We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveller rating
116
260
317
167
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
260
317
167
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbergen cityfish markethurtigruten terminalnice roombed was comfortablenice breakfastbus stopscandinaviabryggencruisefishmarketharbournutshell
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 936 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good stay at this hotel
room a good size with a strong water pressure shower
breakfast was a good choice with lots of selection
good location easy to get around in bergen from on foot
lots of staff to look after your needs

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesmetalwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are so happy to hear that you liked it here - hope to see you back some day!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good Location, easy walk to everywhere. Very clean, bed a bit creaky. Breakfast very good, including hot food. Nice staff.It was Independence Day but we weren't bothered by any noise because we were at the back.

Room Tip: Back room probably best.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaccimcshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are glad you liked it here and that you enjoyed both the breakfast and our central location. Hope you enjoyd the big celebration of our constitutional day!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed there three nights for a conference.
The room was fairly comfortable but boiling hot and there was no aircon or even thermostat to reduce the heat. The windows were hard to open. During the first night, it was noisy from the kitchen fans, from people standing in the inner yard, and worst of all, the cigarette smoke from below filled our rooms (and we hate smoking). The other nights were a little better, but the heat and noise were still an issue.
The room was also not particularly clean, especially the chair which had big stains on it.
The bathroom was a bit more modern and okay.
Room service was inefficient as I had to go downstairs twice to ask for sachets of coffee/creamer in the rooms that had not been topped up.
The food that was provided as part of the conference was excellent and breakfast was also really good.

Room Tip: don't take one that faces the inner yard
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingvet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your room. In situations like this, we recommend letting a member of our staff know and they will help you find a solution to the problem on site.

We are happy to hear that the food that was provided as part of the conference was excellent and you found our breakfast to be really good.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

It's not as good as soon of its Scandic sisters, but it was ok for a two night trip for business. Easy to walk everywhere and close to the University. Room was small but clean and comfortable. Hotel was under renovation so took away from some of the experience. Free wifi and decent TV stations. Staff was friendly and helpful. Make sure you take the bus to downtown central, rather than a cab which can cost $100. Easy 15 minute walk to the hotel. Also, skip the open air fish lunch on the harbor. It was terrible and way overpriced (even for Norweigian standards).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Medblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear that you like it it here, and that you found the hotel to be sufficient for your trip.

Hope to see you back some day!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I have a small room on the low floor facing the road. Noise proofing is poor and rooms is a little warm and stuffy for my likings. Windows hav difficulties opening.
Poor maintenance in bathroom is evident. Broken bath tap thermostat. Missing drain plug cover from sink.
Breakfast is not bad.
Seems it is time for some revamp at this hotel.

I have stayed in other scandic hotels before and my experience at this one is no good. I would return to scandic hotels but not the bergen city one.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank KNOMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are sad to hear that you were not happy with your stay and the standard of your hotelroom. Next time we recommend you try the Scandic Neptun or the Scandic Strand Hotel, both located in the city centre.

Have a nice spring!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews