We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, comfortable hotel in a brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Bergen City
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked through the Booking.com app on a non-refundable rate of £75 a night, including breakfast. Our room was on the 7th floor of the main building and had two single beds pushed together to form a double (with two single duvets rather than one large one, common in Norway apparently!). The room had a hair drier, iron, kettle, teabags, toiletries, fridge and a massive TV (showing a mix of Norwegian and English language channels plus football, ice hockey and… dressage!). The hotel has free wi-fi, which we used, and free access to the next door gym, which we didn’t.

Pros:
- The beds were unbelievably comfortable, and it was difficult for my wife to get out of hers in the morning!
- Nice big shower room with a powerful, warm shower.
- It’s only a 5-10 minute stroll away from the Fishmarket and Bryggen. Bergen is a city you can easily walk around, and you’re within reach of most attractions here.
- The hotel is in the ‘theatre district’ near Ole Bulls Plass, which contains the best bars and restaurants in the city.
- Breakfast was superb, with a wide range to choose from: hot and cold continental selection, plus freshly made smoothies, pancakes and pastries.
- Easy transfers to/from the airport with FlyBussBergen, which stops outside the hotel.
- Minibar prices are pretty favourable compared to elsewhere in Bergen

Cons
- Our room faced the street and it did get a bit noisy, particularly on Friday & Saturday evening. This was much better with the window shut though.
- There was a faint lingering smell of smoke in the room, although I didn’t notice it much at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweeneyRegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review!
So glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed it here. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

240 euro per room/night ....is much too high price to get room with paint that falls down from the ceiling, dirty tiles in bathroom, dirty curtains in the room and contacts with tape around. after claim and one night I have received very nice room at top floor, breakfasts very average and you all clothes will smell this same as the food served at breakfast. no parking at the hotel. closest parking was closed and no information was given about it so you had to walk in the rain to the Public parking 400 m

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henryk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review!

We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Obviously there are a few things we need to look into, and I will make sure our technical manager gets your review.

We hope you have a nice fall!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October. Breakfast was good on first night, but an IT conference in the lobby the second two nights did not take hotel residents into consideration. Lobby was full of IT stands, and the breakfast room could barely cope with guests in the morning. The room and corridors were badly in need of a paint job. Hotel staff were very courteous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relaxed007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review!

We are sorry to hear that the conference in the lobby made it a bit crowded. I will forward your review to the conference & event manager so they take this into consideration next time we have exhibitions in the lobby area.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and found our staff courteous.

Hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Check-in was efficient and we meg a friendly receptionist. Short and relevant info was given, and we followed the suggestion to have dinner across the street. The restaurant with the same Anne AS the hotel. Breakfast at the hotel was good, and a wide selection. Good hotel for fastmoving people!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyd your stay. Thanks for all your nice comments, we really appreciate it!

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Norwegian hotels have to be rated against each other, as the efficiency of the rooms and eco-features are unmatched in other places. Yet it can also be a rare day that one gets conditioner for one's hair, tissues, and a bathmat as well. That said, this hotel in comfortable, convenient, well-situated and well enough-appointed. The complimentary breakfast was satisfying if not fancy, and my stay so close to the sea and walking distance to everything was perfect.

Room Tip: I lucked out with room 551 which is wheelchair accessible. This is by far the largest hotel room I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your review!

Nice to hear that you liked it here. We are glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable, convenient, well-situated and well enough-appointed.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel was about a 10-minute, easy walk to the Bergen fish market and wharf. Our room was spacious, quiet and clean. There was a plentiful breakfast buffet. Based on other hotels we researched, this was a good value for Bergen. Our bed was very comfortable, too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyd your stay at Scandic Bergen City. If you ever choose to visit Bergen again we hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is excellent with a brilliant breakfast. One drawback might be that it is a bit far from the centre. Overall its a nice hotel with a great value for money. It is also near several eating places.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back one day!

Best regards
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 49 in Bergen
935 reviews
Scandic Strand
#37 of 49 in Bergen
741 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#31 of 49 in Bergen
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#27 of 49 in Bergen
68 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#11 of 49 in Bergen
1,369 reviews
Scandic Neptun
#29 of 49 in Bergen
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bergen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bergen City

Address: Haakonsgaten 2, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £78 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bergen City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Scandic Bergen City hotel and enjoy a central Bergen location. Do business in the conference centre or see a film at the Bergen Cinema next door. Unwind in Restaurant Amalie and City Bar. Bergen museums and attractions are just a few blocks away. Dine in the Restaurant Amalie or spend the evening in the City Bar. Enjoy nearby Bergen attractions from the Aquarium, Mt. Floyen, to the Galleriet Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Bergen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing