We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but nice”
Review of Scandic Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Strand
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great location but the compromise is the noise at night with the restaurants and bars very nearby.
Excellent breakfast and good value for Norway v. other local hotels. Had to have windows open because of no AC, consequently very noisy night, especially Saturday. However, didn't spoil a pleasant stay. Sixth floor room at front had great harbour views, bath with over shower, and complementary coffee and tea all day was a nice bonus..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your review!
Scandic Strand probably has the best location of all hotels in Bergen, right across the fish market and within walking distance to all major sights and attractions. Due to the central location you may experience some noise from the city, but asking for rooms facing the backyard will solve the problem. But then again you dont´t get the ocean view..:)

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast, the complementary coffe and tea and that we all in all are good value for money!

If you ever choose to visit Bergen again, we hope to see you back at Scandic Strand!

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    230
    178
    94
    57
See reviews for
139
238
49
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were very happy with the location of this hotel, right on the water and just where the bus from the airport drops you off - our room was cosy, but ok in size for 2 people with 2 big bags.

The bathroom was really spacious though and shower was good.

Downside was it was too hot in the room at night and as our room faced the water, we couldn't open the windows as the bars outside were too noisy so it was stifling in there - they did bring us a fan but it didn't do much good.

Breakfast was really good though and liked the free tea and coffee all day long.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear you were happy with the location of our hotel. I can absolutely understand that you think it was hot, and that you missed air condition. Most of the hotels in Bergen do not have air condition. It is very rare that the temerature in Bergen is so high that we need it..:)

If you choose to visit us again I recommend asking for one of our rooms faced towards the courtyard. It is more quiet so you can open the windows without worring about noise from the street.

Hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location and our room on the 6th floor was good with a fantastic view. Very noisy though with the bars outside (especially our first night when there were loads of cheering from one of them, probably a football match!). Could really do with air con though, room is very hot and all the mattress protectors, although comfy, make sleeping even hotter. Decent bathroom and room slept all 4 of us comftably. Breakfast was plentyful with a great selection. Would def recommend a trip up the funicular and if you have kids get the free map from the kiosk for a treasure hunt whilst up there.

Room Tip: Go high for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that you experienced noise. If you decide to visit us again, we recommend asking for one of our rooms faced towards the courtyard when booking, which may be quieter.

We are glad you thought our rooms were good and that you enjoyd the breakfast.

Hope you are having a great summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santiago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Nice hotel, close to downtown, excellent breakfast buffet included in price. Price is very decent for Norway. Free wi-fi. Bathrooms have only shower, no bathing tub. Free gourmet coffee all day long is a plus. They have a nice area for little children.

Room Tip: Rooms in upper floors looking to the bay have excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acoustesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
So glad to hear you enjoyed it here!

Hope you have a great summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Couple of days in Bergen beconed as a break from the mountains in Hemsedal. Quick look on Booking.com and two nights in the Scandic Strand it was.

Good points.
Friendly staff: welcoming and help with a smile!
Incredible location: you can't get closer to the centre than this! Across the road from the fish market and other local attractions.
Awesome breakfast: just about everything you could think of and more. Relaxed and leisurely dining room plus quick staff to round it off.
Huge room: of course I can only speak about 523, but the room was enormous! 5m wide meant lots of floor space.
Childrens playroom: ideal to occupy the kids whilst you let the large breakfast settle over a fresh coffee!
WiFi: free of course and no sign in hoops to jump through.
Parking: discounted parking a couple of streets away.

Ok, now for the not so good points! Minor niggles mostly....
Bathroom: inexplicably tiny and poorly lit. Slow sink drains and loose toilet seat. Good shower though,
Beds: 'double' bed was two singles pushed together and were very wobbly due to stilt type legs. Can't believe how they cope with the use. We put the kids in them and slept in the double sofa bed ourselves!

In general.
The room was clean and well presented, although the last occupant had left a sock behind the curtain that the cleaner obviously missed. But it was a kids sock that had been thrown behind the curtain so no biggie.
WHilst not the fault of the hotel, the noise was considerable. If you like a quiet night, you might have to sacrifice the convenience of being so close to the action. On the back of the hotel due to an outside area lower down, the volume of just two men talking was amplified around the 'courtyard' of the interiour to amazing levels! Closing the windows cured the problem even if it became a little stuffy in midsummer.

In conclusion
Would we book again? Definitely, the minor niggles are far outweighed by the lovely location and a breakfast that can keep you going all day. Friendly and helpful staff are the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the fish market and nightlife. Rear rooms have no view and some service noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handycrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your review!
It is always nice to get a detailed review, and especially when it´s a good one:) Thank you for taking time sharing on Tripadvisor - we really appreciate it!
I have forwarded the issues you mentioned to our technical department for repair.

Looking forward welcoming you back to Scandic Strand.

Have a nice summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It seems this hotel is being renovated. Certain parts were renovated. Others weren't. Our room was a bit outdated and was different from the one shown to us when making the booking of that specific type of room. I always find this strange when it happens. If they can't guarantee your room will look like the one shown when booking, then hotels should indicate that the actual room can be completely different than the one shown when booking. Would sometimes make people think twice. Other than that, the room wasn't bad at all. Outdated but spacious. Beds were fine as well and so was the bathroom.
The breakfast was great. Plenty of choice, warm and cold.
Hotel is situated right near the fish market, so very well situated in the centre of Bergen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koen75koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your review!
The hotels usually try to keep the hotelphotos that are displayed in several booking channels as updateted as possible. The challenge is that we are constantly renovating room, and therefore have more room categories than its´s possible to show in a few pictures online.

Nice to hear that you are happy with the breakfast at not at least our very central location.

Hope to see you back - have a nice summer!


Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had difficulty finding the parking garage and so were a bit weary when we got to the hotel. It was delightful to be greeted by a clerk with a Canadian accent! She was very friendly and helpful (she is Norwegian but spent time in Canada). We were delighted with the view from our room which overlooked the harbour, the Fish Market, Bryggen and so on. Its location could not be better for touring. The room was smaller than we've had and needed just a bit of updating (if that is important to you you should take that into consideration). With the rainy weather we had there it was nice having a nearby hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimfromalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your review!
I´m glad to hear our semi-Canadian colleague made you feel welcome and almost at home:)
Nice to hear that you enjoyed the location, the hotel in general a not at least the city of Bergen - although it rained a bit. As a local I must admit that somehow we get used to it.. :)

Have a great summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#22 of 46 in Bergen
26 reviews
Scandic Neptun
#24 of 46 in Bergen
858 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
578 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 46 in Bergen
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Strand

Property: Scandic Strand
Address: Strandkaien 2-4, Bergen 5013, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing