We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location and breakfast”
Review of Scandic Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Strand
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location and breakfast”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is the best hotel for the price in Central Bergen. Walking distance to everything and from many rooms a perfect view of the harbor and Briggin area. The breakfast bar is very thorough and the people who work there are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the square, you'll have a great view right from there.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank dalailamaesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are so happy to hear that you liked it here. The location is absolutly one of the best in Bergen with "everything" within walking distance.

We are also glad to hear that our staff took good care of you.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    229
    178
    94
    57
See reviews for
139
237
49
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a primo spot in Bergen. Walkable to everything. Flybuss from airport drops you off almost in front of hotel. Amazing customer service and a surprisingly delicious breakfast with loads of gluten free options. Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JenMarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your review!

This makes us really happy to hear! We always try to help our guests as best as we can. We’ll forward this to the staff.

Hope to see you again some time!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was the perfect hotel for our needs, easy to get to, central location for touring the city on foot, great views, comfy bed, great shower room and an amazing breakfast. All this for less than the cost of staying in the nearest hostel (which wouldn't have included a breakfast either).

The room was large and clean (some might pick holes in the fact there were a couple of repairs to the wallpaper) with a great view over the harbour from the window. It's 5 minute walk to almost everything you'd want to see in Bergen and the breakfast was probably one of the best for choice and quality I've ever had.

Top tip is to book direct on their website and pay in full in advance, we saved over 50% on the advertised rate!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headmixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review!

A review like this makes us so happy - thank you!

We hope to see you back some day.

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly welcome and quick service when checking in. Small room at back side of hotel and noise of airco's with opened windows. Breakfast- buffet OK. Good location in town centre, close to bus stop to airport and short walk to train station. Friendly service. Good restaurants and bars close to hotel. Recommended

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HvdM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review.

Nice to hear that you liked it here - thanks a lot for recommending us!

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Markedssjef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Having been in Bergen before, I knew I wanted to stay in the harbor area so researched hotels and picked the Scandic Strand since it was right on the water and the price was good. The airport bus (Flybussen) stops at the Fish Market which was exactly across the street from the hotel. I got a “web discount” by booking on their site ($140) and asked at check-in if the room had a window view; they said yes, but they were small windows (since the room was on the top floor) so they kindly upgraded me to a Superior room (#608) on the sixth floor. Had a huge window overlooking the fish market, harbor and hill/mountain on the other side. There were zillions of lights on the hill from cars, street lights, houses & the funicular – they looked like stars!

The breakfast buffet was perfectly fine but not as good as at some of the other hotels on my trip. Not as much variety and several items seemed to have been sitting there for a bit. The Visitors Center is across the street which was handy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickiebypass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear that you liked it here - thanks for using Tripadvisor to let us know! The location of Scandic Strand is perfect for exploring Bergen, and good to hear that you got a nice room so you could fully enjoy the view!

Welcome back to Scandic Strand,

Best regards

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Reasonably prices for Norway. Reception staff some of the best I have come across. Our allotted room turned out to be in the middle of renovation but, no problem, immediately given a really nice room which we managed to get again on our return a couple of weeks later.
If you like Norwegian breakfasts, you'll love those at the Strand, although they do cater more than adequately for other tastes.
From our 6th floor room we had great views over to the Bryggen area, lower floors do have views impeded by the fairly new market and tourist office building.
Will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: As above, go for a front facing room on 4th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trimley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review!
We are so happy to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay! I´ll make sure my colleagues get the very positive review regarding the service level - thank you!

Hope to see you back some day!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel was within walking distance of the train station, even with children and luggage. There were shops, restaurants, department stores, Bryggen, a Unesco World Heritage site, and the Floibanen Funicular all within minutes' walk from the hotel. We stayed in a junior suite, which we found spacious and comfortable even for four adults. The decor of the room on the top floor was different from that of rooms on lower floors. The refurbished room on the top floor is modern looking, but if it rains, it can get rather noisy, with the sound of raindrops hitting on the roof. The bathroom is very spacious, but a pity the shower area is really tiny. The non-refurbished rooms on lower floors have a less modern but cozier feel, and although the bathroom is smaller, the shower area, roomier. All rooms we stayed in are clean and very spacious. The reception was friendly and helpful, and the internet also works very well. The airport bus stops directly across the street from the hotel. Overall, we found it rather good value for money considering the location, space, and quality of room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyd your stay. We hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#22 of 46 in Bergen
25 reviews
Scandic Neptun
#24 of 46 in Bergen
858 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
577 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 46 in Bergen
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Strand

Property: Scandic Strand
Address: Strandkaien 2-4, Bergen 5013, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing