We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quayside Hotel in Bergen”
Review of Scandic Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Strand
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Modern centrally located hotel. Great buffet breakfast. Lifts. Friendly helpful staff - multilingual. Close to Information Office and shops. 15 min walk to station. Road works (Oct 2011) outside. Taxis 50 metre walk. Luggage room.

Room Tip: It can be noisey in front rooms partic. at weekends due to venues close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tankerton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Location and view was great. Except from that the room did not look very nice. Old and outdated...but clean.
I didn't try the restaurant or breakfast so cannot comment on that.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
Thank elisaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The location of this hotel is excellent. Your are placed in the middle of central Bergen. We had an excellent view to fisketorget, Bryggen and Fløien. The reception area is nice. Room standard is average. When we came, our room was not ready until 3 pm, but the staff was very helpful and service minded. Accessing the hotel by car and parking was difficult due to construction work in front of the hotel. However, we came in during rush-hours, and this did not help the situation. Parking house a few blocks away cost 180 NOK/day. The family room was quite large and clean. We would like to have seen possibilities to make tea/coffe in the room. The mini-bar was out of order. Beds were of good quality. However, trying to get a good nights sleep on a Saturday night was not so easy. The noise from nearby restaurants and night woke us up regularly until approx. 3am. Bring ear-plugs if staying in weekends! The breakfast buffet was very nice with both "Continental" and "English" alternatives.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

but I've seen worse. Of course, for the kind of money you'll spend to stay here, I would expect more. Except that in Norway, EVERYTHING is ridiculously priced!

We had a room on the seventh floor, which I understand was recently renovated, but if you rely on the "professional photos" floating around out there, you are going to be sorely disappointed and probably downright angry.

Our room is best described as an old dorm. Being on the top floor, our ceilings are slanted which cuts our living space dramatically. We have one desk, two twin beds pushed together to make it a double, and our own bath. There is a refrigerator here and a safe. There is also one chair and a wardrobe.

My husband took the desk as his and I use the bed as an "office". By the time you set up a couple of laptops, cell phones, suitcases, you won't have much walking around room, but it is sufficient.

Our bathroom was clean but the shower is so tiny that you will never fit in there if you are overweight or beyond without risking having the faucets jammed up against your body. The water pressure was MAGNIFICENT so whatever they skimp on amenities, I'd rather have it in water pressure. You will get no soap or shampoo or toothpaste or any of that other stuff you get in most high-priced, high-end hotels. There is a liquid dispenser that is shampoo/conditioner/shower gel all rolled up into one. I brought my own shampoo and conditioner so I don't know if that stuff is effective on hair.

From a design standpoint, everything in here screams IKEA. Laminate, particleboard, and more laminate. The bathroom doorknob is cool and the sink isn't bad.

The staff is clueless about activities in the area. We wanted to take a cruise into the fjord and the front desk didn't know where I could buy a ticket or find the ship. That was weird considering that the ship and ticket are literally across the "plaza". I saw that ship from my bedroom window, for crying out loud, and the front desk was oblivious.

The lounge has a horrible wine list and the bartender insisted that chablis was chardonnay. Okay. It isn't but I wasn't going to argue. Breakfast? I'd rather not go there but if you're used to eating eggs that come from cartons, you might be okay with breakfast.

A couple of tips:

If you have a flat-screen TV, it may not turn on. Unplug it for awhile and then replug. Turn the TV on at the set, NOT at the monitor, and THEN use the monitor to change channels.

If you want your towels washed, leave them on the floor. I think this is becoming the standard these days, but some people may not know. If you hang your towel up, you won't get a clean one.

There are two flushers on the toilet behind the seat. Press the bigger one.

The 7-11 a few yards away carries everything you may need. Do not buy toiletries at the front desk. (Yes... you read that right. There is no gift shop.... just the front desk.)

The hotel has zero literature/maps/anything about the town so whatever you can pick up in the streets, you should grab.

If you're traveling to Bergen to see the city, then this is an excellent hotel to stay in as it is right smack in the center of everything. But if you're looking to be pampered in your private quarters, search elsewhere. You will get none of that at Scandic Strand.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I have stayed several times at the Strand Hotel in Bergen. As of 2011 the hotel has switched from the Norwegian hotel chain Rica to the Swedish hotel chain Scandic. The reception area has been totally refurbished and is now very nice, actually the best part of the hotel. The corridors are probably the worst with blue carpets, old maritime paintings and very old-style signs, some with wrong information.

On the Scandic web pages you will find very nice pictures of the hotel rooms - I have however yet to spend a night in one of those rooms. Every time I receive the key to a small room with very outdated furniture - even the Superior rooms and theme rooms can’t compete with most other Bergen hotels. As they rarely clean their windows, the absolutely stunning view is turned into something negative.

The adoption of the very good Scandic breakfast concept is however very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlightDeck-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Like any hotel in Norway, you don't get much for your money.

The rooms are tired and old, but they are quite large and the friendly staff put two portable beds in place for the kids. The bathroom is very small and not ventilated. Being charged 140 NOK to watch the tennis on a 20 year old 16" TV seemed a bit over the top.

The breakfast is very good and a great way to start the day, and the kind staff help you prepare a packed lunch for the day for a small cost.

Great central location, but beware of the weekend night club noise until the early hours.

All in all, a reasonable hotel by Norwegian standards although still quite pricey. Probably similar to a 2-3 star hotel in Europe / UK / USA.

Room Tip: Prepay well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

very expensive; not worth the money I paid; Beware the toilet: when seated, my knees reached the wall in front of the toilet.
there is no cupboard in the room except few simple wooden shelves. there were no tissue handkerchieves in the room or in what they called a bathroom. our room was made sloppily.
stayed there from May 23rd 2011 two nights in room # 519 and paid a total of 3,580.0 NOK (= 322$ per nigh or 229.0 Euro per night). I would never recomend this hotel.
I must say that in hotel.info site (I made my reservation through them), this hotel is described differently and in a Misleading manner.
one can find many restaurants and bars in proximity to the hotel but they are all very expensive and not recomended.
we bought some food products in a supermarket and had meals in room.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Scandic Bergen City
#34 of 49 in Bergen
808 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#11 of 49 in Bergen
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 49 in Bergen
959 reviews
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 49 in Bergen
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Strand

Address: Strandkaien 2-4, Bergen 5013, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £95 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing