We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Clean Room, Good Breakfast Selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Augustin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Augustin Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Clean Room, Good Breakfast Selection”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Hotel was fairly central and clean. Breakfast buffet had a very good selection and seemed to appeal to a lot of different demographics. Staff were friendly and efficient and provided practical information when asked. All in all was a good experience. Room was on the smaler side but quite typical of european hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelonthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    305
    158
    38
    8
See reviews for
124
286
34
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The hotel details supplied in the room make a great deal about the history of the hotel, the family ownership and the commitment of the owners to various values, and their unique selling point is based on their environmental credentials and the commitment of the staff to the values of the owners.

The reception staff were pleasant enough without being over-helpful, but the rest of the staff we encountered during our 3 night stay appeared to be either sullen, shy or evasive.

We had been looking forward to a meal in their restaurant having read reviews etc, only to find that the main restaurant was not open for evening meals. There was a wine bar also serving some food, but none of the dishes on the extract menu advertised around the hotel appealed to us, and it was only as we were leaving that we realised that this was in fact only an extract from the menu. We never did see a full menu.

The breakfast buffet was fine apart from the attitude of the staff.

We had a room on the 5th floor facing inwards to a pretty miserable courtyard, The room itself was fine and clean, but our room, along with all those in that wing facing inwards suffered from the noise of generators (or something similar) operating from 7am until late at night. This made it difficult to get to sleep.

On balance I would probably stay here again if visiting Bergen, but I would also research alternatives and I would not make this hotel an automatic recommendation to anyone else visiting the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Thank you for a good review that poses some managerial questions. I am happy that you were satisfied with the reception staff and your room. We have set high goals for service attitude and want the family - business values to be shared also by our summer staff. I see that the waiters in breakfast and restaurant did not impress you during your stay and we will certainly look into that. Our 400-year-old wine bar and restaurant is open every night except sundays with full menu at friendly summer prices. We need to provide that information in a better manner to our hotel guests, as I see that you missed out on this information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed one night before a cruise and one night on our return. It was arranged by the travel agency. The hotel is in city center and walking distance to shops, restaurants, fisherman's market and the waterfront. Our first night room was very spacious with a sitting area with two chairs, two big windows and twin beds pushed together. The bathroom has a big tub with a hand held shower mounted on the wall. They even had washcloths which is not common in European hotels.
The lounge area is very inviting with groupings of sofas and chairs around coffee tables. There is a grand piano there covered with brochures. Newsletters. are on shelves but no English language ones. They bring out a waffle iron at 4 pm so you can make fresh waffles. They have toppings and free coffee and tea. The waffle maker leaves at 6 pm. There are no waffles when the restaurant is closed as we found out when we returned on a Sunday evening.
The room was smaller on the return but very pleasant. It had one window this time. The breakfast is plentiful with cold cereals, juices, breads, rolls, cheees and cold cuts as well as hot scrambled eggs. The breakfast area is a large room almost like a restaurant. There is a luggage storage room by the reception desk where we left our luggage when we toured all day. Be sure and ask at the desk what elevator to take when going to your room so you don't have three stairs to haul luggage up when you get off.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacMacGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Nice hotel right across from the harbor in Bergen. The rooms (like most hotels in Europe) are small but the bed is great and the wireless internet connection is excellent. Breakfast is very good and the people at reception very nice and helpful. There are very few parking spaces reserved for hotel guests across the street so if you have a car, make sure you tell them and they reserve one of the spots for you.
All in all, nice experiece. Very clean and well kept older European style hotel. Definitely will stay here again...Parking cost 100 kroner per day which is annoying but manageable....

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ILoveIsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We walked to the hotel from the main train station after arriving from Oslo via the Norway in a Nutshell tour. The staff were welcoming and our room was ready for us. We had asked for a room in a quiet location and this was organised. The room (superior) was spacious, clean and had a good size bathroom. Breakfast had a range of dishes and the food was well presented and tasty. A really nice touch provided by the hotel was complimentary tea & coffee throughout the day. In the afternoon, after a day of sight-seeing, it was wonderful to return to the hotel and be able to cook some waffles or enjoy some fresh fruit - also complimentary! Internet access was free and there were 2 computers for guests to use. Augustin also provided free access to a washing machine and dryer - a real bonus for Aussies who are travelling for several weeks. We really enjoyed our stay at Augustin!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We'd never stayed in this hotel before but selected it because it had a laundry room and bath. Strange reason to select a hotel but, with prices, location and standard similar to our other possible choices, these were the deciding factors- particularly after travelling for the last 2-3 weeks.

Friendly and clean, we had a roomy bedroom that was warm and comfortable. Reception was very helpful, particularly with some of the other guests who were there because the volcanic dust had stopped their flights.

Not far from the centre of town, almost next to the harbour, it was a pleasant few minutes walk to reach the fish market, fast ferries, cafes. We never tried the hotel restaurant- mainly because we would not have been able to do justice to the excellent menu.

Waffles and coffee were available in the lounge late afternoon and this provided an opportunity to chat with other residents.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaeltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights in mid March with my partner and found it a great place to explore Bergen from. The location is convenient: about a 5-minute walk from airport bus stop, Bryggen area and best shops and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was clean and at the back of the hotel, so quiet, though the double bed was actually twins pushed together. There was a decent buffet breakfast, great if you like cold meats and cheeses in the morning. As for Bergen, it was fab. Make sure to try out the Floibanen funicular for spectacular views of the city and peaceful walks among snow-covered forest. The 'Norway in a nutshell' fjord tour round-trip from Bergen was the highlight of our week-long trip to Norway - the scenery was jaw-dropping. In a country where everything (and I mean everything) is crazily expensive, that trip was great value. Do be aware that Norway is way more expensive than other Scandinavian countries. We found that the Engen area (5 mins from hotel) was best for value restaurants, particularly Cafe Opera, where we ate twice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byron31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
526 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Property: Augustin Hotel
Address: C. Sundts gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing