We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Hotel”
Review of Augustin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Augustin Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is situated about a 15 minute walk from the main station and bus terminal. Rooms were a good size. Breakfast was reasonable and coffee and waffles are available in the reception area in the afternoons. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

30th May 2014 to Ist June went on a long weekend with friends and stayed here. The staff were really kind and helpful. A couple of us arrived early and wanted to change so we could get straight out into the mountains. (We were there to walk the mountains, swim in the lakes and fjord.)

They found a place to store bags and somewhere for us to change. In the evening at a group meal in the restaurant the staff were really kind to the two children who were part of the group.
The rooms were comfortable, there is coffee on tap and often in the afternoons waffles as well. The price is very reasonable for one of the most expensive places in Europe. Highly recommended. I travel a lot on business so have a wide experience of hotels and this one is really good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCRHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a good find in central Bergen, hotel staff where friendly & happy to assist with local activities etc around town.

Rooms are dated, and I was given a room that looked at a brick wall, a small downfall however did keep the room quiet at night. Had a great sleep here, with comfortable bed.

Breakfast OK, options varied depending on the tour group staying that night, but still good both days.

All in all a good stay at the Augustin, I would recommend a stay here & will be back next time in Bergen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aus_Trav_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is conveniently situated for the attractions of the city centre. The staff were on the whole helpful but when we checked in we asked the receptionist for a quiet room. She assured us that our room would be very quiet. Imagine our disappointment to find she had given us a room over the outside smoking area to the restaurant. It was so close we could touch the umbrella over the table! So we could not open the window because of tobacco smoke coming in the room and of course it was noisy at times. Fortunately things were quiet after 11 pm or so. Nevertheless it seemed unpleasant to assure us that the room was quiet when they quite clearly have a problem with that room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is well located, about a 5-10 minute walk to the main area (Bryggen and Torget). Our room was on the 6th floor and the elevator only went to 5 so we had to walk up a 1/2 flight of stairs which was not ideal when you have two large suitcases. We had a good sized room with a double bed, two large chairs with a desk and small table. The bathroom was a good size but no place to put cosmetics/toiletries bags. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and very much appreciated the proximity to everything.

Bergen is a lovely city, much to see and do there, from the Fish Market to the Bryggen with lots of restaurants and shops to the Floibanen,the funicular railway that provides a wonderful view of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cashaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is well located. The facilities are fine and the price is good. The beds are comfortable. There is no renovation work going on.

There is a nice looking Italian deli and small restaurant just handy at 130 m round the corner. It's called Da Stefano. The reviews are good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gmgilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and our room was large and conmfortable. Bathroom was a little old fashioned but perfectly serviceable. Staff very friendly. Breakfast buffet was adequate and well cooked. No tea or coffee in the room, but a salon downstairs with free supply and comfy seating. Very clean.

To get to the hotel we took the airport bus to Fishmarket. This was fine and an easy airport transfer, but there is a walk from Fishmarket to the hotel across occasionally cobbled streets to get to the hotel and this would not be easy for an older or less fit person.

Also no lunch option and evening meal option is in cellar restaurant which we did not like as it was sunny outside, so we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 51 in Bergen
971 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Zander K Hotel
Zander K Hotel
#21 of 51 in Bergen
190 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 51 in Bergen
74 reviews
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#2 of 51 in Bergen
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Address: C. Sundts gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £61 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing