We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Strand
Nearby Hotels
The Hanseatic Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$201
US$196
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
US$180
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$226
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Augustin Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$148
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$227
US$203
Hotel No 13
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Terminus(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveller rating
114
251
199
113
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
251
199
113
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish marketgreat locationfront facingbit wornoverlooking the harbourairport busexcellent breakfastcoffee and teatourist informationmount floyensalmontop floormain attractionsbryggen areafishmarketwharffjord
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 756 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed a couple of nights in the junior suite on the 5th floor, with two huge windows overlooking Bryygens, and handy to everything in Bergen. We walked from the hurtigruten ferry terminal with our cases--took around 15 minutes and was better than waiting for a taxi( big queue) or paying 70 kr each in the bus for about a kilometre ride. Checkin at the hotel was instant and our room was spacious and comfortable-- one of the first king double beds we've seen in Scandinavian hotels, plus two good pillows. Water pressure in the shower was great, and as usual other than the wall dispensed soap, no toiletry supplies that you get used to in much of the rest of the world. The room did have an iron & ironing board, which again seems uncommon over here. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard( good not great) and the all day coffee very welcome. The view over the harbour was the highlight however, and turned an average room and hotel into a very good one. We'd be very happy to come back

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frans_12255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our complimentary breakfast.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Scandic Strand. The view (from 4th floor) of the fish market and other areas around Bergen city center was superb. The proximity to the fish market and other highlights of Bergen center, with a short (10 minute) walk to light rail terminus and the Bergen information center across the street, make the hotel location ideal.

The morning breakfast had a very diverse assortment of food items, with the seating nicely laid out to take advantage of the city view.

Overall I was very pleased with the wireless connectivity, and did not experience the issues reported in previous reviews. Either the network has been made more robust or I lucked into a room in good spot.

My room was a bit on the small side, but with the age of the building I think that is difficult to overcome. I have had similar experience in older venues elsewhere in Europe, so I do not view this as a particular shortcoming.

I found my room to be well appointed with modernized bath and furniture. Being able to open the window was nice to let in cool evening air (US hotels typically have sealed windows). Street noise can be a distraction on weekends.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better view and would be more removed from street noise that may concern some folks. Third floor rooms may have view blocked by the information center across the street.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWigOcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central location and friendly staff. We are glad that you liked our breakfast with a wide selection to choose from. We actually offer our guests over 100 energising breakfast options every morning, as well as serving Fairtrade coffee.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at Scandic Strand in June 2014. We got a room called "Hurtigruten" which was huge but in need of more furniture. Very nice view of the Fish Market and the inner harbour of Bergen.
The room-price was kr 2650 per night which in spite of the size of the room was too expensive considering the standard. The hotel is however ideally placed in Bergen and staff was friendly.
KB,Norway

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and wonderful view.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Bergen harbour is a wonderful place to watch not only boats but people, the fish market, the cafes and occasional traffic jams. You can however only enjoy all this if the room is high enough, as there is a new building on the dockside housing tourist info and the new fish market. This had been built directly in front of most of the hotel. We had an attic room on floor seven - so this was great. Two comfy chairs by the windows. Best bed on our two week trip round Scandinavia

Our only complaint was the plumbing - the shower dripped making the floor wet and slippery - we asked for extra towels or a bath mat to mop up, but these never appeared.

The staff were very helpful on reception - there had been a mix up with our booking date, dealt with professionally and without fuss. We were also assisted to check in for our return flight - a great advantage as it was a busy flight.

Location is perfect - 10 min walk from station or 30 seconds to/from airport bus. Near to funicular and walks in Norwegian woods - beware of witches.

Room Tip: Higher the Better. The new tourist information blocks views below third floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are so happy to hear that you liked it here. We do agree that the new building blocks the view from the lower floors, but on the other hand we now can offer all tourists great facilities.

Hope to see you back some day!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel has a super location. However, the hotel was pretty awful. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. The hotel decor is dated. The hotel bathroom was dangerously small. There was not enough room to sit on the toilet because of a wall facing toilet. It is necessary to crawl over the toilet to get out of the shower which turned out to be extremely dangerous when the floor is wet (no bath mat provided). I have stayed in many Scandic hotels across the Nordics and this is by far the worst. Very bad value for money. There is better value to be found in Bergen. Dont stay here if you have reduced mobility. Both myself and my friend have bruises from trying to survive the bathroom.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book another hotel!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are so sad to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We take a lot of pride in being hospitable, and we think we usually are. We’re really sorry about your experience and we’ll
pass this on to our reception. We promise to do better next time.

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews