We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“User friendly”
Review of Augustin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Augustin Hotel
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Decent hotel in a good location not far from the city centre. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a family run feel with a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are fresh, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is average with not much choice and a limited amount of what is on offer. Seating area can be a bit cramped at peak times so get in early. I would come again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidIrishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We went to this hotel because of the good reviews. The location is great and you can walk to everything there is to see in Bergen. The breakfast is ok but basically the same stuff you get at every breakfast buffet in Norway.

That were the good things. Unfortunately the bad things were more significant. On each day the water remained cold unless you let it run for at least 8 minutes. Great if you just want to take a shower and have to wait... and wait... Each day we were told that this would be fixed on the next day. It wasn't..
A minor problem was the reception staff that couldn't provide us with correct information regarding parking nearby and also recommended a sports bar that was closed for renovations.
Last but not least it was hard for me to fall asleep due to some weird low frequency humming that was constantly there all through the night.

I don't recommend this hotel - if you go there anyways make sure to brin ear plugs and hot water...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Busverpasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Busverpasser. Thanks for your review. We understand your frustration and are deeply sorry for the inconvienience regarding the hot water in your particular room. According our technical manager we have never had better hot water capacity. The last week we have installed all new hot water tanks. However I have checked to see if we could have any particular problems during your stay. There might have been a temporary delay in hot water supply during the days of shift from old to new hot water system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed a couple of nights in this central hotel. It is a good 15 minute walk from the station because the rail station is not in the centre of town. As the sun was shining it was a pleasant walk.
The staff could not be more friendly and helpful.
Our room on the second floor was large and clean and it looks as if some great effort has been made to give the hotel an up to date appearance.
Only complaint would be that the over bath shower had seen some rough treatment and was in need of replacement, whilst the rest was terrific even down to the heated towel rail.

Five minutes walk to the wharf and tourist information with churches and museums in easy walking distance.

We will return if we get back to Burgen.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell all of the rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for our first two nights in Norway with our two grown up children. The rooms were comfortable albeit it warm due to the splendid weather we were lucky to experience. Breakfast was adequate with everyone finding something they wanted to eat. Free tea and coffee in the lounge but no kettles in the rooms. We ate in the wine bar on our first night, the food was good. We are still trying to come to terms with the high prices in Norway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is situated about a 15 minute walk from the main station and bus terminal. Rooms were a good size. Breakfast was reasonable and coffee and waffles are available in the reception area in the afternoons. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

30th May 2014 to Ist June went on a long weekend with friends and stayed here. The staff were really kind and helpful. A couple of us arrived early and wanted to change so we could get straight out into the mountains. (We were there to walk the mountains, swim in the lakes and fjord.)

They found a place to store bags and somewhere for us to change. In the evening at a group meal in the restaurant the staff were really kind to the two children who were part of the group.
The rooms were comfortable, there is coffee on tap and often in the afternoons waffles as well. The price is very reasonable for one of the most expensive places in Europe. Highly recommended. I travel a lot on business so have a wide experience of hotels and this one is really good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCRHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a good find in central Bergen, hotel staff where friendly & happy to assist with local activities etc around town.

Rooms are dated, and I was given a room that looked at a brick wall, a small downfall however did keep the room quiet at night. Had a great sleep here, with comfortable bed.

Breakfast OK, options varied depending on the tour group staying that night, but still good both days.

All in all a good stay at the Augustin, I would recommend a stay here & will be back next time in Bergen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aus_Trav_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 49 in Bergen
953 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 49 in Bergen
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Address: C. Sundts gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £77 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing