We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel- needs a paint job in rooms and hallways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Bergen City
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
relaxed007
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel- needs a paint job in rooms and hallways”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October. Breakfast was good on first night, but an IT conference in the lobby the second two nights did not take hotel residents into consideration. Lobby was full of IT stands, and the breakfast room could barely cope with guests in the morning. The room and corridors were badly in need of a paint job. Hotel staff were very courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxed007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are sorry to hear that the conference in the lobby made it a bit crowded. I will forward your review to the conference & event manager so they take this into consideration next time we have exhibitions in the lobby area.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and found our staff courteous.

Hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    206
    251
    126
    58
See reviews for
93
201
58
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Spezia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Check-in was efficient and we meg a friendly receptionist. Short and relevant info was given, and we followed the suggestion to have dinner across the street. The restaurant with the same Anne AS the hotel. Breakfast at the hotel was good, and a wide selection. Good hotel for fastmoving people!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyd your stay. Thanks for all your nice comments, we really appreciate it!

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Norwegian hotels have to be rated against each other, as the efficiency of the rooms and eco-features are unmatched in other places. Yet it can also be a rare day that one gets conditioner for one's hair, tissues, and a bathmat as well. That said, this hotel in comfortable, convenient, well-situated and well enough-appointed. The complimentary breakfast was satisfying if not fancy, and my stay so close to the sea and walking distance to everything was perfect.

Room Tip: I lucked out with room 551 which is wheelchair accessible. This is by far the largest hotel room I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review!

Nice to hear that you liked it here. We are glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable, convenient, well-situated and well enough-appointed.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel was about a 10-minute, easy walk to the Bergen fish market and wharf. Our room was spacious, quiet and clean. There was a plentiful breakfast buffet. Based on other hotels we researched, this was a good value for Bergen. Our bed was very comfortable, too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyd your stay at Scandic Bergen City. If you ever choose to visit Bergen again we hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is excellent with a brilliant breakfast. One drawback might be that it is a bit far from the centre. Overall its a nice hotel with a great value for money. It is also near several eating places.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back one day!

Best regards
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TIRANA, ALBANIA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Scandic Bergen is situated 10-15 minutes walk from the city center. it is a quiet hotel with spacious rooms and helpful staff. it has three buildings and I think we were in the newest one. Breakfast was nice and plentiful and the room price was reasonable especially compared to other 4 star hotels in Norway.

Room Tip: if you want a nice room ask to be accommodated in the main building where breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRUNILDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your review!
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay! If you ever choose to visit Bergen again we hope to welcome you back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel has 3 buildings, our room was in the oldest one (I guess you go there if you choose the "cheapest" room: 110 €), but I don't really know how they decide the building.
although the building, elevator, corridors looked very old, the room wasn't bad. It had good size, refrigerator, clean, the toilet size was also ok. It had also iron.
The breakfast was OK, normal.
The hotel has good location, 10 min to the bryggen

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amapola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and liked the breakfast buffet.

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Neptun
#26 of 47 in Bergen
893 reviews
Scandic Strand
#29 of 47 in Bergen
684 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#17 of 47 in Bergen
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Basic Hotel Bergen
#25 of 47 in Bergen
389 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 47 in Bergen
1,231 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#14 of 47 in Bergen
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bergen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bergen City

Property: Scandic Bergen City
Address: Haakonsgaten 2, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bergen City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Scandic Bergen City hotel and enjoy a central Bergen location. Do business in the conference centre or see a film at the Bergen Cinema next door. Unwind in Restaurant Amalie and City Bar. Bergen museums and attractions are just a few blocks away. Dine in the Restaurant Amalie or spend the evening in the City Bar. Enjoy nearby Bergen attractions from the Aquarium, Mt. Floyen, to the Galleriet Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Bergen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing