We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic view of Bergen center”
Review of Scandic Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Strand
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Scandic Strand. The view (from 4th floor) of the fish market and other areas around Bergen city center was superb. The proximity to the fish market and other highlights of Bergen center, with a short (10 minute) walk to light rail terminus and the Bergen information center across the street, make the hotel location ideal.

The morning breakfast had a very diverse assortment of food items, with the seating nicely laid out to take advantage of the city view.

Overall I was very pleased with the wireless connectivity, and did not experience the issues reported in previous reviews. Either the network has been made more robust or I lucked into a room in good spot.

My room was a bit on the small side, but with the age of the building I think that is difficult to overcome. I have had similar experience in older venues elsewhere in Europe, so I do not view this as a particular shortcoming.

I found my room to be well appointed with modernized bath and furniture. Being able to open the window was nice to let in cool evening air (US hotels typically have sealed windows). Street noise can be a distraction on weekends.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better view and would be more removed from street noise that may concern som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWigOcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central location and friendly staff. We are glad that you liked our breakfast with a wide selection to choose from. We actually offer our guests over 100 energising breakfast options every morning, as well as serving Fairtrade coffee.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at Scandic Strand in June 2014. We got a room called "Hurtigruten" which was huge but in need of more furniture. Very nice view of the Fish Market and the inner harbour of Bergen.
The room-price was kr 2650 per night which in spite of the size of the room was too expensive considering the standard. The hotel is however ideally placed in Bergen and staff was friendly.
KB,Norway

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and wonderful view.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Bergen harbour is a wonderful place to watch not only boats but people, the fish market, the cafes and occasional traffic jams. You can however only enjoy all this if the room is high enough, as there is a new building on the dockside housing tourist info and the new fish market. This had been built directly in front of most of the hotel. We had an attic room on floor seven - so this was great. Two comfy chairs by the windows. Best bed on our two week trip round Scandinavia

Our only complaint was the plumbing - the shower dripped making the floor wet and slippery - we asked for extra towels or a bath mat to mop up, but these never appeared.

The staff were very helpful on reception - there had been a mix up with our booking date, dealt with professionally and without fuss. We were also assisted to check in for our return flight - a great advantage as it was a busy flight.

Location is perfect - 10 min walk from station or 30 seconds to/from airport bus. Near to funicular and walks in Norwegian woods - beware of witches.

Room Tip: Higher the Better. The new tourist information blocks views below third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are so happy to hear that you liked it here. We do agree that the new building blocks the view from the lower floors, but on the other hand we now can offer all tourists great facilities.

Hope to see you back some day!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel has a super location. However, the hotel was pretty awful. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. The hotel decor is dated. The hotel bathroom was dangerously small. There was not enough room to sit on the toilet because of a wall facing toilet. It is necessary to crawl over the toilet to get out of the shower which turned out to be extremely dangerous when the floor is wet (no bath mat provided). I have stayed in many Scandic hotels across the Nordics and this is by far the worst. Very bad value for money. There is better value to be found in Bergen. Dont stay here if you have reduced mobility. Both myself and my friend have bruises from trying to survive the bathroom.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are so sad to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We take a lot of pride in being hospitable, and we think we usually are. We’re really sorry about your experience and we’ll
pass this on to our reception. We promise to do better next time.

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is very dated and needs upgrading. Bathroom is small with tiny walk-in shower. There was a stool which you could put washbags on. No bathmat and no flannels. Towels adequate but not thick by any means. Beds small but comfortable enough and with lovely white linen. Nice view of the harbour and fish market but a little noisy. Good location for boat trips. Walk to railway and hurtigruten etc. No tea & coffee in room but all day available in breakfast room. Breakfast excellent with good variety including gluten free items. Good eggs etc as well as cold cuts and salad options. Expensive for the quality you get but I guess it is the location and the fact that Norway is expensive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and liked our central location. We are aware that some of our rooms are in need of renovation, this is scheduled and will start in 2015.

We hope you have a lovely summer!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel enjoys a prime location on the quay, right next to the fish market. Rooms are well appointed and the reception staff are marvellous. However do beware that the new tourist information office has completely destroyed the view from the public rooms and the lower bedroom floors. Do insist on at least 3rd floor or above. Good cooperation with Hurtigruten with a transfer from outside the hotel. Baggage room is always available if you check out early and then go sightseeing. Excellent Norwegian breakfast.

Room Tip: High floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterReigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are so glad to hear that you like it here. Thanks for all your nice comments - we really appreciate it!

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights on the family room, with one bedroom upstairs, one bedroom downstairs and a living room. It was perfect for 4 adults and a kid. The view is wonderful, location is wonderful and breakfast was very good. They were kind enough to check us in early and had an extra bed ready for my son even though I didn't even request.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airiumju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review!

This makes us so happy to hear - good to know that you enjoyed your stay!

Have a great summer and welcome back to Scandic Strand.

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Neptun
#28 of 49 in Bergen
966 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#16 of 49 in Bergen
98 reviews
Vågen
Bergen Harbour Hotel
Bergen Harbour Hotel
#33 of 49 in Bergen
35 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Strand

Address: Strandkaien 2-4, Bergen 5013, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £102 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing