furniture was fairly modern but worn, the wardrobe had no handle.

Paint was peeling from the ceiling.

The room was above a busy cobbled street, with the windows open it was very noisy, with the windows closed it got hot very quickly. There was no air conditioning.

The mini bar fridge did not work.

The bathroom was very small, once you had a shower the whole floor was wet for hours so you had to wear shoes to use the toilet or get wet feet.

Breakfast was an extended continental buffet and was fairly good.

Internet was free and reliable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gandrewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are sad to hear that there are several things you are unhappy with regarding your stay. I will forward you comment to our technical department so that they can check if there is anything in need of repair and if there is something to be done with regards to the shower and the wet floor.

Have a nice summer!


Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for one night after staying at a different accommodation for the first 3 nights (we really enjoyed the other accommodation but it was booked for this date). We were very disappointed by this hotel. While the lobby is beautiful the room was quite basic and EXTREMELY hot. We called down to the desk about the temperature and they told us they would fix it. No change came and we had to prop open the windows in the room to try and cool it down. With the windows open the sounds from outside prevented us from sleeping anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionamac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that you were unable to sleep because of the heat in the room. This is really not how it’s supposed to be and if you should encounter something like this again, please ask the staff for a new room.

We wish you a lovely summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews