We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Travel & Vacationers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Bergen City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Bergen City
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“Business Travel & Vacationers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Bergen City Scandic hotel is a chain hotel right in the middle of the Bergen city which itself is a UNESCO's world heritage city. I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights - my first ever experience with any of the Scandic hotels - as part of my business travel and found this hotel to be offering a quiet decent, nice and comfortable stay.

The staff at the front desk, bar and dining area was very polite and helpful and took utmost care of the guests. This hotel comprises of 3 buildings - 2 on one side and 1 right opposite the road. Rooms were very comfortable, clean and cozy with a reclining chair in the room and the toiletries were good. My room offered a nice view of the city and the surrounding hills and was relatively quiet. The hotel offered a nice sumptuous breakfast (large selection of cereals, breads and other hot and cold dishes) well spread in a not so big but comfortable dining area. The internet speed was pretty decent in rooms as well as the lobby area.

The hotel is quiet centrally located having lots of eating joints nearby and is just about 500 metres walk from the main shopping centre and about 10 minutes walk to the harbor and the fish market. I did not use it but there is an Express bus to the airport (pickup and drop) from Radisson hotel, which is just 5 minutes walk away from this hotel.

The hotel is competitively priced and offers great value for money. Would happily be a return customer to this hotel on my next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to get a view of the city and surroundings. Bergen being a student city and Au...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay - thanks for all your positive comments!

We look forward to welcome you back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    197
    231
    113
    47
See reviews for
77
183
55
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was quite easy to find. The hotel is split into two buildings, opposite to each other. We stayed in the newer building. We asked for a quiet room and they gave us one. The room was decent. We didn't really need a big room as we were out most of the time. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed the various options available. Staff was helpful. Bergen itself is quite an expensive city. Compared to other hotels in Bergen, this hotel was good value for money in terms of location and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room for a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be good valuve for money.

Hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Room was clean and all in all satisfactory, relatively small though. At night, there were a lot of drunk people singing and screaming all night. Windows cannot be fully closed. Elevators and corridors were very old and smelly. Location quite okay, about 10-15 minutes walk to the harbor.
Breakfast was also okay and it was a nice surprise to find that they had pancakes (the breakfast in the other scandinavian hotels we had stayed the previous two weeks were all exactly the same, so that we had exactly the same things for breakfast every day) ;).
Parking is an issue here... we knew that they had no parking lots, but on their website it said that there was public parking available close to the hotel. However, upon arrival, their staff advised us to go to a garage 1.3 km from the hotel, which we didn't understand as "close".

One more point: Airport express bus departs from Radisson Blu, which is a 5 minute walk from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenDen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review!

Klostergarasjen is the biggest parking house in Bergen and is located only 350 m. from the hotel. I guess this is the garage they tried to advise you to use, but unfortunately the guiding was not good enought.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the pancakes and the Scandic breakfast buffet.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

A nice location in the centre of Bergen. I stayed here for a little more than a week while working for a music festival in the city. I was working from early morning to late night every day, and just needed a bed, a place to work in my room and a breakfast.

The reception staff was friendly and helpful. Compared to other hotels in Bergen, this one gives decent value for money.

Some other reviewers praise the breakfast. I must disagree with them. The breakfast room was untidy and crowded. The buffet is too small to cater for the number of guests.

While staying in Scandic Bergen City, I was actually a bit worried about the safety. The lock on my door was broken, and I reported it on the third day of my stay. When I left the hotel a week later, it was still broken. I never knew if the door would actually be locked when I ran out of my room every morning.

There were also other things that I found frustrating. The room was not cleaned three days in a row, even though I had placed the "Make up my room please" sign on the door. So when I finally got back to my room in the night after a long day of work, I had to wait for it to be cleaned. The shower broke down during my stay. That was, however, fixed in the afternoon after I had reported it in the morning.

There is free open WiFi everywhere in the hotel. Luckily, Scandic Bergen City does not require you to log on with a user name and password that you have to change every 8 hours or whatever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjetil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are soory to hear that the reception and our technical departement did not take action to fix your door lock during your stay. On the other hand you should have been informed that the door locks itselves, so it is impossible to open without a key.

Your comments on the cleaning has been forwarded to the housekeeping departement so they can look into their routines.

We are glad to hear that you all in all thought our hotel gives decent value for money.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Small rooms. Street noise all through the night. Reception has no clue about guiding guests around the city. Looking for a place to sleep after a hard day in the city, this isn't the place to be. Breakfast was above average. We saw mostly very old persons in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arvafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear that you were not quite happy with your stay. Next time you visit Bergen maybe you´ll try one of the other Scandic hotels in Bergen, we have several hotels that might suit you better.

Wecome back to Bergen and Scandic!

Best regards
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Friendly front desk and bar staff, great breakfast, and nice room....I probably had one of the renovated rooms. No complaints at all. Had a great meal in the restaurant. Hotel is in a good location and walking distance to all of the sights. The hotel is also a great value and very competitively priced with other hotels in the area. Would happily return if I ever get lucky enough to return to Bergen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rduncan206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyd your stay!

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is in the center, so the location is great... we spent 3 nights and we loved it. The breakfast is very rich, the hotel clean and they provide hair dryer and iron plus iron board. I recommend it to everyone as it´s also good price for the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertaYRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

This makes us so happy to hear - we love that you liked it here!

Hope to see you back some day.

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Scandic Neptun
#23 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Scandic Strand
#26 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bergen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bergen City

Property: Scandic Bergen City
Address: Haakonsgaten 2, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bergen City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Scandic Bergen City hotel and enjoy a central Bergen location. Do business in the conference centre or see a film at the Bergen Cinema next door. Unwind in Restaurant Amalie and City Bar. Bergen museums and attractions are just a few blocks away. Dine in the Restaurant Amalie or spend the evening in the City Bar. Enjoy nearby Bergen attractions from the Aquarium, Mt. Floyen, to the Galleriet Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Bergen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing