We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not fancy, but clean and well-located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Augustin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Augustin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but clean and well-located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This isn't a fancy hotel, but the room was large and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was only blocks off the fish market, shopping, etc. At the restaurant located within (in what feels like an ancient wine cellar), we had one of our most memorable meals in Norway. Was a great atmosphere, the food was incredible and the service fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    305
    158
    38
    8
See reviews for
124
286
34
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night after a bad flight from Iceland on which my wife's suitcase was mislaid. It was very late when we arrived but we received a friendly welcome from the receptionist. Our room was comfortable and, despite its city centre location, pretty quiet. In the morning the staff were helpful giving directions to shops to buy emergency replacement items. It was great being able to enjoy the complementary coffee in the lounge while waiting for the lost bag to be delivered.
Breakfast was good with a large selection of both Norwegian and "international" items.
All in all, a nice start to our travels around Norway.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
299 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is small and the staff is friendly and helpful. It has a fabulous location near the harbour, the funicular, the Old Town and the Art Museum. Accordingly, I would recommend it and I would stay there again. There are, however, two negatives. First, the rooms have no view whatsoever, because there is a building blocking the view of the harbour. Second, when it rains, the gutters must drip onto some metal or possibly stone surface, because the drips are so very noisy (and random) that it is almost impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank happyrelaxeddudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lovely room, nice common area, very helpful people behind the desk. Nice to have coffee or tea available in the common area. Good breakfast, although a bit of a zoo with people running around at the buffet. The restaurant in the hotel is wonderful. We had an amazing sommelier, and a lovely dinner, and - for Norway - not crazy expensive. It is an easy walk to everything you will want to see and do. If in summer, look for the concert venues each night in the Grieg Festival. Tickets available at the tourist information nearby. Consider the Bergen card!!! Discounts and free entries make it a good purchase when you arrive.

Room Tip: Easy walking everywhere! We had a lovely corner room on the front, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Norway is expensive, and Bergen is no exception, but my wife and I were very happy with our stay at the Augustin Hotel. Despite our room being in the back-corner of the hotel, with a sloped ceiling, the room was very comfortable with a new carpeted floor and a spacious bed. The staff were kind enough to let us check-in early. The only inconvenience was that our room was not accessible by the main elevator, and required us going up a short set of stairs. The lobby has a nice selection of teas, and the breakfast was good enough. The hotel is very close to the ferries, but a still a good walk away from the train station (where the airport bus let us off).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank academia_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Augustin Hotel was an excellent hotel. We had a corner room on the 5th floor and got to enjoy the most wonderful view of the harbour. The corner rooms below us had a balcony but with our view we didn't mind at all.
While the rooms are dated, they had the necessary comforts - good shower, comfortable bed, new television. The included breakfast buffet had great selection and the restaurant was large enough you never had to worry about not getting a seat.
The staff at the Augustin were amazing. While there we had our Iceland Air flight cancelled. The front desk staff went out of their way to help us, even offering their own phones when we were trying to get through the jammed phone lines. I believe the lady's name was Elizabeth and I unfortunately didnt get the name of the young gentleman working with her but his tag said he was in training. I would like to say thankyou to both of them, without their help we wouldn't have been able to sort the airline mess out nearly as easily and get on to enjoying our time in Bergen.
I would highly recommend having a glass (or two) of wine at the wine bar in this hotel, the staff are very knowledgeable and the bar itself is amazing. It's worth the price of the wine to experience this historic cellar.
Over all, the Augustin Hotel was a pleasant suprise and the staff are above par.

Room Tip: The higher up the better both for the view and to be away from any possible street noise Make sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrozycki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Augustin Hotel is well located close to the ferry and all that is Bergen. A much better value than the Rica Bergen where we stayed at the start of our trip. Despite the front desk being chaotic when we arrived we were treated as the most important guests in the house. When we asked about the 4 am bus to the airport they helped us out with our request but then offered to have the kitchen prepare something for breakfast since we would be missing the hotel breakfast. A very nice touch.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tlemcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear tlemcke! Thank you for your generous review of our staff and the hotel. We hope to see you back in Bergen some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Property: Augustin Hotel
Address: C. Sundts gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing