We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Alva, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Good staff, good location, (great for walking around the city), restaurants nearby. But like everything in Norway, it was expensive. Our room was a bit stuffy in the evenings with no air conditioning.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price, high room temperature in the evening
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank danw5zt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThonBristolBergen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this review, 7 December 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review.
We are constantly trying to improve our product.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    275
    147
    47
    22
See reviews for
110
198
65
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

Great location, clean room. comfy beds All you would expect from a midrange scandinavian hotel. Breakfast is quite good though.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tigers-ol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThonBristolBergen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this review, 7 December 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review.
We are constantly trying to improve our product.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

After an express boat ride from Ballestrand my wife and I didn't require much from our room than a place to sleep and shower before jumping on the plane home. This hotel was unable to meet even these meager standards.

I would like to preface this review by stating that I have stayed in hotels all over Europe from the time I was 12 years old many of them on the cheap. I do not have Americanized expectations when traveling in Europe. That said, this is the second worst hotel room I have ever stayed in. The worst room was in Rome and it is distinguished by the fact that it had no windows and was underneath a staircase.

Thankfully this room, in Bergen, had A window. The room was, at it's widest point 5 feet wide. An inquisitive person might ask 'how did they fit the bed inside?' The answer is that two rolling cots were staggered longways on opposite sides of the room. This ingenius feng- shui created a small pathway to which the window could be opened and the TV turned on. The staggering of the beds also meant that my headboard could be my luggage and my wife's footboard could be her luggage.

As for the bath the situation was deplorable. The toilet was no more than three inches from the side wall and essentially inside the shower. Because of this it was impossible to use the toilet without sitting sideways. As for the shower it was impossible to keep from banging into the fixtures while washing your hair or banging into the toilet. The shower curtain was useless and could not be engaged without having it stick to you.

On a positive note the Hotel has a great location, close to "tourist-y" stuff. Great shopping, places of historical interest, and public transport are close by. And the room/closet was clean. However, it would just be nice to sleep in the same bed as your wife and shower without a bruising.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank VoiceoftheMadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThonBristolBergen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this review, 7 December 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review.
We are constantly trying to improve our product.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2007

This hotel's best feature - location - is probably also its worst feature. The noise from the street below was intolerable from my room on the 3rd floor (even with windows closed). The front desk staff was not helpful when I asked for help finding a pharmacy open on Sunday. Fortunately the local tourist brochure noted a pharmacy near the bus station that was open. Generally this was a fine 2-3 star, standard Scandinavian hotel.

General advice - most shops in Norway, particularly in smaller towns like Bergen, are closed on Sunday. Keep this in mind if planning a short trip to Bergen, I recommend spending time there on a weekday or Saturday if you want to shop and see sights (museums, etc have limited hours on Sunday).

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThonBristolBergen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this review, 7 December 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review.
We are constantly trying to improve our product.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

Good location - in the center of Bergen, good breakfast , clean room, and internet available at the loby.
But no charm at all.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No charm
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RenataSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThonBristolBergen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this review, 7 December 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review.
We are constantly trying to improve our product.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Check these reviews carefully: one recent review posted here actually refers to the Hotel Bristol in Oslo.
At first sight the hotel Bristol Bergen is disappointing. Down a side street (cul de sac) above McDonalds, small lobby. But soon you see the plus points: free use of PC in the loby; free fresh-ground coffee in the lobby; right on the city centre square surrounded by shopping area; 6 minutes walk from Harbour.
Like most Norway hotels the room was on the small side and shower only. no tub. But it was exceptionally clean, well decorated. Our room was 5th floor overlooking side stret but with slant view to the main square. The Music Festival week was just beginning and in the evening a band started up in the square - very noisy; but the room was triple glazed, and with all windows shut perfectly silent. Never heard any noise from adjacent rooms either.
Breakfast choice was only 2* or 3* quality and served in the Egon restaurant (a Norway chain) next door - a little cramped.
Staff impressed us: front desk staff helpful, and the room kettle wouldn't work, so we had to call down for a replacement; within 2 minutes a cheerful young lady called in to show us which switches we needed to have 'on'.
In my opinion Bergen is overrated; yes it's picturesque, and has some fine buildings, but with all the cruise ships it gets really busy with tourists, so demand for hotels is high, and so are the prices. We had to use the Bristol, since the bigger hotels were full, but we have no real complaints. However I'd say that it's only good value at Kr 1000 or less per night.
We stayed at Thon's Hotel Opera in Oslo: that really is a beautiful hotel and the price was pretty much the same as we paid here.

  • Liked — convenient for all attractions
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chocice60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThonBristolBergen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this review, 7 December 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review.
We are constantly trying to improve our product.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

Very disappointing. The rooms were incredibly noisy and extremely hot. No aircon. Would not recommend.

  • Disliked — very noisy and no air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tourist035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThonBristolBergen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this review, 7 December 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review.
We are constantly trying to improve our product.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
633 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
632 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
904 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 49 in Bergen
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen

Property: Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Address: Torgallmenningen 11 | 5014 Bergen, Bergen 5014, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Bristol in Bergen is located in the heart of Bergen on the main square Torgalmenningen. It is only a short walk from our hotel to the Bergen waterfront Bryggen, and the fish market. Thon Hotel Bristol also has a meeting room for up to 50 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing