We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great group weekend walking trip”
Review of Augustin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Augustin Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great group weekend walking trip”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

30th May 2014 to Ist June went on a long weekend with friends and stayed here. The staff were really kind and helpful. A couple of us arrived early and wanted to change so we could get straight out into the mountains. (We were there to walk the mountains, swim in the lakes and fjord.)

They found a place to store bags and somewhere for us to change. In the evening at a group meal in the restaurant the staff were really kind to the two children who were part of the group.
The rooms were comfortable, there is coffee on tap and often in the afternoons waffles as well. The price is very reasonable for one of the most expensive places in Europe. Highly recommended. I travel a lot on business so have a wide experience of hotels and this one is really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCRHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    314
    162
    39
    8
See reviews for
127
292
34
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a good find in central Bergen, hotel staff where friendly & happy to assist with local activities etc around town.

Rooms are dated, and I was given a room that looked at a brick wall, a small downfall however did keep the room quiet at night. Had a great sleep here, with comfortable bed.

Breakfast OK, options varied depending on the tour group staying that night, but still good both days.

All in all a good stay at the Augustin, I would recommend a stay here & will be back next time in Bergen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_Trav_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is conveniently situated for the attractions of the city centre. The staff were on the whole helpful but when we checked in we asked the receptionist for a quiet room. She assured us that our room would be very quiet. Imagine our disappointment to find she had given us a room over the outside smoking area to the restaurant. It was so close we could touch the umbrella over the table! So we could not open the window because of tobacco smoke coming in the room and of course it was noisy at times. Fortunately things were quiet after 11 pm or so. Nevertheless it seemed unpleasant to assure us that the room was quiet when they quite clearly have a problem with that room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is well located, about a 5-10 minute walk to the main area (Bryggen and Torget). Our room was on the 6th floor and the elevator only went to 5 so we had to walk up a 1/2 flight of stairs which was not ideal when you have two large suitcases. We had a good sized room with a double bed, two large chairs with a desk and small table. The bathroom was a good size but no place to put cosmetics/toiletries bags. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and very much appreciated the proximity to everything.

Bergen is a lovely city, much to see and do there, from the Fish Market to the Bryggen with lots of restaurants and shops to the Floibanen,the funicular railway that provides a wonderful view of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cashaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located. The facilities are fine and the price is good. The beds are comfortable. There is no renovation work going on.

There is a nice looking Italian deli and small restaurant just handy at 130 m round the corner. It's called Da Stefano. The reviews are good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gmgilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and our room was large and conmfortable. Bathroom was a little old fashioned but perfectly serviceable. Staff very friendly. Breakfast buffet was adequate and well cooked. No tea or coffee in the room, but a salon downstairs with free supply and comfy seating. Very clean.

To get to the hotel we took the airport bus to Fishmarket. This was fine and an easy airport transfer, but there is a walk from Fishmarket to the hotel across occasionally cobbled streets to get to the hotel and this would not be easy for an older or less fit person.

Also no lunch option and evening meal option is in cellar restaurant which we did not like as it was sunny outside, so we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmsund
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Such a nice and perfect place to stay for one day in Bergen in connection with a "mini-conference". Very good service, quite nice room and a perfect location in Vågen.

Clean rooms, and good breakfast.

Also nice that the reception people was genuine interesting in my stay upon departure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#14 of 46 in Bergen
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
550 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Property: Augustin Hotel
Address: C. Sundts gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing