We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location bad hotel”
Review of Scandic Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Strand
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Fantastic location appalling dated hotel Friendly staff tiny rooms and having the heating on in late May is absurd So hot we could not sleep Staff offered us a fan but could not control radiator in room Room was far to small for a double and decor was tired The one redeeming feature was the breakfast !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us, and we will see if there is anything we can do in order to improve our routines.

We are glad you enjoyed our central location.

We wish you a nice summer!

Best regards
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staff at Scandic Strand is very nice and helpful. Wifi is free, straightforward and hassle free without passwords or logins and fast connections in your room. We had an excellent delicious breakfast included with quite an extensive choice. Our room was particularly small, just like the bathroom, which felt rather claustrophobic. It also felt more like being in a hostel. However, it was clean and we didn't spend much time in the room in the first place. The location is just excellent, right at the harbor in the city center. The airport shuttle stops right at the hotel on Torget and the train station is within easy walking distance. We flew into Bergen early in the morning and were surprised that we were able to get into our room already at 10.30 h, which we thought was a great service. We then spent the day in Bergen and took the train to Oslo the next day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

This makes us really happy - thank you for posting this nice review, we really appreciate it.

Hope to see you back some day!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel looked great from the outside.The lobby had been recently modernized, so first impressions were very positive.
However, the hallway to the rooms was the first red flag that this was not what it seemed,
Badly worn carpets where you could follow the track of previous guests, filthy worn paintwork on the walls.
We had booked a superior room, but found the decor to be equivalent to an average motel room.the bathroom was equivalent to the bathrooms on a cruise ship, with a similar amount of space. Using the shower created a flood, which the small bath towel provided soaked up.
Fortunately, the bed was OK so we could get a decent sleep.
The location of this hotel is great, which is why I gave it 3stars. Also the breakfast provided was also very satisfying.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are so sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We are aware that a few of our room are in need of redecoration, and hopefully we will be able to do something about that pretty soon.

Good to hear that you think the location is great and that breakfast was satisfying.

Have a great summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hard to top the location of this hotel - right on the water overlooking the famous Bryggen wharf. While nothing flash or fancy, it's a solid, clean hotel for a short stay in this wonderful city. Our family room comfortably fit five of us (yes, five!) for our brief stay - though we would look to get an apartment if staying more than just a few nights.

The breakfast (included) was good, providing a lot more than just the open sandwich style breakfast you get at many Norwegian hotels, allowing is to fill up for the day so we could skip lunch (food is ridiculously expensive in Norway).

The wifi worked, the service was pleasant and the beds were comfortable. What more do you need? If you're looking for luxury, spend your money elsewhere, but as a reasonably priced option in a brilliant location, it's hard to top this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TB-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the location, breakfast and the service provided by the staff.

Hope you have a nice summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was my first trip to Norway, and depute warnings of the ludicrous prices it still came as a shock when you actually have to part with the cash.
The hotel is pretty basic, but could not be better situated for the town centre and waterfront. The room I was given was tiny, but I was travelling on business, so it may have just been what my company booked me.
Staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was clean. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby, but take your credit card.

Room Tip: If I stayed again I would ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

Nice to hear that you liked it here. Unfortunately there is not much we can do regarding the price level, but at least you save taxi/bus money as you can walk to almost everything given the perfect location of our hotel:)

Hope you have a great summer & welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Because I stayed here before, we booked again after renewing the hotel for a couple of days. And it must be said: it is still a very nice place to stay, because of the splendid location in the middle of Bergen. Great view, excellent breakfast, good beds and rooms. There is only one thing I need to mention: the view from the breakfast room used to be great, but some idiot moved the famous fish market into a building next in front of the hotel. Anyway, the hotel is super and when we come back we'll book again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have an excellent view at Bryggen. The bar is cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillemVelserbroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are superhappy to hear that this is your second stay at Scandic Strand and that you are coming back again - great!

Regarding the new indoor fishmarket...ohh, what to say... lot of opinions both ways:) At least it is nice and warm in the wintertime:)

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

stayed in room 611 overlooking the fishmarket.wonderful setting for a shot stay in bergen.so central to everything. shops, museums, funicular and restaurants.
the rooms are of good size .the bathroom had a shower which was powerful enough and hot enough to enjoy after a good night sleep and long walks. the only down side of the rooms were that for those who are of a larger build may find the beds too narrow but are very comfortable. the room was hot and could be noisey with the window open but closed quiet.the usual loud doors shutting but that was down to the thoughtless travellers who can't use the door handles.
the breakfast was one of the best i have come across in the 100's i have stayed in. it had everything you could want. so much choice from hot buffet, bacon,beans, potato,scrambled and fried eggs.cold meats, cheeses,cereals, good choice of breads and rolls. the first hotel to have peanut butter. only missing for me was marmite. and so much more, oh even salmon for breakfast. tea, fruit tea, choice of juices.
all the staff we met and spoke to had smiles on their faces and were always polite, friendly and helpful.
for norway not too bad on price.would not hesitate to stay here again if ever back in bergen again.
missing it already.

Room Tip: get a front high room.windows shut not noisey. we wer there on a national holiday where all of norwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your review!

We’re really glad you liked it here and that you enjoyed the breakfast. It’s always nice to know we’re on the right track. We’ll let the staff know.

Hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Neptun
#28 of 49 in Bergen
967 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#16 of 49 in Bergen
98 reviews
Vågen
Bergen Harbour Hotel
Bergen Harbour Hotel
#33 of 49 in Bergen
35 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Strand

Address: Strandkaien 2-4, Bergen 5013, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £103 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing