We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
North Yorkshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really comfortable”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here with a friend for two nights- couldn't really have asked for more! Comfy beds, wonderful nights' sleep, and really friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was great; there was a really good selection of sweet and savoury things to eat. We particularly enjoyed the powerful shower, and the added extra of an umbrella to borrow, though with the stunning weather we had it really wasn't needed! Overall, a really good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen1993A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    268
    144
    46
    20
See reviews for
106
191
63
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is located in the central of Bergen city, just next to the popular shopping area and it takes only 5 - 10 minutes walk to the fish market. The hotel room is modern and equipped with modern facilities. The hotel breakfast is fantastic with wide spread of food selection. Not to forget about the friendly hotel staffs!
The only shortfall is that our room window is facing the hotel backyard where the heat and cooking smell from the kitchen gather....

Room Tip: Try to get a room with window facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights during a tour. I found the hotel excellent - the rooms were lovely. My only problem was the noise outside. I was on the side of the hotel, opposite the bank, for those who know it. It is situated very centrally, which is excellent for walking to all the tourist areas, the market, the Hanseatic Museum, etc and it does have a lovely restaurant. However, because it is at the heart of the city, you get the usual overnight revellers (I'm being polite!). I suggest you ask for a room on the other side if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Not on the side opposite the bank or on the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67Sweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Hill, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The room was decent-sized with modern amenities and free WiFi. It must have been one of the hottest days of the year, but the hotel was able to give us a fan to circulate the air and the windows opened wide. It was comfortable and quiet in the room.

Breakfast was served at the Egon restaurant downstairs and had a fair variety of hot and cold products.

Staff was helpful in orienting us as we started exploring town. We remember a young man named Tord who answered our question about where Norwegian men wear their wedding bands (on their right hands) even though he wasn't married himself. He was friendly and happy to answer our questions, even though they must have seemed strange to him.

It's a good location near the harbor and shopping district, but most rooms are set back from the street and so isolated from any real noise from outside. It's an 8-minute walk from the train and bus stations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hotel has a great location, a 5 minute walk to the wharf with the fish markets.the rooms are small, but nice and clean. Breakfast was very good, great selection of foods. But seating was a bit tight and by 9:30 they had a bit of trouble keeping up with everything. All in all, not a bad place to stay in expensive Bergen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this property from 2nd to 4th June 2013. As a matter of fact just checked out now. At check in we requested for a late check out and the lady at the reception agreed to check out at 2 O clock for both rooms. Last night at 12:20 the fire alarm rang extremely loudly ruini our sleep and the entire hotel ran out on the street for 20 minutes we stood out and later we were told that a hotel guest showered for too long and the steam activated the alarm. We went back in but sleep was lost, in the morning we talked to the reception staff and instead of being apologetic about our discomfort they said ' thank god the alarms work' not exactly the response you expect from a chain hotel, In fact the lady at the reception was downright rude when we confirmed our late check out and said no note was made for our rooms and asked us the name of the lady who checked us In, expecting g us to remember! Then she said all rooms have to be cleaned by 3 so she could only give us late check out till 2 pm for 1 room. Since the mishap of last night, least we expected was a later checkout since our flight was at 9 but now instead of 2 we only got 1 room! Highly discourteous staff and we weren't looking for any freebies our vouchers as compensation, but her attitude was appaling. Moreover the twin beds are so thin that even a 10 year old child would have trouble sleeping, and both days the scrambled eggs were burnt at breakfast. Sick hotel, the only advantage is their location. If I had the choice I would have stayed at the radisson around the corner!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidushi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

$325 for sleeping on the bathroom floor. This hotel might have a good location but in return you get nothing but noise. They didn't have the a/c running (if they had any), so for any air movement you had to have the window open. I had headphones on listening to nature sounds, laying in the squishy bed and could still here the vibrations of the music at 2:30 AM on a Thursday night. I eventually took the comforter and laid it out on the bathroom floor. Horrible, horrible experience.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DauphineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#3 of 47 in Bergen
611 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
589 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#15 of 47 in Bergen
882 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 47 in Bergen
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen

Property: Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Address: Torgallmenningen 11 | 5014 Bergen, Bergen 5014, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Bristol in Bergen is located in the heart of Bergen on the main square Torgalmenningen. It is only a short walk from our hotel to the Bergen waterfront Bryggen, and the fish market. Thon Hotel Bristol also has a meeting room for up to 50 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing