We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augustin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Augustin Hotel
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very close to the city center, the hotel was nice, considering the average of the hotels visited in Norway. The staff at the reception was welcoming, helpful and attentive.
The room was comfortable, though the extra bed required was actually just the sofa (small and short).
The bathroom was clean, but though the extra set of towels was already hanging on the towel warmer, there was no bath mat.
The breakfast included a good choice of different types of bread, cold and warm dishes BUT it was impossible to have a simple cup of warm milk: there was no microwave and - though asked - they refused to warm it up in the kitchen.
On the contrary, the hotel accommodates a winebar/restaurant which offers high quality dishes; the personnel is kind, professional and attentive in a nice atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    302
    156
    38
    8
See reviews for
121
285
34
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
355 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a very good place to stay in Bergen. Only 3 blocks from the fish market in the center of town. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. Be aware, there are two sections to the hotel; the negative comments probably stem from staying in the older part. I was in the part with the fancy doors and my room was excellent. The attached restaurant was the best I've eaten at in Bergen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggold113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a little gem of a hotel. Reception staff happy, helpful and informative.We stayed in a double bedded room on the second level which looked over a non descript courtyard, not used and closed off from stairway. This was not a problem apart from not being able to leave the window open for fresh air while out of the room.Room was clean, spacious, bed and pillows comfortable. Tv if wanted. Mini bar. Free wifi.. Nice decor throughout the hotel. Hotel had a seperate airy lounge area near reception where free coffee and tea could be taken any time. Has a winebar inside/outside in a lovely little courtyard where you could also enjoy their a la carte menu. A small bar was also near reception. Hotel has a laundry with one washing machine and seperate dryer free of charge. Breakfast had a mixture of hot food and continental in a modern airy breakfast room. Great location, only a short walk to the wharf and historic area which is a must see in Bergen. As with most Norwegian hotels there is no Air con, but a fan was freely supplied when asked for. Would have loved to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Maybe one that looks towards the harbour, found our room on 2nd floor very spacious unlike those pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear CheltenhamBabs,

Thank you for your comprehensive review and for good advice to future travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a package deal. The hotel is in a very good location, breakfast was fine and the room was a reasonable size but cleanliness of the bathroom left much to be desired. There was something stuck to the outside of the toilet bowl and more marks around the walls near the toilet. Rather offputting!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Neville W,

Thank you for your review. We understand your frustration with this bathroom and it is not acceptable. Our staff is mostly very experienced and we have set high goals for our work. Cleanliness is a must-have in our hotel. It seems we have failed with your bathroom and we deeply regret this. We are happy that you liked the breakfast, the location and the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Not much we liked about this hotel. It just didn’t feel clean, the rooms and lobby looked as though they were in need of refurbishing 20 years ago and they still haven’t gotten around to it. The bathroom was large, but there was some mold on the tiling around the tub, worn out towels (one with a hole) and no bath mat for the floor. Like some places, there was no shampoo or conditioner, just one dispenser with liquid intended for those as well as body wash. The internet service was so weak on the 5th floor, we moved down to the third floor where it was only marginally better. We hit a warm spell and like most northern European hotels, there was no air conditioning. They did have a fan to use in the room. The buffet breakfast was fine, and most of the reception staff were friendly. The one nice touch was free tea and coffee in the lobby at all times. We adjusted and enjoyed our time in Bryggen, but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If wifi is important to you, the lobby is the best place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear LFK1,

Thank you for your review and for your praise of the staff, service and breakfast. The WIFI is normally strong all over the hotel. We will immidiately check the signals in fifth floor.
We are sorry that you did not like the appearance of the hotel. We can inform you that we have had 1/3 of the hotel renovated in 2013 and we have our own, price-winning, interior arcitecht. She has won prizes for the guest room intarsia doors. Our maintenance team is constantly refurbushing rooms all year except during summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

First, the good stuff: Staff - kind and helpful. Breakfast - plentiful and fresh. Location - great. Room - you have to know going in, it is old and it feels old, but also a little dirty and dingy. We also had a shower head that we nicknamed the "shower beast" because it kept coming unhinged and spraying all over the bathroom. Also, not great noise insulation, had consistent noise from other rooms most of the night. The beds are more like camping cots then a mattress. Having said that the room was a decent size. We weren't unhappy we just left not feeling super refreshed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Jamie W,

Thank you for your review and for your praise of the staff and breakfast. We are most sorry for the "shower beast" and will immidiatley try to locate the room so we can change to shower head at once. We have a maintenance team which continously takes care of the rooms. A project of 18 new and 32 refurbished rooms were finished in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

It has laundry facilities for those travelers who need to run their clothes through a washing machine and dryer! How fantastic, for those who enjoy the close proximity of the great hiking Bergen has to offer (or those who drop fish on their clothes from eating everything at the Bergen fish market!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#11 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Property: Augustin Hotel
Address: C. Sundts gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing